Built in 1886. Designated a county landmark 3/7/2005.
In the mid-to-late 1980s, the Jefferson County Historical Commission embarked on an ambitious Place Names Project to research, document, and catalog known geographic place names in Jefferson County, both contemporary and historic. A large committee was established, and its members scoured USGS quadrangles, history books, and other sources to write descriptions of areas with which they were familiar. The database of almost 2,500 entries was first placed on the county’s website in the 1990s. In 2020 it was transferred to Golden History Museum & Park, City of Golden.
Still a work in progress, you can peruse the descriptions here. We are continually refining the contents. Let us know if you see any errors.
Built in 1886. Designated a county landmark 3/7/2005.
Built in 1927. Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003.
Only known Indian trail identified as such paralleling Clear Creek Canyon to the north. About 16 miles long. Left the prairie at S28, T3S, R70W, RBQ. Traveled west through Indian Gulch (pioneer designation), arriving on top of the mountains at S30, T3S, R70W, RBQ. This good trail entering the mountains north of Clear Creek is the Arapaho counterpart, albeit much shorter, of the famous Ute trail which used Chimney Gulch (opening on Golden) to reach the backs of the mountains.
History not available
History not available
Bear Creek Canyon Wagon Road (1872)
John Evans constructed this road to transport timber for railroad ties from his Evans Ranch west of Evergreen down to Morrison. In 1880, he turned the road over to the City of Morrison, which operated it as the Bear Creek Canyon Toll Road.
The YMCA Senior Citizens has a walking group that has covered all the greenbelts and even the high-line canal.
Post office 1875-1886 and 1889-1892.
Stop on the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad.
Stop on the Denver and Intermountain Railroad near Edgewater
The cemetery contains fourteen graves with internments dating from 1871 to 1900. This private cemetery contains the following family names: Belgin, Brewer, and Rogers. The Belgin family settled on the adjoining land in 1870 and received the land patent on their homestead in 1875. Current dimensions of the cemetery are 64′ x 29.5′.
May Bonfils Stanton, daughter of Denver Post publisher Frederick Bonfils, inherited a private fishing lake and acreage south of West Alameda Avenue. may bought more acreage to bring the total to 750 acres. The home she built here became her retreat. Belmar Mansion was a 20-room home of white Carrara marble in the style of Petit Trianon in France. The house was at the end of a long driveway off of Wadsworth. With her husband, Charles Edwin Stanton, the couple developed the master plans for the future Villa Italia Shopping Center on the Belmar property. The house was demolished in 1971.
Built circa 1919. Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003.
Built from 1868 to 1944. Designated a county landmark 4/5/2004.
This park has picnic tables and play area.
Booten Gulch is about .6 mile long and drains south to the slope of Mt. Tom. It is named for Daniel Booten, who squatted at the entrance and is credited with building Centennial House. Centennial Ranch is located on Ralston Buttes map at 7686 elevation and is located at: S17, T3S, R71W.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Boulder Farm Road (1866)
This road ran approximately along Ralston Road, then north to Boulder following part of present-day Simms Street. It served farmers and ranchers northwest of Arvada.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Boulder to Golden Wagon Road (circa 1865)
This road ran north-south parallel to the foothills, connecting Golden and Boulder.
This bridge was built c. 1870s and owned by the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railway.
Built circa 1895, outbuildings circa 1935. Designated a county landmark 3/7/2005.
The creek was once believed to have been named by John C. Fremont or his scouts, but that idea has been questioned more recently by historians with no definitive answer.
In the 1930s it was called the Clayton College Campground (a Denver organization), but its use was discontinued in late 1940s and later made into a campground and maintained by the Forest Service. It was named for the nearby creek.
First known burial was in 1881. The land was deeded by the Jerome family of Denver and Buffalo Creek in 1902 and is still in use. Maintained by the Buffalo Park Chapel Association with burial by permission and on payment of fee.
On Saturday, May 18, 1996 at 1:30 p.m. a campfire smoldered, unattended, close to Wellington Lake in Pike National Forest near the Buffalo Creek. Winds increased and flames took off, gathering momentum as the dry forest burned. By nightfall, a path of the inferno had consumed many acres and was continuing its course. All residents of the Buffalo Creek community and of Spring Creek were evacuated, and electricity was cut off. The North Fork Fire District Volunteers acted immediately; soon, firefighters and equipment arrived from many Jefferson County fire departments. Sunday brought help from surrounding states; the Secretary of Agriculture arrived from Washington, D.C.; helicopters assembled to dip buckets over and over again from the North Fork of the South Platte River after having flown low over the spreading flames. Slurry planes followed. The path of the fire was spread rapidly by the high winds heading toward County Highway 126, which was eventually crossed, threatening homes in Spring Creek and the Long Scraggy Camp. The Top of the World Campground was consumed, burning several cars. A command post had been set up at the North Fork Fire District Firehouse #1 on Highway 126 at the Buffalo Creek. The U.S. Forest Service assembled at the Meadows Group Campground, five miles up the creek, with canteens, sleeping arrangements and necessary equipment. The J.W. Green Mercantile Co. at Buffalo Creek community became the central information center for local residents, who were allowed into their homes only temporarily, and for the media, represented by television, radio, and newspapers. Sunday coverage was broadcast across the U.S.A. and soon telephone lines were busy making contact with year-round and summer residents, who were allowed to return to their homes on Monday. A Red Cross shelter had been opened at the Elk Creek Elementary School on Highway 285, and one was set up near Deckers at a “Y” camp staffed by The Salvation Army. The fourth day, Tuesday, it was reported the fire had covered ten miles with a two-mile width and burned over 10,000 acres of forest, destroying 18 homes or other structures. By Thursday, it was 40% contained and by the weekend it was 100% under control, with crews continuing to extinguish hot-spots.
On July 12, 1996, eight weeks after the Buffalo Creek Fire in Pike National Forest, a torrential rainstorm hit the area for several hours and an ocean of black water rushed downhill from the site of the fire into Buffalo Creek and then on to the North Fork of the South Platte River. It then joined the South Platte River carrying bridges, propane tanks, outhouses, sheds, and other small structures. Many homes were damaged, and County Highway 126 was caved in for one-eighth of a mile. Water, electricity, and telephones were immediately out of use. Reconstruction took many months, and 1997 found a new water system completed, a large fire station built on high ground, and the Community Hall also removed and reconstructed.
The present center was built in the early 1930s by the U.S. Forest Service after closing several ranger stations in Pike National Forest between the community of Buffalo Creek and Lake Wellington. In 1968, this station and one at Bailey in Park County were consolidated into the South Platte District and located in Lakewood, Colorado. The Work Center at Buffalo Creek community is manned at the present time by timber crews, fire crews, and recreation crews.
This facility offers unique recreational opportunities for visitors in wheel chairs. The trail is specially treated to create a natural looking hard surface with average slope of 3% or less, linked with a wheelchair accessible bridge. Vantage points for anglers have been provided. Two campsites at Baldy Campground are modified for wheelchair visitors as are outhouses, cooking grills, and picnic tables.
This was a popular summer resort for Denver people, was first platted by John J. Jamieson, September 11, 1888, but was again platted by him in company with William G. Jamieson and Catherine Main, and the same filed June 10, 1889.
This subdivision was named for the community of Buffalo Creek.
It was established Aug.16,1878 with John Mitchell as the first postmaster and has been in continuous operation ever since. On Sept.13,1963, it was converted to a rural branch of the Pine Post Office and serves the community with the third generation of the Green family as postmaster. Many brass mail boxes are rented by residents of the community and by surrounding property owners. It serves as a precinct polling center for all elections.
It was built in 1889 of brick with two outhouses (still standing). Fire destroyed the structure three times – and it was rebuilt each time. Pupils attended from miles around until the 1950s when consolidation of the county schools took place. Since the 1980s, the building has been a private home. It was named for the Buffalo Creek community.
BLM: 83026 #1
Owner: Prach, Joseph F, April 15, 1956 to July 22, 1986
This is a water company operated by invested property owners at Buffalo Creek community and built at the turn of the century by John L.J. Jerome. It was considered sophisticated for its time and continues to operate successfully.
The spring supplies a portion of the water used in the Buffalo Creek community.
A log school built in the 1870s by Selim Vezina and Antoine Roy, which has been called Evergreen’s first school. Classes ceased there in 1937 when the district consolidated with Evergreen. Caroline Vezina, in about 1948, had the school moved log by log to her home on Evergreen Hill, and the Evergreen Women’s Club had it moved to its present site between the Evergreen High School and Wilmot Elementary School.
Post 1930 site consists of a scattering of historic trash on the south slope of a ridge. Artifacts include black powder cans, food cans, muffler, small bottles, machine parts, tobacco cans, cable, and stove pipe.
This was a stop on the Colorado & Southern Railroad route and 39.6 miles from Denver. It was located about 100 yards downstream (North Fork of the South Platte River) from the J.W.Green Mercantile Co. which housed the ticket office from the 1880s until 1937 when the railroad ceased operation.
It was named for the nearby community of Buffalo Creek and is popular with rock climbers.
The Buffalo Rose Saloon was built in the 1870s. Historic maps indicate that this building has been a saloon from at least 1886. The building appears on the 1878 map of Golden and is therefore one of the early commercial buildings in the town. The bar in the saloon today was brought from Missouri in 1890, according to the staff. In 1985 Ken Mueller purchased and remodeled the saloon. He retained the nineteenth-century furnishings.
Water tank and building constructed in late 1800s is now gone. The later reservoir was moved to the other side of the road on #126.
Inquiry produced no information on the source of the name.
This c. 1900 site consists of a prospect pit. It is a shallow depression on a narrow ridge top on the north side of Coal Creek Canyon.
Two-story brick structure.
Located in Water District #7, this ditch diverted water from the south bank of Ralston Creek. Claimants in 1884 were Robert Bunny and Harmon Ballinger. Priorities granted were #6 (6-6-1862) and #9 (6-5-1864) on Ralston Creek. Bunny and Ballinger were both area farmers, and the ditch was named for them.
This c. 1889 two-story, rectangular, brick, front hipped roof, Four Square house was built for Thomas and Jane Burch.
Small lake located on Lilley Gulch just south of the Leawood subdivision. This lake is named after the landowner B.E. Butz, who is shown as the landowner on the 1899 Farm Map.
Byrne was a short street that eventually became the north end of Pierce Street when that street was extended to West 48th Avenue.
Denver Cactus Club members leased Lookout Mountain land from private owners of the Rilliet Park Association to establish a “natural amphitheater” for summer productions from 1919 to 1931. Members volunteered to build picnic tables, a “Cactorium” shack for storage, crude seating for the audience, and “special effects” within the forest next to a small stream. The privately owned area was accessed off Lookout Mountain Road on Krestview Road.
The Rilliet Park Association donated a “conservation easement” of 273.5 acres to the Clear Creek Land Association on December 29, 1997. This protects the land, including the Cactus Club site, from future development in perpetuity in its present natural, undeveloped, primitive, open space condition.
This ditch is located in Water District # 7, and the Priority dates from March 2, 1863. Claimant in 1936 was John Calabrese. It is sometimes called Ramboz Ditch, probably because of the proximity of their headgates and the fact that the headgates had to be moved from time to time because of the area’s sandy soil and floods. Previous adjudication was October 9, 1895.
Henry D. Calkins purchased 320 acres in 1873. More land was acquired to the west, where a reservoir, Calkins Lake, was built for irrigation. H. D. Calkins helped build Lathrop Elementary School in School District No. 23, which his son John attended. Later John farmed and raised stock at this site. Today the farm, Calkins Lake and Lathrop School have been developed into Far Horizons Subdivision. The school was moved and converted into a temporary classroom in 1956. Parr Elementary School and Far Horizons Park have been developed on the former Henry D. Calkins Farm.
The 1867 church is one of the earliest examples of Gothic Revival style architecture on the Front Range. It represents an introduction of this architectural style into Colorado by an unknown architect. Upon the death of Bishop Randall, the congregation pledged “That we shall ever consider the church building of our parish as a monument of his generous, untiring labors, and will, with God’s help, endeavor upon our part to carry out the devoted ideas of its founder.” This property was placed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF420) on March 3, 1995.
March 8, 1884, Camp Bird mine has been surveyed and recorded.
The ammunition igloo at Camp George West was constructed in 1940 with funds from the Works Project Administration (WPA). The igloo is located near the base of South Table Mountain, north of the Camp George West Historic District and is separated from the district by large open areas used for military training and as a parade ground. Constructed of concrete and local stone, it was used for arms storage. George H. Merchant was the architect for the 562 square foot building. Added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 20, 1993 (5JF.843).
Designed by Lieutenant Frank J. Ardourel and constructed between 1933 and 1935. General Neil W. Kimball conceived the idea for the amphitheater. It consists a horseshoe shaped seating area bounded by stone rubble walls with wall buttresses. Concrete steps lead to the amphitheater seating area. Three-foot aisles of grooved concrete runs through the center of the seating area. Benches are in long rows with stone rubble base topped by concrete slab seats. The benches are about one foot wide, with about three-foot dirt rows. The projection booth is a low stone building in the center of the seating area with a flat roof and a rectangular window facing the stage. At the southern end of the seating are a curved stone retaining wall and sloped ramps. Seating is stepped downward. The upper portion of the amphitheater has no seats. The stage area is in ruins and has metal pipe and barbed wire around it. In 1950, the stage was converted to ammunition storage. The amphitheater was built by members of the transit labor camp housed at the post 1933-1935. The amphitheater was a relief project using state funds to provide employment for the transient workers housed at Camp George West by the State Relief Organization. In August 1934, the transient camp numbered between 250 to 500 homeless men. Mules hauled the rocks from South Table Mountain to the site on rock boats. In 1935, the “Denver Post” reported that transient workers worked for 21 meals and $1 per week. When the amphitheater was completed, movies were shown every night during training, and people from the local community of Pleasant View were invited to attend. Before the movies, band concerts were held. Unfortunately, the site of the amphitheater was infested with rattlesnakes. Moviegoers arrived with forked sticks to remove the snakes and snake alerts occurred during film showings. Within a short period of time, the 2500 seat amphitheater was no longer in use. The Colorado Amphitheater was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on May 20, 1993 (5JF.842.1)
Two-lane bridge over Lena Gulch in the north central section of Camp George West was constructed in 1938 as a Works Project Administration (WPA) project. Architect Frank Ardurel designed this bridge with its reinforced concrete slab deck and split fieldstone abutments with thick mortar. The roadway is 20′ with coursed stone walls higher towards the center of the bridge where the land drops off beneath. There is a layer of projecting field stones cemented to the top of the bridge walls. Metal railings flank the bridge deck. The total length of the bridge and its approaches is approximately 140′. The bridge separately spans Lena Gulch and an unnamed tributary to that stream.
One-lane bridge over Lena Gulch in the northwest quadrant of Camp George West constructed in 1940. Designed by the architect George H. Merchant, this bridge was a Works Project Administration (WPA) project. The bridge abutments are composed of roughly split basaltic fieldstone laid in courses with concrete mortar. Side walls of the bridge are flared, rounded, and tapered. The tops of the bridge walls have a flat layer of concrete. The deck of the bridge is concrete and has a 10′ roadway. There is a 3′ sidewalk on the east with round metal railings.
This bridge was constructed in 1941 at Camp George West with funds provided for public works by the Works Project Administration (WPA). The two lane bridge is in the northeast quadrant of Camp George West over an unnamed tributary of Lena Gulch. The bridge is composed of reinforced concrete and spans 25 feet.
Built in 1917 as Camp George West’s stop for the Denver & Intermountain Railroad (tramway line #84 in the future). It is a one-story, open stone shelter with a gabled roof and exposed rafters in the bungalow style. “Camp George West” sign is on the roof’s peak.
This one-story building of 252 square feet was built in 1922. Built in the bungalow style, it has a front gabled roof with overhanging eaves and exposed rafters. Front gable extends over an open concrete apron and has exposed post truss system supported by battered stone piers. Similar exposed truss on northern elevation. Walls of the building are composed of coursed, un-split fieldstone. The two entrances on the facade have lintels of stones placed vertically and are flanked by windows. The building is significant as a well preserved representative of an early filling station.
The c. 1924 firing range is located northwest of the principal concentration of buildings at Camp George West on the southern edge of the installation, the firing lines are oriented eastward and consist of the 600 yard line (furthest to the south), the 500 yard line, 300 yard line, and 200 yard line (furthest to the north), with distances measured relative to a target butt which was located to the north on South Table Mountain. The lines are constructed of concrete, approximately 340 feet long and one foot wide, flush with the ground on the side of the shooter and about a foot above the ground on the side towards the target. The 600 yard line is intact, while the remaining three are missing segments where a dirt road and/or channelized drainage cuts through the lines. The target butt was removed in the 1980s.
The parcel on which the existing firing lines are located was acquired by the State Militia in 1908. Firing lines and a target butt were in place by 1918 and reconstructed in 1924.
The rifle range was utilized during summer encampments of the Colorado National Guard during the 1920s and 1930s. During World War II the 757th Military Police Battalion used the range.
This 310-square-foot, one-story, front gable, single car garage with split stone walls was built in 1940 as a Works Projects Administration project.
This 319-square-foot, one-story, front gable, frame, single car garage was built in 1938. It was built as a Works Progress Administration project.
This 319-square-foot, one-story, front gable, frame, single car garage was built in 1940. The building was a Works Progress Administration Project.
Built in 1940, these two one-story front gable single car garages have stucco walls with narrow cornerboards. They were a Works Projects Administration project.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this 308 sq. ft. vernacular masonry building. Built in 1937, this small one-story building has a pyramided hipped roof with wood shingle roofing. The walls are composed of basaltic stone rubblework on a concrete foundation. The central entrance is topped by a pediment with a wide concrete lintel and is flanked by large window openings. The concrete sill course projects slightly from the building. The gasoline pumps at the southeast and northeast corners with the grease rack adjacent to the building’s west side. In 1935, the War Department undertook a program of motorization, converting from horses and wagons to trucks. Works Progress Administration (WPA) funds were used to build this structure in 1937.
This stone and concrete gate was built c. 1930. Located on the west side of the entrance to the southern portion of Camp George West. It is composed of fieldstone rubblework consisting of two stone pillars connected by a Tudor shaped arch. The pillars with pyramided tops are approximately nine feet tall and the arch extends six feet between the pillars. A low, curved wing wall extends from the gate in a northwesterly direction toward South Golden Road. At the end of the wall is a stone pillar with a pyramided top seven feet tall. The top of the wing wall has a concrete cap. Partially wrapping around the Denver & Intermountain Railroad waiting station, the wall may have been intended as a protective barrier for passengers from vehicular traffic on South Golden Road.
Designed by the Denver District Corps of Engineers, this 114 sq. ft. vernacular wood frame building was built in 1943. It has horizontal board siding and a shed roof with overhanging eaves. The paneled and glazed wooden door is off-center and six-over-six light windows with plain wood surrounds. Built by the Army as a gate house in association with the facility being utilized as a training facility for the 757th Military Police Battalion.
Built in 1941 with State permission for the Golden Gun Club shooting range. The state purchased it in 1948. It was made of unusual handmade concrete blocks embedded with stone. The one-story, 644 sq. ft., side-gabled roofed building has a brick chimney with half timbering on the gable ends.
Built in 1940 as a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project, this one-story, hipped roof building has stone walls. The central projecting front entrance has a flat stone arch. There are multi-light casement windows with flat arches and cement sills. The structure was designed by George H. Merchant now houses military police offices.
Built in 1937 as a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project, it has always served as the post headquarters. It is a one-story, 3847 sq. ft. building with a steep pitched hipped roof with a main bay and wings. It features a segmental arch central entrance with stone vousoirs and stuccoed pediment with the state seal. There are multi-light casement windows throughout the structure. The west wing has a chimney and arched shed roof entrance. On the east is a frame addition.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this 1938, 3468 sq. ft. one-story building composed of roughly split basaltic stone. The vernacular masonry building has a projecting, gabled entrance bay which intersects the central gabled bay which has gabled wings extending to the east and west. Entrance bay has stucco and half timbering in the upper gable end, as well as the symbol of the Colorado National Guard Military Academy. Facade entrance has a segmental arch and surround of narrow bands of evenly coursed stone. Large windows flanking the entrance have flat arches and concrete sills. The east wing has a center door on gable end and a wooden stoop. The west wing has a shed frame bay with horizontal board siding, four-light windows, and panel and glazed door. The rear of the building has a projecting gable bay with the center entrance similar to the front of the building. It has a raised concrete foundation and a stone chimney. This building was completed as an infirmary for Camp George West in 1938 with Works Progress Administration (WPA) funds.
Architect G.H. Merchant designed this 581 sq. ft, one-story building composed of a main gabled section and lower, inset gabled wing on the east. Built in 1936, the building’s walls are composed of polygonal, basaltic rubblework, with squared stones at the corners of the building. The Federal Emergency Relief and Works Progress Administration financed the building’s construction.
Built in 1940, this small, 140-square-foot, one-story building with a hipped roof has walls composed of basaltic stone rubblework. The structure is attached to Building #53 by a frame addition. The building was erected as a Works Projects Administration project.
Architect G.H. Merchant designed this 1610-square-foot, one-story building with a gabled roof. Built in 1934, the main building is composed of basaltic stone rubblework. Frame, shed roofed addition with double door entrances on west. The building is associated with construction funded by the Federal Emergency Relief Administration.
Built in 1925, this small one-story building has a gabled roof with overhanging eaves, exposed rafters, and a gabled roof vent. It has stuccoed frame walls atop a concrete foundation. The central entrance has a paneled wood door with a screen at the bottom and six-pane sunlight on the north and south sides with bars. This building is significant for its association with the improvement of the Colorado National Guard facilities at Camp George West during the 1920s. The 161 sq. ft. building was used as a magazine.
Designed by the Quartermaster at Fort Sam Houston, this 2722 sq. ft., one-story, gabled structure was built in 1941. This vernacular, masonry mess hall was constructed by the Works Projects Administration (WPA). In 1943, the U.S. Army added a rear addition.
Designed by the Quartermaster at Fort Sam Houston and modified for Camp George West by George H. Merchant, this one-story, 1430 sq. ft., front gabled, vernacular, masonry building was constructed in 1936. It was built by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and is one of 17 mess halls built in an east-west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston and modified for Camp George West by George H. Merchant, this one-story front gable roofed, vernacular masonry, 1430 sq. ft building was built 1936. Constructed by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), this building was one of 17 mess halls built in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston, this one story front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was built in 1927. This building was one of 12 mess halls built in 1927 in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston, and modified for Camp George West by George H. Merchant, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was built in 1936 by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), this building was one of 17 mess halls built in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston, this one-story front gable roofed vernacular masonry, 2772 sq. ft. building was built in 1927. This building was one of 12 mess halls built in 1927 in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston and modified for Camp George West by George H. Merchant, this one story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was built in 1936. This building was one of 17 mess halls built in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the Quartermaster at Fort Sam Houston, this one-story, front gable roofed, vernacular, masonry, 1430 sq. ft. structure was built in 1927. This building was one of 12 mess halls built in 1927 in an east-west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was built in 1927. This building was one of 12 mess halls built in 1927 in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston and modified by George H. Merchant, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 2772 sq. ft. building was constructed in 1936. This was one of 17 mess halls built in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston and modified for Camp George West by George H. Merchant, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was built in 1936. This building was one of 17 mess halls built in an east west row across the post and was a Works Progress Administration Project.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was constructed in 1927. This building was one of 12 mess halls built in an east west row across the post.
Designed by the quarter master at Fort Sam Houston and modified by George H. Merchant, this one-story, front gable roofed vernacular masonry 1430 sq. ft. building was constructed in 1941. These buildings were funded by the Works Progress Administration and were last the mess halls built at the post. They are to the north and separated from the post by other mess halls.
Designed by the US Corps of Engineers, this one-story vernacular wood frame side gable roofed 737 sq. ft. building was constructed in 1943. The building was erected by the US Army as an orderly room for the 757th Military Police Battalion.
Architect Harrison W. Wellman Jr. designed the 7-foot-wide, by 250-foot-long pedestrian overpass under South Golden Rd., connecting the north and south portions of Camp George West. The concrete lined passage way consists of steps, sloping floors, and a level middle portion. Entrances on either end are wedge shaped and composed of split fieldstone. It was constructed in 1934 under the Civil Works Administration. In the early 1960s, at the height of the Cold War, the north end was sealed with concrete blocks, a ventilating piece was added to the northern entrance structure and steel doors to the southern end to convert the underpass to a makeshift fall-out shelter complete with emergency provisions, a generator and other supplies.
This small, one-story wood frame 50 sq. ft building was constructed in 1927 by the federal government for the camp water supply. The pump was later used in association with the post irrigation and swimming pool.
Built in 1931, this one-story, side-gable roofed building has a small intersecting wing on the northeast with overhanging eaves and exposed rafters. Walls are composed of stone rubblework on a concrete foundation. The double door entrance on the southern elevation has paneled wooden doors with a single door entrance to the right. Windows are one-over-one light double-hung, with flat arches and concrete sills and lintels. There is a stone chimney at the southeast corner. This building was erected as a Quartermaster Supply Building by the federal government and filled the vitally important role of storing supplies to be sent to local guard units and to stock the post.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this one-story 1855 sq. ft. English/Norman cottage built in 1934. It has walls of basaltic stone and has a multiple gabled roof with clipped gables. The building stone was quarried on southern Table Mountain and the construction was funded by the Federal Emergency Relief Administration. Residents housed one of the officer caretakers who resided at the post.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this one-story, 1831 sq. ft. English/Norman cottage, built in 1937. It has walls of basaltic stone from south Table Mountain and a complex roof lined with central hipped portion and intersecting gables and clipped gables. It was built with funds from the Works Progress Administration and housed one of the officer caretakers who resided at the post.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this one-story, 2050 sq. ft. bungalow built in 1938. The dwelling has cut basaltic stone walls quarried from south Table Mountain with a clipped front gable roof and lower intersecting gables alongside elevations. The construction was funded by the Works Progress Administration and housed one of the post’s caretaker officers.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this one-story, 1827 sq. ft. bungalow built in 1938. The structure has cut basaltic stone walls quarried from South Table Mountain, a gabled roof with intersecting gables on side elevations, wall buttresses and an off-center porch inset under the eaves. Construction was funded by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and housed on of the post’s officers.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this one-story, 1711 sq. ft., cross gabled, stone building. Built in 1937 as a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project, it features decorative beams, wraparound porches with stone pillars and walls, multi-light windows, a stone chimney, and wood shingle roofing. In 1948, it was converted to living quarters.
Rifle Range was the original name of the Colorado National Guard encampment now known as Camp George West. It was named so due to its origin as the guard’s rifle range in 1898.
A one-story, vernacular wood frame, 1379 sq. ft. building constructed in 1925. The building was part of the storage facilities on the post, housing small arms and ammunition.
These c. 1932 stone and concrete gates flank the roadway entrance into the southern portion of Camp George West and are composed of fieldstone rubblework with stone pillars connected by a stone arch. The pillars away from the roadway have pyramidal tops which extend above the arch. Pillars next to the roadway are 10 to 12 feet high. The arch extending between the pillars is approximately 6-1/2 feet in length.
Built in 1923, this is a one-story vernacular wood frame building with a gabled roof with overhanging eaves and exposed rafters covered with corrugated iron roofing. Frame walls with drop siding on the south and pressed metal siding resembling brick on the east, west, and north. Opening for the overhead doors have been covered up on the south and single entry doors have been added. It has square windows with wood surrounds. The west elevation has large overhead garage door flanked by two six-light windows. Three pairs of six-light windows on the north. The 1213 sq. ft. building sits on a concrete foundation. The building was constructed by the federal government as a storage facility for Camp George West in 1923. In 1941, as part of a Works Progress Administration (WPA) project, the building was moved from the north side of the camp to the south side, its present location. In 1953, the building was remodeled for use as a fire station and overhead garage doors were added. The garage doors have been filled in and the building is once again used for storage.
Architect George H. Merchant designed this 50′ x 90′ rectangular concrete outdoor swimming pool. It was built in 1936 with funds from the Federal Emergency Relief Administration (FERA). It had a shallow depth of 3′ to an 8′ deep end and was surrounded by an 18″ narrow wall. An “L”-shaped concrete bench is located to the north and west of the pool. The pool has been abandoned and in disrepair since the 1960s.
Poured in the 1930s, these flat concrete pads, square or rectangular in shape and of various sizes, contained circular holes into which tent poles were inserted for the erection of tents during summer training encampments of the Colorado National Guard. Approximately 400 pads originally. New construction during the 1960s and 1970s resulted in the removal of most of the pads which were trucked to gullies and dumped in the northern part of the installation.
Originally built in 1943 as a theater and chapel, its present use as an auditorium and classrooms. The structure can seat 500 in its 4284 sq. ft. The frame wall building has many windows and a tall brick chimney stack at its northeast corner.
Built in 1922, the 50′ tall water tower has four metal legs and braces. It is a tapered square tower with yellow/black checked design on a 20,000 gallon tank. The frame heater house within the legs has been removed. It served as the southern camp’s water tower.
The first land utilized for this property was purchased from Moses Wyman on Dec. 14, 1906. He was paid $4000 for 75 acres. This area has been added to considerably until now the property contains 670 acres. The encampment was originally called the Colorado National Guard Rifle Range. It was established as a permanent camp of instruction and served as a training camp in World War I. Cavalry was stationed at the camp until it was phased out in 1929 for mechanized artillery. It was officially designated “Camp George West” on May 1, 1934, by order of Colorado’s Adjutant General, Neil West Kimball, grandson of George West, a Golden pioneer newspaperman who founded the Golden Transcript in 1866. Many people remembered the camp as the headquarters for the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) during the Great Depression of the 1930s. The 74 buildings on the property are of all descriptions. The older buildings are washed cobblestone, the newer ones of various types of construction. The facility is presently used by numerous state agencies, plus the Colorado National Guard. This property was placed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF145) on February 11, 1993.
Original name of Pine Gulch.
The school was named for Bertha E. Campbell who served as teacher and principal in the Jefferson County Schools for 32 years. Campbell School was built in 1963.
This was a subdivision of Buffalo Creek Park Company, established 1903.
Attorney Carl F. Eiberger Jr. was instrumental in the protection and preservation of South Table Mountain, the “Gateway to the Rockies.” He provided over 23 years of free legal work to ultimately help Jeffco Open Space purchase portions of the mesa, which resulted in saving this notable landmark.
Lakewood’s only remaining stage stop is a white rectangular building on the crest of Old South Kipling Road. It was home to the Carmody family for over 55 years. Lawrence Carmody from County Kerry, Ireland and his bride Mary, from Count Cavan, Ireland moved to the place after their marriage in 1919. The 320 acres that the Carmody’s eventually owned had a number of previous owners. Both the Union Pacific and Kansas Pacific railroads claim title holders along with William McClellan of the stage coach company. In 1878, the land became part of the large farm holdings of the Kendrick family. Ernest J. Obenhaus, a retired policeman also owned a portion of the Carmody land. The Carmody family had the only phone in the area up until WWII. The senior Carmody opened a dairy farm on Green Mountain. In the summer the highlight for the family was the annual picnic held by the Ancient Order of Hibernians, an Irish fraternal organization. Carmody Junior High, north of the old home, is named for the long-time family.
This building was originally a mortuary called Chapel of the Angels. Around 1992, it was converted to Cathedral of the Rockies, which lasted here approximately 5 years. Around 1996, it reverted back to a mortuary when it was purchased by Jeffrey Newcomer, and became part of the factory-direct Newcomer Mortuary chain that for a time included Woods Mortuary in Golden.
This peak was named for its similarity to a cathedral in design. The formation is a well known local landmark.
In 1955 R.B. Stevenson & Company operated this open pit mine. Principle products were uranium ore, pitchblende, and some carnotite. Ore occurs in an upturned strata of sandstone which dips to the west about six degrees. Two employees at this time.
Name source unknown.
The Central Firehouse, constructed of sandstone, was one of three volunteer fire houses in Golden. It later housed the City Hall offices and now houses the public restroom.
This grange was the first one organized in Colorado. They met in the school house. The present location would be identified as 7101 West 38th Avenue. The grange was named for the mythical Greek Goddess of Grain, Ceres. Most appropriate for Wheat Ridge.
Operator Harvey A. Cervi. Work began on August 30, 1957, on this uranium prospect. Some 2,500 dozer cuts have opened up the land, averaging six feet in depth. Also extensive exploration drilling has been done.
This rock formation was named for the resemblance of two large chairs;also called “King and Queen Thrones.” This was a very popular picnic spot until the U.S. Forest Service closed the access road in the early 1990s. It still can be reached by foot.
The barn is a small, two-room structure with a loft which was probably used for hay storage (loft door) at one time. Some glass windows, others have been boarded up. The barn is believed to have been constructed 1910-1920. It may have been used at one time by a Mr. Dunn for bootlegging activities. The barn is currently being used as storage for the Chambers family (owners).
Located in 1883 by D.H. Dargin and by March 1884 shaft down 100 foot. Ore has iron carbonates.
A new North Lakewood Grade School was built in 1947 at 20th Avenue and Hoyt Street, later converted to other educational uses, such as English as a second language, also G.E D. testing.
Name Source unknown
Located three blocks north of Ken Caryl Avenue on South Simms Street, this 35-acre site next to the Meadows Golf Course is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It opened in 1987 for grades 9-12 with a capacity of 2,040. The school was named after Issac W. Chatfield, who was a lieutenant in the Union Army during the Civil War. In 1870 he bought 720 acres of land at the confluence of the South Platte River and Plum Creek. Chatfield farmed this land until he moved in 1879.
This building was long, narrow, and reminiscent of a cheese box or a match box. It was a one-story frame building with a large stove in the center of the room. It was built in 1900 and used until 1917. The building is gone, with the foundation intact.
This key structure in the Denver Water System is on the South Fork of the South Platte River approximately 48 miles from Denver by way of the River. This masonry dam was completed late 1904.The Denver Water Board bought the lake and dam in 1918 from a group of Denver business men. It was named for Walter S. Cheesman, and is 236 ft. high and 176 ft. thick with crest length of 670 ft. and a 212 ft. spillway.When completed, it was considered an historical engineering feat, the highest of its type in the United States. It depends on its mass for its strength and the arch with a 480 degree radius gives it added safety. The dam impounds the snow melt from the mountains for one of Denver’s water supplies.
This c. 1930s Watchman’s House was built to replace the original that burned down. The structure is located 80 meters to the west from the northeast end of Cheesman Dam spillway. There is a path from the porch at the south end of the house to a footbridge above the spillway. The gabled roof brick house has a full basement and screened porch on a poured cement foundation on the south end of the house. Cement and masonry retaining walls border a terrace made for the house. Outbuildings include a storage shed near the house built into the granite masonry terracing at the north end.
The lake was formed by construction of Cheesman Dam and named for Walter S. Cheesman, owner of the Denver Water Works and co-founder of the Denver Pacific Railroad.
It was named for the lake below the Mountain.
It was established March 5, 1900, during construction of Cheesman Dam. Closed Oct.31,1904, with mail sent to Buffalo Creek Post Office.
Well known to the Indian tribes, this trail received its name in 1849 when the Cherokees followed it as part of their route from their Oklahoma reservation to the California gold fields. Route was also well known to the early mountain men and trappers of the region.
Cherry Gulch originates in the foothills where it is fed by a number of unnamed streams. It runs east for a little more than a mile through Matthews-Winters Park and joins Mount Vernon Creek just west of Dinosaur Ridge.
Only about two miles long, Chicken Creek joins Cub Creek at Brook Forest. Name origin unknown.
Chief Hosa Lodge was designed by architect J.J. Benedict and built in 1918 by the City and County of Denver as part of “Denver Mountain Parks.” It is a large rustic building of native stone and timber. The original purpose was a restaurant and rest stop along U.S. Highway 40, on the west slope of Genesee Mountain, between Lookout Mountain Park and other parks in Evergreen.
During the 1920s, it also became a popular summer “Tent Colony” for city visitors. From the 1930s until it was temporarily closed in the 1980s, Chief Hosa Lodge was used for a variety of activities: World War I museum, a gambling hall-bordello, scout camp, youth hostel, and rental for families by the week.
In May 1988, former Denver Mountain Parks employee David Christie leased the facility and restored the lodge and campgrounds. It is a popular place for wedding receptions, seminars, family reunions, and other events.
Chief Little Raven was an Arapahoe Indian also known as Chief Hosa. Legend says he had seven squaws, 11 papooses, and more than 30 horses. He mingled freely with white settlers until he and his people were forced to move to reservations. Little Raven protested vehemently, “It will be a very hard thing to leave the country that God gave us. Our friends are buried there, and we hate to leave these grounds.”
This clay pit mine dates from 1947 on land that was once part of the historic Rooney Ranch. It was never a large scale operation and had no connection with the Rooney family.
Evergreen Quad: Section 6, Township 4S, Range 70W. Ralston Buttes Quad: Section 31, Township 3S, Range 70W. This was a stop on the Colorado Central Railroad. See Evergreen Quad – Railroad Bridges and Depots.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Chimney Gulch Road/New York Trail (1872)
This road ascended Chimney Gulch southeast of Golden and ran to the New York Ranch at Mount Vernon Canyon.
Established 1935, and the building constructed 1936-1937. The new sanctuary was built in 1971 on the site of the razed original building.
This Church was organized in April 1956. Members met at Arvada High School and Clear Creek Valley Grange Hall until services were held in the new church building on September 11, 1960. The first pastor in 1960 was Rev. Cecil Franklin.
The Christian Church was organized c. 1868. In 1870 the congregation purchased a lot on the north side of Clear Creek for the sum of $225.00. In May, 1873, under the direction of Berty Stover, a church was erected. The Church was built in a modified Gothic style. It was 32 feet by 56 feet with a seating capacity of 400. At the time the church was built there were 80 people in the congregation. In 1907 the church was sold. According to Georgina Brown in “The Shining Mountains,” the last preacher became involved with a member of his congregation and the church building had to be sold for its mortgage. Golden High School was built on the church site in 1923.
This subdivision has 18 homes and a church, The Little Chapel in the Hills. A private residence, La Hacienda, has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Located in Water District #7 and under Priority #40, 2-18-1865 and #62, 11-18-1877, this ditch diverts water from the north bank of Clear Creek. Claimants in 1884 were the Golden City and Ralston Creek Ditch Co. By 1936 adjudication, the claimant was the Golden, Ralston Creek and Church Ditch Co. They also divert water from Ralston Creek. This ruling was for a fourth enlargement commenced on 3-16-1886, length approximately 26 miles and irrigating approximately 50,000 acres of land. It was named for George Henry Church, who leased it in October 1877 for 49 years and probably had a hand in the improvements and extensions to the area of his ranch on present day North Wadsworth Boulevard.
The church was established in 1958.
The church was established in 1952, with the building constructed in 1962.
The church was established in 1967.
The building was built by the Denver Ninth Ward of the Denver West Stake of the Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints. The Church was completed and dedicated on April 30, 1967 by President Hugh B. Brown. In 1981, Stake President Russell C. Taylor dissolved the Denver West Stake and created the Arvada Stake. The Genealogical Branch Library was housed in this Church in 1975, and the name was changed to the Family History Library. A second building was built in the Arvada Stake at 12995 W. 72nd Avenue. The building was begun on August 18, 1974, completed and dedicated in the Spring of 1975, by Richard L. Murri and Dean C. Banner. A third church building in the Arvada Stake was purchased in 1981 from the New Early Christian Church, built in 1976, at 6490 Quail Street. After the building was remodeled and additions were made, the Church was dedicated in 1981 by Stake President John Berge.
The church was established in 1953.
The church was built in 1924 by Pastor T. P. Dunn, between 10th St. and Clear Creek at the site of the present chamber of commerce booth. The church was a white frame building. The congregation was composed of 24 members during its first year. In 1959 the church was purchased by a gas company and a new church was built on W. 16th Ave. by Pastor Earl Wheeler.
In 1871 the Stewart Hotel was the locale for the First Episcopal services in the area. In 1897 regular services began in the hotel building and in 1899 the name became “The Mission of the Transfiguration.” The new and present building opened for services in 1963. Name source unknown.
George Henry Church homesteaded 240 acres in 1870. Here a cattle ranch and wheat farm was in operation over 100 years and in 1989 was designated as a Centennial Farm by the State Historical Society. As of 2010 was one of five Centennial Farms in Jefferson County, the others being The Rooney, Baughman, Wise and Schnell ranches and farms.
Church Ranch Boulevard was completed on June 6, 1990 by Charles McKay, a descendant of George Henry Church family. McKay named the Boulevard for the members of the Church family as Phase #1 of the development.
Church Ranch Way, phase #2 of the Church thoroughfares, was completed in 1997 and named by Charles McKay for the Church family. Phase #2 was completed by Jefferson County and the City of Westminster.
Pioneer George Henry Church built a 12-room house for stage passengers on their first stop-over out of Denver. This stage stop was also called Twelve- Mile House, the distance between Denver and Church’s Station. Wells Fargo discontinued the stage route to the mountains in 1868, shortly after President Grant and his daughter made the trip. The building continued to be used by Bull Whackers (ox team drivers) who hauled baled hay to the mountains. As many as 75 persons stayed at a time for supper, lodging and breakfast. This was also a convenient stop on the Cherokee Trail and Overland Stageline which closely followed Colorado State Highway #287 to Cheyenne, Wyoming (1865-1885).
The mine on V.J. Churches ranch struck a two-foot-thick coal vein at a depth of 160 feet.
This ditch was in Water District #7 (Priorities #16, 5-31-1868 and #19, 5-20-1873). Claimant in 1884 was John Churches. The area where the ditch originated, from south bank of Ralston Creek, is now under Ralston Reservoir. John Churches owned lands North and East of North Table Mountain and built this ditch to benefit those properties.
Claimant for adjudication in 1884 was John Churches. Located in Water District #7, the lake is filled from Ralston Creek via Churches Ditch, which has a headgate on the south bank of Ralston Creek in SE1/4, S32, T2S, R70W. John Churches was an area farmer and built the system.
John C. Churches (1823-1910), traveled by ox team with Asahel Haines and John Huggins to the goldfields in 1859. The family surname, Churchhouse, was changed to Churches after the family settled on a ranch in Golden. The home built in 1862 was used as a half-way house for travelers and their livestock. Churches built an irrigation ditch out of Ralston Creek and a reservoir in the area. He was the first Worthy Master of Enterprise Grange. He and his wife Mary Ann served in the Colorado State Grange and in Garden Pomona No. 1. Van Bibber Creek flows west to east across the northern edge of the surveyed area of Churches Ranch. In 1881, Mary Ann Churches and Mary Ann Wadsworth were active in the women suffrage movement in Colorado and were urged to attend a meeting discuss the political and social status of women. Virg and Gent Bennett of Mount Vernon and the Churches boys gathered their cattle at Glencoe and drove them to the Union Stockyards in 1901. In 1937, the Denver Water Board bought the Churches property and built Ralston Reservoir. Churches house, stone barn and several other buildings are still standing. Churches Ranch listed on the National Register of Historic Places on July 23, 1998 (5JF.1042).
The 1864 barn was constructed in a vernacular masonry style using stone, wood and tile. The 1 1/2 story barn contains 3300 square feet. John C. Churches files a Homestead application for this land in December 1863. When Churches filed proof for his patent in December 1868, he cited a stone barn as one of the improvements he had made to the land. The sandstone for the barn was obtained from the vicinity of Ralston Creek. This barn was one of the major elements of Churches’ ranch. By 1867, Churches advertised beef, vegetables, and poultry for sale in Golden and continued to sell a substantial amount of meat to the local market for many years. The barn was utilized for the storage of hay and grain and to shelter horses and cattle and farm implements. The ranch was also utilized as a way station along a route to the gold camps during the 1860s and the Churches provided for travelers and horses.
Named for John C. Churches, who built the stage stop for travelers in the 1860s. The buildings were still standing in 1998 and were owned by the Denver Water Board. Churches was born in Somerset, England (1817-1889). His father’s name was John Churchhouse, but the surname was changed to Churches by the Jefferson County family. Churches came to Colorado in 1859 with Asahel Haines and John Higgins. He filed his citizenship papers in 1862 and received the patent for his homestead in 1869. This record indicated that he built a stone house, stone barn, corral, two water wells and a log barn. The stone house was used as a half-way station for travelers and their livestock on the way to the mountains.
Churches built an irrigation ditch out of Ralston Creek and a reservoir, Churches Lake. He and his wife, Mary Ann Colepriet Churches, were instrumental in forming Enterprise Grange, No. 25 in 1874. Churches was the first Worthy Master.
The park was dedicated in 1978. It was refined by the local citizens who donated and planted trees and shrubs along the greenbelt.
This c. 1862 small wooden well stood in the middle of the main road from Bergen Park to Hutchinson-Bradford Junction (now Conifer). A local landmark for many years, the new route for the main road passes next to it. It stands close to the point where a toll gate stood for the Bradford Toll Road, near the junction of the Bradford Road and the road from Bergen Park. According to local folklore the well was being dug at the time of the 1862 Second Battle of Bull Run (Manasas) was being fought during the Civil War.
This ditch is located in Water District #7. Claimants in 1884 were Charles Brown and John Clark. It originates from the north bank of Ralston Creek and has Ralston Creek Priority #13, dating from May 31, 1865. John Clark owned a farm north of present-day West 64th Avenue and on each side of Simms Street.
This original 27′ by 27′ square two-story log house was constructed by John J. Clark in 1883. It consisted of a living room, dining room, and kitchen downstairs and three bedrooms on the second floor. Dormers, a bay window, gingerbread window trimming, interior construction materials, and style are all typical of the Victorian Era, but fancy for a mountain town. The original 1878 homestead 12′ by 12′, 1 1/2-story cabin was added on as a bedroom on the main house. Clark came to Colorado in 1868 and met with success prospecting and invested in mining property. Clark became a merchant in Nevadaville and served as a town clerk, treasurer, and mayor. In 1878, he homesteaded 160 acres near Bergen Park on the Soda Creek Road. He built a cabin, improved his homestead and purchased another 160 acres. When he built the main house in 1883, Clark owned a meat and vegetable market in Central City. In 1883, Clark was elected to the state legislature. Clark died in 1912 and a piece of the property became Filius Park, a part of Denver Mountain Parks. In 1920, Lucius Edwin Humphrey purchased the ranch from Clark’s widow. Humphrey commuted to Denver where he was head of the copy desk for 25 years and the Denver Post for ten years.
The ditch is in Water District #7. The headgates are on south bank of Clear Creek. Claimants in 1884 were Fred Claus and S. E. Couch. State Engineer’s “Water Rights Report,” show all the rights (#12 5-13-1861) were transferred to the Welch, Lee, Stewart and Eskins Ditches.
George W. Clayton of Clayton College in Denver leased ground for the camp in 1930 from the U.S. Forest Service. It closed in the late 1940s and later became the site of Buffalo Creek Campground.
Clear Creek received its present name during the summer gold rush days of 1859. The earliest prospectors referred to it as Vasquez Fork, the name it had held since the 1830s, and the name was changed presumably due to its then-clear and turbulent waters. Nicknamed “Klar Krik” by some of the less-refined locals, it was described by persons such as Horace Greeley as being a powerful and turbulent stream teeming particularly with brown trout, difficult if not impossible to cross on horseback during summertime high waters. Irrigation canals have since sapped the river of its original power, in order to support agriculture downstream. So much water was diverted early on that by 1879 the downstream water had literally dried out. Throughout the 19th and early 20th centuries upstream mining operations completely destroyed the river’s ecosystem and compelled people such as George West to complain it was belying its name since it was now “big muddy”. Metallic tailings and human waste from upstream threatened downstream agriculture and the health of Golden residents. However, the water was the principal source of power for area industry, including flour mills, smelters, and a paper mill. The river has been home to virtually all kinds of gold mining attempted in Colorado, from gold panning to hydraulics to dredge mining, and evidence of this mining remains along the river in various places. Clear Creek has been prone to periodic severe floods, causing millions of dollars in damage to towns, railroads, farmers and industry. During later years it has been the focus of continuing open space and parks preservation initiatives by several entities.
This major east-west Front Range canyon through which Clear Creek River flows is about 12 miles long. Colorado Central Railroad completed laying track through the canyon in September 1872. The track was abandoned in July 1941.
Received legislative authorization March 8, 1864; “‘Clear Creek and Guy Gulch Wagon Road Company.’ Authorization to operate parallel with and to cross Golden Gate Gregory Road.” “In 1862, W.A.H. Loveland organized a wagon road company; reorganized in 1863 into the Clear Creek and Guy Gulch Wagon Road Co. In 1865, the company became the Colorado and Clear Creek Railroad Co. In 1866, the Colorado Central and Pacific RR Co. emerged.” It was replaced with Colorado Central Railroad in 1872.
After enjoying the Apex Trail, and Rilliet Park as a child and teenager, Denver native Carla Swan began purchasing land on Lookout Mountain to preserve it. In 1986, she established the Clear Creek Land Conservancy and donated 240 acres to begin a plan to protect as much of Clear Creek Canyon as possible. She died in 1993, but her work has continued via the CCLC board and Jefferson County Open Space. By 1998, the CCLC has been instrumental in preserving 1,100 acres.
1917 report states the property has not been worked for the past nine years and ten months
The district was organized in 1952 and serves the area north of Clear Creek to 54th Avenue and as far east as Dudley Street and west to Parfet Street.
The name is descriptive of the location. The church was originally Clear Creek Valley Church organized in 1890. In 1892 the name was changed to Alathe Church. In 1905 the faltering congregation became a mission of Galilee Baptist, Denver, and was named Fruitdale Baptist, adopting the name of the neighborhood. In 1990 the centennial observance research led to the name change back to Clear Creek Valley Baptist Church. This is a conservative Baptist denomination and is the site of the Rocky Mountain Conservative Baptist Association headquarters.
The third grange formed in the Arvada area was Clear Creek Valley Grange, No. 4, chartered December 9, 1873. The grange building, constructed in 1874, was the oldest building in Olde Town Arvada. This building has been converted into a theater, Arvada Festival Playhouse, and was in use in 1994.
Built in 1873 by George P. Morrison for his family home when he moved from Mount Vernon. The main building is three stories, built of alternating blocks of finished red sandstone (from the adjacent Morrison Formation quarry) and buff sandstone (Dakota Formation). A wing added in 1889 is of rough-cut red sandstone with buff trim.
George Morrison died in 1895 in this house. John Swanson, from a Swedish family, bought the house and ran a well-known hotel called the Cliff House. Known for its fine food, good rooms and lovely gardens and for a bandstand for Saturday concerts. Morrison had its own band. Mrs. Swanson lost her mind and died in a sanitarium; Mr. Swanson hung himself from grief over her death. The house is now an inn with the same name.
The Colorado & Southern Railroad made a stop at Cliffdale. It was in existence in 1905 and owned by Mr. and Mrs. John King who operated a family hotel with 6 cabins as well as being in charge of the postoffice. The resort was known for fine fishing and at one time was known as the Thompson Resort.
Built in the 1800s by Rudolph Poltz, grandfather of the Long brothers who own the Long Brothers Garage at the present time. The structure was operated as a hotel by Charles Long and his wife. In 1888, a telephone exchange, the Clifton Exchange, was located in the hotel and had a plug board and generator to make the ring. It was moved to Bailey in 1921. Designated a County Landmark in 2004.
Two private residents with access by car across a bridge over the river. They were originally owned by a Mr. Jordon and sold to Henry Nadirff then resold several times.A post office was supposedly here from 1916-1918. The origin of the name is unknown.
It was established Apr. 15,1916, with Lewis O. Watson as postmaster and discontinued Oct.15,1918, with mail sent to Buffalo Creek Post Office.
Two private residences are located across the North Fork of the South Platte River with access by car over a bridge. They were originally owned by a Mr. Jordon, then sold to Henry Nadorff, then resold several times. A post office was located here from 1916-1918 (on the railroad track side of the river). One structure was bought in 1992 by a professor at Yale University who had resided in Jefferson County. It has been enlarged and renovated extensively to become a comfortable and attractive vacation home. The origin of the name is unknown.
Located south of Mississippi Avenue and east of Wadsworth Boulevard. Caroline Bancroft’s grandfather….
Clover Knoll claimants in 1936 were George Meyers, Anna T. Hall and Colorado National Bank for Marion L. Lasley. Claimant for South Clover Knoll was George Meyers as successor in interest to George J. Bancroft. Construction on both reservoirs began February 1888 and was completed in 1890. Located in Water District #7, they are filled from Clear Creek via the Agricultural Ditch.
Club Crest Park was one of the several parks designed and constructed to have native grass areas. The entire area north and east of Club Crest Drive, the east edge south of Club Crest Drive and the bank along the Croke Canal was the greenbelt area and bike trail. This trail ran through Club Crest Subdivision.
Club Crest South is a 40-foot-wide greenbelt and 170.81 acres in length. The vacation for the greenbelt originated about 1975.
The name probably was adopted in the mid 1800s because there were coal mines producing there for a time.
The Coal Creek District was one of 4 copper mining districts operating in Jefferson County during the 1870s. Its mines included the Partridge.
This is an extensive complex of historic features that includes stone foundations and pads, retaining walls and check dams, cistern, building rubble, and abandoned mining equipment. Most of the features appear to have been associated with water diversion, storage, and conveyance, probably for the railroad. A portion of the site probably represents day mining activities. There is a dressed stone foundation with only the east and south walls remaining. The walls are five meters long, 50 centimeters high and range from 30 to 70 centimeters in width, the south wall being wider. A field stone pad extends southward off the foundations southeast corner. To the south is a field stone retaining wall two meters in height. South of the retaining wall is a remnant of a poured concrete wall. Further south are more remnants of what may have been a contiguous field stone wall. There are also two large pieces of abandoned machinery located on the site. A five meter by five meter square, stone-lined cistern slumped to the east and south ridges is located west of the dressed stone foundation. South and west of the cistern are fieldstone check dams within a broad swale.
Built in 1962. Designed to complement the ruggedness of mountains, the roof was sloped to accommodate northwest wind patterns.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Colorado & Pacific Wagon, Telegraph & Railroad Company (1861)
William A. H. Loveland with other investors constructed this road up Clear Creek Canyon to Idaho Springs, with intentions to cross Berthoud Pass. Loveland and other investors developed the route as the Colorado Central Railroad in the 1870s
Incorporated in 1898, this railroad continued to exist until 1981, when it was absorbed by Burlington Northern in January, 1982. A total of 30 companies were among the predecessors of Colorado and Southern.
This line bought the Denver, Leadville & Gunnison Railroad in 1898, which had been the South Park Division of the Union Pacific Railroad in 1881. The name at the time of construction in 1878 was the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad. The Colorado & Southern Railroad operated until the line was discontinued in 1937.
The school was established in 1974. The curricula is college prep and grades 1-12. “Loyal to Papal teaching” is the philosophy of the school.
The Colorado Central was the first railroad corporation in Colorado, organized in 1865. By December, 1870, the “Iron Horse” reached the community of Arvada. The line had been finished to Golden, and with narrow gauge to Blackhawk in December of 1872. Colorado Central was purchased by Union Pacific Denver and Gulf in 1890, and by Colorado and the Southern in 1899.
This Colorado Central Railroad brick freight office was erected in 1872. The building has a crude foundations and is probably the last existing structure in Jefferson County by the Colorado Central Railroad. This location is approximately where David K. Wall, Golden’s first resident, moved in early 1859 and raised vegetables.
Incorporated 1878; capital stock, $500,000, Andrew McKinney, pres., William A.H. Loveland, general manager. The property is located on the Colorado Central Railroad, within the limits of Golden, and comprises a strip of land one half mile wide and three miles long. The mine has a shaft 300 feet deep and two entries aggregating 1300 feet in length. The vein is about fifteen feet wide and trends north and south. On the surface is a good shaft house capable of raising 100 tons of ore daily. In 1888 miners drifted 260 feet from the surface to a coal vein ten feet wide and another ten feet further measuring four feet six inches.
Built in 1917, this grain elevator was central to Broomfield. Adolph Zang, Sr., owned 4000 acres in the vicinity and sold wheat to the elevator. Fred Harrison ran the elevator from 1917 to 1941. His son told of living in a tent for a year after they came until a house was built for them.
The Colorado Railroad Museum had its beginning in 1950. Co-founder Robert W. Richardson began accumulating railroad artifacts at Alamosa. Richardson believed too little was being done to save the bulk of this material so with the help of Cornelius Hauck opened the Colorado Railroad Museum in 1958. The museum has accumulated a number of locomotives, dining cars, and cabooses, several of which are listed on the State and National Registers.
The car was purchased by the Pullman Car Co., by the Colorado Midland in 1887 for use as a first class coach. It is one of the few surviving passenger cars from the railroad. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.13) on December 11, 1996.
Built in 1937, by the Davenport Locomotive Works in Iowa, Locomotive No. 50 served Oregon until purchased by the D&RGW in 1963 and moved to Durango where it was used as a switcher until 1970. It is the only narrow gauge diesel locomotive ever owned by the D&RGW. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.10) on December 11, 1996.
The car was purchased by the D&RG in 1872 and is considered to be the oldest narrow gauge passenger car in the country. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.13) on December 11, 1996.
This 1881 narrow gauge coach, designed by Jackson and Sharpe, provided eighty-six continuous years of passenger service for the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad. Listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.14) on March 12, 1996.
The 1881 Denver and Rio Grande Railroad Coach No. 83 operated for 83 years, fist as a passenger coach and then as a maintenance-of-way vehicle. It is only remaining car manufactured by Sharp and Jackson which has not been extensively rebuilt or altered.
Narrow gauge caboose No. 49 was built by the Denver & Rio Grande Railway in 1881 and is important for its association with Colorado railroad history and for its engineering significance. The caboose served the railroad for 57 years before being retired in October 1938. It was recently restored to its 1880s appearance. It was place on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.5) on September 11, 1996.
Built in 1881 and important for its association with Colorado railroad history and for its engineering significance, the locomotive served 66 years with the D&RGW, the Rio Grande Southern, and the Colorado & Southern at various times during its service. Its last few months of service were between Dolores and McPhee on the Montezuma Lumber Co. Railroad, the last lumber railroad to operate in Colorado. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.9) on September 11, 1996.
Built in 1880, by the Baldwin Locomotive Works in Philadelphia, Locomotive No. 191 is important for its association with Colorado railroad history and for its engineering significance. It served the DSP&P and its successors for 22 years before being sold to a lumber company in Wisconsin. Acquired by the museum in 1973, it is the oldest, and one of the few surviving steam locomotives of the DSP&P, one of Colorado’s most famous narrow gauge railroads. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.7) on December 11, 1996.
Important for its association with Colorado railroad history and for its engineering significance, this standard gauge combination baggage and passenger car was purchased as a rebuilt car in 1904, only 3 years after incorporation of the Great Western. The car hauled passengers for the railway in the early 1900s and was the only coach owned by GW Railway in the early years of its operation in northern Colorado. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.8) on September 11, 1996.
Built in 1890 and important for its association with Colorado railroad history and for its engineering significance, No. 683 was one of the early locomotives acquired by the D&RGW when converting its mainline to standard gauge. It operated until 1955 and was acquired by the Colorado Railroad Museum in 1963. This is the only extant D&RGW Railroad standard gauge steam locomotive; all others have been scrapped. It was listed on the Directory of State Register Places 5JF1013.11) on September 11, 1996.
The Galloping Geese are important for their association with railroad transportation in southwestern Colorado. They represent the Rio Grande Southern’s innovative and cost saving efforts to maintain service in the face of declining traffic during the Great Depression. Goose No. 2 was built in 1931 and retains its original appearance. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.1) on June 12, 1996, and on the National Register of Historic Places on February 14, 1997.
Goose No. 6 was constructed in 1934 to serve as a maintenance-of-way vehicle. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.2) on June 12, 1996, and on the National Register of Historic Places on February 19, 1997.
Goose No. 7 was constructed in 1936 and retains the configuration of a 1950 conversion that enabled it to transport rail-tourists. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1013.3) and National Register of Historic Places on March 12, 1997.
This building was completed in 1953 at a cost of $1,200,000. It was dedicated to Victor C. Alderson, who was president of the Colorado School of Mines from 1903-1913 and again from 1917-1925. It is no accident that this building is devoted to the study of petroleum, chemical engineering, and petroleum refining. Dr. Alderson was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Engineering by the School of Mines in 1938 and was a pioneer in the field of petroleum refining and engineering. In 1919 he established a petroleum engineering curriculum for the School of Mines. In 1920 he published the first book on oil shale in the United States. A motto attributed to Dr. Alderson hung on a wall in the library for many years: “This is the place for men to work, and not for boys to play.”
All was not always smooth during Dr. Alderson’s second term as president of the school. There were several claims about his alleged interference in professors’ sphere of responsibility. There was also a strike by some students, and when the strikers were allowed to return to classrooms, with no punishment, that decision brought another schism on campus. In 1921 a legislative sub-committee investigated the charges, and they found that none of the charges was warranted.
Alderson Hall is unusual in a couple of respects. Inside the building is an oil drilling rig that goes from 100 feet underground up to the top of the four-story building. The drill does not drill for oil, but it is used to teach students about oil drilling and oil drilling equipment. On the rig is a pumping unit to teach students pumping techniques. Another unusual aspect of the building is the underground storage vault that is separate and apart from the building. This vault is for the storage of explosives used in teaching mining.
In January 1977, there was an explosion in Alderson Hall in an area of a laboratory that was built to be explosion proof but had never been tested. Fortunately, this test proved the design of the area. No one was injured, and the largest damage was to a window that was blown out. The estimated loss was $250.
As the Colorado School of Mines grew, it became obvious that a library would be necessary. A library building was opened in 1955 just north of Guggenheim Hall. The building was not named until 1959 when it was named in honor of Arthur T. Lakes. Twenty years later, the building was rededicated upon the completion of its renovation and additions to the original building.
The library is considered one of the top technical libraries in the country, if not the world. The original building cost $800,000 and was State funded. The addition and renovation cost about $3 million, of which the State’s share was $1.56 million. Private donations were about $440,000, and the Boettcher Foundation added $1 million. In addition to its over 200,000 volumes, it has more than 175,000 maps and carries 2,000 technical journals and magazines that concern themselves with the entire scope of mining and engineering taught at Mines. In 1937 the Boettcher family donated the Frank C. Allison gold and silver specimen collection which can be seen in the glass-faced vault located on the south side of the main entrance. In 1995 the history archives were made possible by a grant from Russell and Lynn Wood. The library is also a repository for maps and documents of the U.S. Geological Survey and the U.S. Bureau of Mines.
Arthur Lakes was associated with Bishop George Randall in the founding of Jarvis Hall if 1869. Jarvis Hall was the forerunner of the Colorado School of Mines. Arthur Lakes was the first professor of geology, and he taught at the school until 1893 through its transitions from a church (Episcopalian) school to a school supported by a territorial government (Colorado Territory) and finally, in 1876, to a state institution of higher education. There were two years (1878-1879) when he was doing research in Colorado and Wyoming and did not teach. Professor Lakes is considered to be the “father” of Colorado geology. He deciphered the history of Colorado’s geology and uncovered the dinosaur tracks at Red Rocks Park.
The original building was completed in 1964. It was funded by a $750,000 loan from the Department of House and Urban Development. The loan was repaid from revenues the use of the building generated. The building was originally called the College Union, but in May 1960 it was named for Ben H. Parker who was a geologist and had been a member of the Geology Department faculty. Dr. Parker was also the first graduate from the School of Mines to become the President of the school (1946-1950). He also served on the school’s Board of Trustees from 1950-1969, and he was President of the Board of Trustees from 1957-1969.
Berthoud Hall was designed by Temple Hoyne Buell, who became a very well known and well regarded architect. The construction of the building was a project of the WPA, a Federal program that helped put people to work during the depression of the 1930s. The building is adorned with terra cotta figures and other ornamentation. Its exterior appearance is unique.
The building was dedicated to the memory of Captain Edward R. Berthoud, who came to Golden in 1860. He then served under Colonel Leavenworth during the Civil War and distinguished himself in that conflict. Captain Berthoud’s first job in Golden was to survey the original town plat. He followed this up by working on the surveying and construction of a railroad line up Clear Creek Canyon. Captain Bethoud joined the faculty of the Colorado School of Mines in 1872 to teach civil engineering and geology. In 1880 he began teaching mining engineering and geology. In addition to these duties, he also served on the Board of Trustees from 1874-1904. Captain Berthoud discovered the first pass through the central Rocky Mountains. The pass bears his name.
The building is used to teach geology and geologic engineering. The building also houses the school’s Geological Museum. In 1966 it became a world class collection of rocks and minerals when the collections of the Colorado Historical Society and the Colorado State Bureau of Mines were added to the CSM collection. The museum also houses the Hoffman Murals, depictions of mining over the ages.
The building was also the scene of a tragedy in 1969. Three young teenagers managed to get into the elevator when it was on the second floor. One climbed up through the ceiling hatch to see how the elevator worked. While leaning over the edge of the car to see how it worked, his friends moved the car about “six inches.” It moved enough for the counter-weights to crush the boy’s skull.
This building was opened on September 8, 1954. There is nothing exceptional about this building other than it is the first building on the Colorado School of Mines campus to be built specifically as a dormitory. It was built to house 84 students, and it also contains an apartment for the “house mother.”
The building was named in honor of A. Hartwell Bradford, a 1909 graduate of the school as well as a generous contributor to the school. Mr. Hartwell, who was awarded a Distinguished Achievement Medal in 1951, was a west coast oil executive who pioneered the development of natural gas extraction plants.
The field is built in an oval shape as many fields built for football are. The center section, the length of the football field, was built in 1922 with a $5,000 contribution from Ralph D. Brooks. Mr. Brooks was a trustee of the Colorado School of Mines from 1922-1924. The two end sections were added in 1929.
In keeping with the diversity of building appearances on the Colorado School of Mines campus, this building’s appearance is different from any of the others. The designers, Lamar Kelsey and Associates, gave the building distinctive rounded corners.
This building was considered to be a mark of resurgence for the campus. During the oil crisis years of the 1970s the enrollment at the school, able to accommodate 3,000, had fallen to 1,600. A new building in which to teach mining and engineering was a sign of growth returning to the campus. Construction began in June 1979, and the building was opened in December 1980.
Dedication of the building to George E. Brown was on April 9, 1981. Dr. Brown was a graduate of the class of 1922. In 1949 he was awarded the Distinguished Achievement Award, and in 1962 he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Engineering. Both Dr. Brown and his brother, Herman Brown, were involved in the Brown and Root Company. Together they built Brown and Root from a small road building company to an international construction conglomerate.
The $5.5 million that the school cost to build and equip was paid for with private funds. The largest contributor was the Brown Foundation, which donated $4.4 million to the project.
The center, which opened in 1972, houses Geophysical Engineering, the Computer Center, and the Bunker Auditorium along with the usual type of rooms for a college building. At the time it was built, the auditorium could accommodate the entire student population of 1,600. It was the first time in 50 years that it was possible to gather all the students in one place at the same time. The auditorium has proven to be a boon to the city of Golden and also Jefferson County. The Colorado School of Mines makes it available for use by cultural groups such as the Jefferson Symphony.
The building was built with largely private funding. To keep the school from losing some time limit grants, the state appropriated $600,000 and purchased the land. Private donations came to slightly over $2 million, of which $1.7 million came from Cecil H. and Ida Green. Mr. Green was a founding partner in the reorganization of Geophysical Services. This newly reorganized company created Texas Instruments, the electronics giant.
In 1972, while the move into the Hall was going on, the school’s administration was being called before the Joint Budget Committee of the legislature to explain a $250,000 cost overrun.
An interesting sidelight concerns a building that was razed to make room for this building’s landscaping. The building that was razed at Cheyenne and 15th Streets was built in 1889 as a home for the president of the school. Dr. Chauvenet and his family were the first to occupy it. It remained the president’s residence until 1925 when Dr. Coolbaugh became president. Dr. Coolbaugh preferred to remain in his own home, so he made the house available to the Dean of Students. It remained the home of the Dean of Students until 1964. It was then renovated to become the first dormitory for women on the campus. Until that time, only three women had received degrees from the school. That change in use brought an editorial in the school newspaper, “The Oredigger,” decrying the change and calling for the house to remain the Dean’s House for historical reasons if no other.
Chauvenet Hall is an early example of recycling. It is the result of combining two turn-of-the-century buildings into one building in which to teach mining at the Colorado School of Mines. The converted buildings were the original Power Plant and Assay buildings. The conversion took place in 1955. Currently the building houses several departments including, appropriately, Environmental Science.
Dr. Regis Chauvenet was president of the Colorado School of Mines from 1883-1902 and was named President Emeritus in 1913. If anyone can be thought of as the person who set the course for the School of Mines to follow, Dr. Chauvenet can lay claim to that distinction. When he took over the administration, the school had very few full-time students. Most of the students attended for only as long as it took them to learn how to find signs of silver and gold when prospecting. By 1890 Dr. Chauvenet was able to do away with what he referred to as “scrap courses.” He emphasized the need for mining and engineering curricula that would lead to a degree for the students. At this time there was no tuition for state residents, but others had to pay $100 a year. He also looked for the best teachers he could find.
By the time Dr. Chauvenet retired in 1902, the Colorado School of Mines was firmly established as a degree-granting institution of higher education. When he passed away, Dr. Chauvenet left an unfinished history of the school that he had been writing. His widow donated it to the school, and a copy is available in the school’s library.
This building, opened in September 1952 and designed by Fuller, Fuller and Fuller, an architectural firm that has served the Colorado School of Mines for three generations, is one of beige brick and glass. The building was built to house chemistry and geochemistry. In more recent years, an addition was constructed on the north side of the building.
The building was dedicated in May 1953 to Melville F. Coolbaugh, who served as president of the school from 1925-1946 and was named President Emeritus in 1946. By profession Dr. Coolbaugh was a research chemist, and he served as dean of the chemistry department in 1917-1918.
This building has a place in the history of the Colorado School of Mines because it was the first completely new building on campus after World War II.
Guggenheim Hall is named in honor of Simon Guggenheim. Mr. Guggenheim and his family controlled a majority of the smelting business in the country. Because of this, he realized the importance of a school of higher education dedicated to mining, engineering and metallurgy. He was also a U.S. Senator from Colorado having been elected in 1906 to the post by the Colorado legislature in a time when United States senators were still elected by state legislatures. Mr. Guggenheim’s election brought further outcries that United States senators elected by state legislatures were usually wealthy men, and it gave additional impetus for ratification of the 17th amendment to the Federal constitution which provided for popular election of United States senators. The amendment had been proposed in 1909 and ratified in 1913.
In 1905, in honor of the birth of his son, he donated to the Colorado School of Mines enough money to build and furnish the building named after him. The sum was $80,000, and for its time at the beginning of the twentieth century, it was the largest private grant to any State institution. Nor was that the end of Mr. Guggenheim’s support. In 1928 the foundation of the building was damaged because of the shifting soil. Mr. Guggenheim donated $25,000 to repair the foundation, and when he died his will contained a $100,000 bequest to the school.
The building was designed by James Murdoch, and in 1905 the cornerstone was laid by the Grand Lodge of Masons. The opening of the building in 1906 facilitated some much needed expansions in some of the school’s departments. The first floor of the building was devoted to Geology and a Geological museum. The administrative offices and the library were moved to the second floor of Guggenheim Hall. Eventually, the library would take up one-half a floor of the building, and a library building would become a necessity. The third floor was devoted to a 700 seat auditorium, classrooms and offices. After the moves, the Old Main Building was almost entirely devoted to Chemistry. Eventually, Old Main and two adjacent buildings were referred to as the Chemistry Buildings. Hill Hall now occupies the site of those three buildings.
During the late 1960s, Guggenheim Hall needed extensive renovation. State policy was that if renovation of a building would cost more than half of the value of the building, the building was to be replaced. Because of the building’s historic import, the rule was waived and renovation began. The legislature appropriated $252,000 for the renovation, but that amount was not enough to cover the costs. The school then appealed to the Guggenheim Foundation and was informed that, in keeping with the intent of the Foundation’s bylaws, the Foundation could not appropriate funds for buildings because funds could only be used for fellowships but that the director of the fund had spoken of the request to Mrs. Guggenheim and enclosed her personal check for $100,000 with his reply.
The building is topped by a square bell tower which chimes the hours. The bell tower is itself topped by a gold domed cupola. In 1954 when the Colorado State Capitol Building’s gold dome was recovered with gold leaf, some of the left over gold leaf was used to recover the bell tower cupola atop Guggenheim Hall. In 1988 the dome was reguilded again with a gift from the graduation class of 1987 and a gift from Amax, Inc. of two gold bars from their Sleeper gold mine.
This is presently the oldest building on the Colorado School of Mines campus. It was built when Dr. Regis Chauvenet was the president. It was completed in 1894, and it was named by the legislature when they appropriated the $20,000 needed to build it. The original purpose was to use the building to teach physics and “draughting.” It now houses Mineral Economics, Special Programs, and Continuing Education.
The architect for this building was a well known architect of his day, Robert S. Roeschlaub. He called the style of architecture “Victorian Romanesque.” Mr. Roeschlaub also created a master plan for the campus. The builder was a well known local builder, Herbert Tracy Quick.
Unfortunately, when Hill Hall was built in 1958, it obscured the view of the Hall of Engineering from most parts of the campus.
Hill Hall was completed in late 1958, but classes weren’t held in the building until the fall semester of 1959. The building, designed by Fuller, Fuller and Fuller, was built for the purpose of teaching all phases of metallurgy and material sciences.
It is fitting, therefore, that the building was dedicated to the memory of Nathaniel T. Hill, who was referred to during the December 1983 dedication ceremonies as the man who saved Colorado’s economy during the lean years of 1873-1876. Professor Hill, a chemistry professor at Brown University, came to Colorado in 1864 at the behest of a group of Boston financiers to evaluate their newly purchased mining properties. He arrived at the time that finding so-called “free gold” to mine was running out. “Free gold” is gold that can be panned from a stream, separated in a sluice box, found as nuggets or easily separated from the rock it was in by milling and amalgamating it with mercury. The ore being mined when he arrived required new methods of separating out the gold from the complex sulphide ores mined with it. He travelled to Europe twice to study their smelting processes and made arrangements to ship some ore to Wales to see if their processes would work on Colorado ore. They did, and Hill built his own smelting company that began operating in 1868. The products of his smelter still had to be sent to Wales for refining, but by 1876 Hill had solved all the refining problems, and the entire process took place at his Blackhawk smelter. Gold mining was once again a viable enterprise.
Nathaniel Hill served on the Board of Trustees for the Colorado School of Mines 1873-1876, and he went on to become a United States Senator from Colorado. After an uprising of Utes on the western slope, there were calls for punishing (substitute eliminating) them including one from Colorado’s other Senator, Henry Teller. Senator Hill said that was a narrow and selfish view, and like many in Colorado he favored moving the Utes off the land so as to open it for settlement and development.
This building, built in 1963 and dedicated to the memory of Dr. Paul Meyer in 1964, houses the Physics Department of the Colorado School of Mines. The building’s appearance is unremarkable, unlike the man for whom it was named.
Dr. Meyer was the type of professor every college or university would like to have. He was distinctive in appearance as he strode the campus and the streets of Golden with his gold-headed cane across his back. He was an excellent teacher, and he was genuinely interested in his students and their welfare. The cane, incidentally, was a gift from his students and he was never without it. Evidently, his students appreciated him as well.
Dr. Paul Meyer was born in Switzerland in 1854 and moved to Denver in 1875. He did not like Denver, so he settled in Golden in 1876. He was considered a genius, and it is easy to see why. He graduated from the University of Berne at the age of 13, from the University of Heidelberg with an M.D. degree at the age of 18, and from the University of Berlin with a Ph.D. at age 20.
When Dr. Meyer settled in Golden he took up the practice of medicine. Dr. Regis Chauvenet prevailed upon him to teach mathematics at Mines. He did so from 1883-1900 and simultaneously kept up his medical practice. He practiced medicine in Golden from 1876 until his death in 1930. He was asked to come to England to solve an engineering problem. The sum proposed for his services was described as “lavish,” but he refused, saying he did not want to leave his patients for that long a time.
He was considered one of the six top mathematicians of his day. He worked and corresponded with Albert Einstein and other top scientists such as Charles Steinmetz. His genius carried over to physics, astronomy, and chemistry. His teaching was by direct contact with his students using his own texts that he would not allow to be printed.
Reportedly a great violinist, he would only play when alone or for children, never for adults. It was said that one of his two violins was a Stradivarius. As could be expected, he was also a chess champion.
There were times when, deep in thought, he would arrive in the classroom, and on the board he would write two different mathematical formulas at the same time, writing one with each hand.
Dr. Meyer was named the school’s first Professor Emeritus.
This modern gymnasium, built in 1959, replaced the oldest college gymnasium in Colorado. The original gymnasium had been a three-story Mission Style building that was completed in 1908. On May 7, 1974 the building was dedicated to Russell H. Volk, a Colorado School of Mines graduate who was considered one of the greatest student athletes of his generation. Mr. Volk won 15 varsity letters while in school. In addition, Mr. Volk was president of his class, as well as national chairman and Colorado School of Mines’ delegate to a student leadership conference in Yugoslavia in 1926. He pioneered petroleum exploration and development in the Denver-Julesburg basin. Mr. Volk served as a member of the Colorado School of Mines Board of Trustees from 1967-1973.
This state-funded building devoted to the athletic endeavors of the students was completed in 1937, but the building was not named until 1949. It was named in honor of Frederich C. Steinhauer who was active in sports during his student days at Mines. Mr. Steinhauer was a member of the school’s Board of Trustees from 1911-1915 and again from 1931-1947. He also served as President of the Board of Trustees from 1913-1915 and again from 1942-1947.
The building was designed by the noted architect, Jules Jacques Benoit Benedict. A distinctive architectural feature of the building are the bas-reliefs of the school’s mascot, a burro, and of the school’s emblem, a crossed pick and shovel, on the building’s facade.
Stratton Hall was named for W.S. Stratton, who came to Colorado in 1868 and settled in Colorado Springs. He was a carpenter, and he also did some prospecting. He worked as a carpenter or mechanic or whatever job was available for two-thirds of the year and prospected during the last third. He came to the conclusion that he needed more knowledge to be successful at prospecting. He decided that he needed to learn geology first. Mr. Stratton pursued his education at Colorado College, and there is mention of him taking a course in metallurgy at the Colorado School of Mines. On July 4, 1881, he staked two claims, the Independence and the Washington, in an area where he thought the outcropping of granite he found might be the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. He was right, and as was his nature, he said nothing but went about developing his claims. It was impossible to hide the kind of strike he made, and that was the start of the Cripple Creek gold rush. After taking a goodly sum from the mines, he sold the Independence to a British company for $10 million.
In 1896 he was so sure Bryan and “Free Silver” would win the presidential election, he announced publicly he would wager $100,000 on the election. Fortunately, most people in Colorado agreed with him and no one took the bet, because William McKinley won the election.
Stratton was a philanthropic man, and several institutions of higher education benefitted from his largesse. It was at this point that the story of how the building on the Mines campus now named for him came about.
A short history of Stratton and the building was written by Fritz Brennecke in December 1968. Mr. Brennecke wrote of President Chauvenet and the President of the Board of Trustees, Frank Bulkley, going to see Mr. Stratton in 1899. (Mr. Stratton was a Board member at that time, and he served until 1902. From 1901 until his death in 1902, Mr. Stratton was President of the Board of Trustees.) The discussion was about the financial plight of the school. According to this version, Mr. Stratton gave them a check for $25,000 and told them to use it as needed, so they used it to pay for a good portion of what was to be Stratton Hall.
The CSM Office of Institutional Advancement in its June 20, 1989 report told a similar story except that the $25,000 was given to be specifically applied to a building to teach metallurgy. They also report this was the first private gift of money to the Colorado School of Mines. It evidently was noticed because the legislature referred to Mr. Stratton as “. . . the first of Colorado’s wealthy mining men to recognize the importance of the Colorado School of Mines to the chief industry in Colorado.” It doesn’t end there.
The third story, a January 5, 1981 news release from the CSM Office of Public Information, relates a slightly different version of the story. This story relates that the legislature appropriated $60,000 for the next year for the school, but they neglected to pass the enabling legislation. At that point, again in 1899, President Chauvenet and Mr. Bulkley went to see Mr. Stratton, who gave them a check for $25,000 (this amount is the same in all the stories) to keep the school running. The money kept the school solvent for a year, and there was even some left over for the growth of some laboratory facilities as well as the start of the Assay building. The story goes on to relate that two years later the legislature appropriated, and enabled, $22,300 for the building. The cornerstone was laid in November 1902, two months after Mr. Stratton died.
It was fitting that the foundation of the building named after a mining man was made with crushed slag from the remains of the Golden Smelting Works.
The minimum security Colorado Correctional Facility opened in January of 1969 as a training academy for criminals that required lower security. It houses a maximum capacity of 150 inmates and staffs 34 people. Many of the property’s buildings are part of the state historical register.
Segments 1-2-3: “Begins at Waterton Canyon, passes Strontia Reservoir, South Platte townsite, a view of Chair Rocks, Top of the World Campground, and a view of Long Scraggy Peak…follow trail to County Road #126 and cross pavement…continue southwest approximately three miles then west to within site of Buffalo and Redskin Campgrounds…continue west, cross the Buffalo Creek and view a granite outcrop above. Lake Wellington called The Castle, continue approximately two miles to Jefferson County and Park County line.” Jefferson County Segment: “Extending from Denver to Durango–467 miles, the Colorado Trail 1776 is a continuous non-motorized trail created by thousands of dedicated volunteers. This is not an old historic route but since it was begun to commemorate Colorado’s Centennial and the nation’s Bicentennial, it has a new claim to history of its own. Most people enjoy this trail by taking it in pieces, for it is cut by roads in many places, providing excellent access.”
This building was built in 1870 by George West and Dr. James Kelly. West used the second floor for his newspaper, “The Colorado Transcript,” and Kelly used the main floor for his drug store. West bought out Kelly and took over the first floor for the newspaper. The newspaper operated in this building until 1967.
This is a large cave which was used by the Ute Indians lead by Chief Colorow. It is located in the large red rock outcroppings that also form Red Rocks Park.
Located east of Kipling and south of West Bowles, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It was built in 1977 for grades K-6 with a capacity of 756. It was named for the Ute Indian Chief Colorow, who lived in this area in the 1800s.
“Colorow” was a Ute Indian Chief who frequented the foothills during the 1880s until the early 20th century. The City of Denver purchased .37 acre off Colorow Road on Lookout Mountain in 1915. This tiny site is famous for the extraordinary views of Clear Creek Canyon to the north and the west, and the northern plains beyond Golden. The Beaver Brook Trail can be accessed from Colorow Point which is next to the Lookout Mountain Nature Center. Jefferson County now owns over 2000 acres of open space to the south, north, and east of Colorow Point.
This Denver Mountain Park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF644) on November 15, 1990.
An elementary school in Wheat Ridge Public Schools District #8. Built in 1909. Named for subdivision where located. 1924, moved to new building across the street 3227 Chase (5451 W. 32nd Ave. became a store). 1930 and 1950, additions built. 1950, became part of R-1 District. School closed in 1978. 1982, R-1 sold building to Jefferson County. South section site of Wheat Ridge Branch of Jefferson County Library System. Central and north sections site of Jefferson County Senior Resource Center. Provides day care for seniors. Headquarters of Senior Wheels and other services for seniors. 1990 main administration moved to new Jefferson County Social Services, 900 Jefferson County Parkway, Golden.
This plat was filed November 29, 1889 by the Mcdonough syndicate. It was slowly developed but was a stable community.
The Columbia Heights Civic Association organized the Columbia Heights Volunteer Fire Department in 1945. It included the area from Sheridan Boulevard to Harlan Street, 29th Avenue to 33rd Avenue. A fire house was built at 3232 North Depew Street. It was noted that fire calls would be received at Schmitts Grocery, 5451 West 32nd Avenue, at one time. This Department became part of the Wheat Ridge Fire District in 1974.
Attached photos of hangar after it collapsed from the weight of a heavy snow storm in 1965.
Located on South Pierce Street south of West Bowles, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It opened in 1973 for grades 9-12 with a capacity of 1652 and had an addition built in 1995. It was named for the southern part of Jefferson County which is referred to as the Columbine area. On April 20, 1999, two student gunmen, Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris, went on a murderous rampage within the school killing 13 people and wounding 21 others before committing suicide.
Located four blocks south of Ken Caryl Avenue and three blocks east of South Kendall Boulevard, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It opened in 1963 for grades K-6 with a capacity of 540 and had an addition built in 1967. It is named for the subdivision in which it is located.
Located one-half mile east of Wadsworth and one-half mile west of South Pierce in Clement Park, this library was built by Jefferson County on property purchased with Open Space funds when Clement Park was purchased from the Grant family. It opened in 1989 and was named after the southern Jefferson County area known as Columbine.
Operator Robert E Harper, owner Jerry DeDuce, Principal product fluorspar 51.74 pounds. Two men working mine.
North Jeffco purchased the property for Columbine Park from Awalt Black and Frances Marie Black in 1963. The lake at Columbine Park was built when the park was redeveloped with funds provided by the 1974 City Bond Referendum. The purpose of the lake was to catch the overflow from Spano’s truck farm south of W. 52nd Avenue. Spano sold the truck farm to Arvada Urban Renewal and when that project was developed there was no more water available for Columbine Lake. Recreational improvements at the site were two tennis courts, tot lot, picnic tables, drinking fountain, trash cans, bike rack, and horseshoe pits. The City of Arvada provided a concrete pathway and an asphalt parking lot. A child was killed in an accident at the park and on a rock north of the park is a plaque which states, “In Memory of Daniel E. Felton, 1958-1964, the park was an important part of his world. This park is owned jointly by the City of Arvada and North Jeffco.
Columbine School was built in 1916. The building was sold and expanded into a private home in 1948.
Interested members first met in private homes and later met in the auditorium of Arvada High School. The church was established on February 6, 1957. The first service in the building at 6205 Garrison Street was held in September 1957 with the church’s first pastor, Darwin Merrill, officiating.
This Church started in Fremont School in 1978, and moved into the Southern Baptist Church building in December, 1981. Rev. Luther Larson was the first pastor of this church.
This c. 1882 1-1/2 story, red brick, front fabled house built by Eugene F. Conant. Conant was at different times secretary and general manager of the Lee-Kinsey Implement Company. William H. Brophy, a Colorado & Southern Railroad mechanic, purchased the house c. 1908.
This church was built to serve the community in the Green Mountain area of Lakewood in 1964.
Owned by City of Denver and operated by Board of Water Commissioners. This tunnel is part of a water diversionary project. It was driven through a low hill and the total length is 2,860 feet. The formation is a fairly soft shale. The tunnel is lined with concrete with a foot diameter. Surface buildings include an office, store room, impresser room, shop, and generator room.
The church was established in 1966. Name from Baptist General Conference.
Located on US Highway 285 at its junction with Highway 73, Pleasant Park Road and Foxton Road. Probably named for the abundance of conifer trees in the area. Before 1894 Conifer was known as Bradford Junction, then Junction. It is now the location of a crossroads shopping business and social center, bank, clinic, and the Conifer High School.
This is a family and community cemetery, with the first marked burial dating 1889. Several local pioneer family names represented are Long, Blakeslee, Cruse, Kemp, Fitzsimmons, Ramboz and McQueary.
The church was established in 1953; the building in 1959.
The $15,000,000 school opened in 1996 on a 103-acre campus with 34 acres developed and occupied. The technology oriented school offers classes from Red Rocks Community College, a public library, a computer ratio of one to every three students, and six athletic fields or courts.
The first Conifer library was established by the Conifer Civic Club in the milk house at the Meyer Ranch in 1953. The library was later located in the Conifer Junction School (“The Little White School”) from 1955 until l981. A 3.19 acre plot in Aspen Meadows was donated to Jefferson County by Norman and Ethel E. Meyer in 1968 and dedicated for a new library, but pending construction of a building, the area was still being serviced by Bookmobile in 1995. The Conifer High School, opened in 1996, has a dual-use library available to both the school and the public.
A subdivision platted in 1970 by Geneva Basin Ski Corporation, Walter Burke and Roy Romer the developers. Romer later served as a three term governor of Colorado, 1986-1998. Name came from nearby community.
Built in 1927; designated a county landmark 4/5/2004.
Much of the southern area of Wheatridge is served by this company including the Oakes Mutual Water Company, W. 32nd Avenue at Allison and the John Olson well at 29th Avenue and Wadsworth Boulevard.
Built in 1939, this one-story, vernacular, wood frame, 750 sq. ft., L-shaped house has a steeply pitched gable roof with an open porch on the front west facade. The clapboard sided house’s windows are six-over-six with shutters, and also contains an enclosed rear porch and a brick chimney. There is a frame garage at the rear of the property.
An outlet of Hyatt Lake’s overflow. This reservoir has an appropriation date January 24, 1893. Over the years it has been referred to locally as “Moreland” or “Newman” Reservoir because of the local landowners.
This small one story, wood frame house was built in 1894. The house was built in Prince’s re-subdivision of the Lakeside Subdivision for Isabel Cooper in 1894, who originally owned lots 29-32. In Sept. 1921, Samuel B. Turner purchased the lots and houses.
Today’s world’s largest single-source brewery, Coors Brewery is a concrete walled plant covering some 3,400 acres. Coors is a major industry for Golden producing over 20 million barrels of “suds” per year, with 300,000 visitors annually. In 1873, Adolph Coors, a German immigrant, started the brewery. In the early 1900s, Coors expanded into ceramics manufacturing that helped it survive during Prohibition. Malt manufacturing also kept the brewery out of financial trouble. Other products sustaining the brewery were malted milk, “near beer”, and pottery. Adolph Coors Sr. was orphaned in Germany at 15 years of age. Coors was a miller, bookbinder, and a brewer. He escaped political economic repression to the United Sates as a stowaway. In 1873, friend Jacob Scheiler put forth $2000 in capital and purchased a tannery and entered the brewery business. In 1933, when Prohibition was repealed, only 750 of the 1,568 breweries survived, and Coors was one of them.
The Coors Building was built by Perre O. Unger and William A. Wortham in 1906. The two-and-one-half-story, mansard-roofed commercial emporium in pressed red brick is one of the city’s best preserved and least altered. This was one of many Colorado saloons built by Adolph Coors in 1906. This business was prohibited when a post-prohibition law banned the breweries from selling their wet goods in taverns. It was renovated in 1992 and in now a J&C gift store.
This feature was probably named due to the fact that it overlooks the grounds of the nearby Coors Brewery and Coors Technology Center. It was the first land on North Table Mountain purchased for Jefferson County Open Space.
LIsted on the National Register of Historic Places on October 17, 1997 (5JF.147).
The property is developed by shaft 354 feet deep. No. one level is 65 feet below the surface. They are starting to run a drift east at this level, which is all the work being done on the mine in 1918; The shaft is filled with water up to this level. Two men employed.
Homesteaded in late 1880s by Henry Corbin, a Mr. Ammon and a Mr. Kayser. The present owners’ year-round home was built around the one-room log house where the ranch children attended school and another cabin where the teacher lived.
This school is part of Jefferson County R1 School District. It opened in August 1987 for grades K-6 with a capacity of 650. It was named for the Spanish explorer Francisco Vazquez de Coronado.
Located in Water District #7, this ditch diverts water from Clear Creek’s south bank under Priority #35, May 1, 1864. Claimants in 1884 were area farmers Simon Cort and Oliver Graves.
Located in Water District #7, under Priority #10 (4-30-1861). This ditch diverts water from Clear Creek out of the north bank of Clear Creek. Claimants in 1884 were Simon Cort, John Hughes, J.N. Pace and Oliver Graves. Cort and Graves properties are shown on an early Settlement map of Arvada area. Some water from this ditch was transferred to the City of Golden, June, 17, 1986.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF643) on December 28, 1990, this Denver Mountain Park of 297 acres, was one of the city’s early acquisitions. Located off Highway 74, it has playgrounds, picnic tables, fireplaces and shelter house.
It was probably named for the cottonwoods growing alongside.
Morrison’s first newspaper, “The Bud”, was in existence from 1888 to 1899. Built in the 1880s, it was occupied by Judge Babcock as a dwelling. It also was a meat market run by Tom Morrison, son of the founder of Morrison. It was the Morrison Post Office after the fire of 1919. It was also the birth place of Harry Gates, as his mother did not make it to Denver. On Harry’s first birthday, everyone in Morrison was invited to his party–it was quite a large party.
The congregation was organized in 1953-1954. They first met at Mountain View Elementary School. The church building was completed in 1955. The name means: “Covenant: a solemn pledge of members to maintain its faith, ordinances, etc. and receive God’s blessing.”
Although included by Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr., in his Mountain Park System of 1914, the land was not acquired until 1935. The park served as a Civilian Conservation Corps Camp from 1937 to 1941. Surviving buildings and foundations date from this period. Listed under Denver Mountain Parks Multiple Property Submission. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF979) on June 30, 1995.
About 1.5 miles long, Crawford Gulch drains on the south side of Bowser Hill. Origin of name is unknown. It is currently used by the post office to designate a mail delivery route extending from Tucker Gulch to the south end of Drew Hill Road, about 3 miles. Crawford Gulch did not have a road through the bottom to Tucker Gulch until c. 1900.
Built in 1962. Named for Marie H. Creighton. She and her husband developed the Glen Creighton subdivision.
This is a tributary (left hand) of Tucker Gulch, headwaters only. It is about one-half mile north of Half Mile Gulch and was named for an early homesteader.
A location, stage stop, tavern, and post office, Cresswell was located on what is now Cty. Rd. 65 about one-half mile northwest of Bergen Park. Cresswell was owned by W.G. Ames, was built c.1860 and operated until about 1870.
An early subdivision platted in 1884 and located about one-half mile northwest of Bergen Park on Cty. Rd. 65.
The town was platted Sept.10,1897, shortly after Charles Redfield Critchell and Associates formed the Cuillard Townsite Mining and Milling Co. In 1900, it was predicted that Critchell would become a city of 1000 inhabitants and a second Cripple Creek, but it never progressed beyond a few families, a post office, school, store, blacksmith shop and the town well. Some mines were worked for a few years but the ore was of poor quality. All traces of a mining town are gone now. An old-timer, the late Carl L. Kuehster told of knowing Alferd Packer, the convicted Colorado cannibal, as a “nice man” who helped at the store and raised rabbits in his later years. The town was named for C.R.Critchell.
Post Office opened in 1889 and closed in the 1940s.
An early school opened for school children in the early 1880s until the Lamb School opened in 1887. The Lamb School was located on a high knoll south of Phillipsburg. Classes were held only during spring and summer months due to it’s location. Nine families founded the district in 1887 with 19 children enrolled. It was the one school where Columbine, the state flower bloomed all around the school yard. In 1942 the school closed.
Traversing through part of Water District #7, this canal originates from north bank of Clear Creek near Golden and flows north and east to Standley Lake. Claimants in 1936 for adjudication were Farmers Reservoir and Irrigation Company. Construction was commenced March 4, 1902, with surveys filed with the State Engineers of Colorado on March 9, 1903. Water was first diverted into the canal the latter part of June and first of July 1910. The canal was named for T.B. Croke, one of the originators of the company to build the system, Denver Reservoir and Irrigation Co.
An element of Jefferson County Open Space Trails Master Plan was adopted by the County Commissioners in 1977. The major north-south Croke Canal Corridor runs 15 miles from Standley Lake, south to Golden. The Croke Canal trail is intersected by three east,west trail corridors; Ralston Creek, Van Bibber Creek, and Clear Creek. Named because the trail runs parallel with the Croke Canal.
The town’s name came from its postmaster, Terry Crosson, as recorded in 1879. William J. Haughtaling was post master on April 16,1885, and the post office closed August 25,1885, with mail sent to Estabrook PostOffice in Park County.
Last stop in Jefferson County on Colorado & Southern Railroad line. Discontinued in 1937.
This was the location of a gold mine in c. 1878 and a stop on the Colorado & Southern R.R. until 1937 when the line was discontinued. Few remains of buildings are left and the property is owned by a local rancher, Robert P. Colwell and his Echo Valley Ranch.
Built ca. 1872. Maggie Crow carried mail on horseback from Morrison into surrounding mountains. She had two sons, Vernon and Floyd. Her husband, Mr. W.L. Crow, came to Colorado in 1872.
The name is descriptive of the site on “crown of hill.” The cemetery is on part of the Henry Lee homestead and was purchased from Margaret Lee in 1908. Filled incorporation officers: Delos Chapel, Hugh Aderman, George W. Olinger, Julius Gunter, Vernon J. Davis. This is the site of the Tower of Memories, the Crown Hill Mortuary, and the Crown Hill Mausoleums. Crown Hill Burial park was added to the National Register of Historic Place on July 24, 2008 (5JF.4502). The Tower of Memories is separately listed on the National Register and was added on September 25, 1987 (5JF.467).
Claimant in 1936 was the Crown Hill Cemetery Association. Construction was begun April 1908. Located in Water District #7, the lake is filled from Clear Creek via the Agricultural Ditch into the Lee Lateral. On July 30, 1992, the name was changed to Kestral Pond.
The western part of Crown Hill Cemetery property was purchased with Open Space funds by Jefferson County, Wheat Ridge, and Lakewood. This is a part of the Henry Lee Homestead. The shallow lake was demoted to pond status. The new name is Kestral Pond as of July 30, 1992. Facilities include a biking path, picnic tables, a pavilion, fishing, the natural environment, rest rooms, and a walking path. All are very popular and used extensively.
Ice was harvested from the lake around 1900 and transported to Denver via the Denver & Southern Railroad’s narrow-gauge train until 1937 when the line was discontinued. 200 pound blocks were loaded into cleaned-out cattle cars. It is a private fishing lake at the present time. Was probably named for the crystal-clear ice.
Postmaster was George W. Wood, as recorded June 28,1892, and discontinued November 2, 1894, with mail sent to the Pine Post Office.
Was a stop on the Colorado & Southern Railroad before the Cliff stop. Discontinued in 1937.
History not available
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Cub Creek & South Park Road (1875)
This road was built from the mouth of Cub Creek Canyon to the canyon head, then continued southwest to join the Bradford Road.
Named from creek of the same name.
Cub Creek District was one of 4 copper mine districts in Jefferson County during the 1870s. Its mines included the Alps, Pocahontas and Woodbine.
A Denver Mountain Park of 549 acres acquired in 1922; it has picnic and recreational areas. It is accessible from Little Cub Creek Road and is named for that creek.
Built ca. 1913 by Jenne Cowan and a little girl neighbor, Bertha Marie Hebrew, who was 13 years old. Mary LaGrow bought it for her son, Curt, when he got married about 1920.
A town was placed on a 1903 map of Jefferson County with this name. Verification of a post office with this name can be found under Trumbull.
It was established April 11, 1896, at Trumball, discontinued February 19, 1908, and moved to Deckers. Origin of name unknown.
On the eastern slope of the hogback in the sandstone of the South Platte formation, fossilized leaves, marine fish scales, dinosaur tracks, and ripple marks are visible. On the western slope, dinosaur bones occur in the siltstone and sandstone members of the Morrison formation. Presently owned and protected by the conservancy “Friends of Dinosaur Ridge.”
This park has athletic fields, playground, outdoor barbecue, horseshoe, volleyball and lighted tennis courts.
This 3.60 acre park was the result of the 1974 bond election and was developed the following year. The Park was named for a small boy, Danny Kendrick, who was hit by a car and killed on Ward Road. The park’s development would establish it as an integral part of Ralston Creek greenbelt system. East and west of Ward Road were playgrounds, picnic areas and bike trails.
D.G. Dargin claim at the summit of the mountain. The mine is down to ten feet. December 29, 1883, Koch, Dargin, and Bellan make a mineral strike near the head of Dead Man’s Gulch. There is a prominent outcropping of a crevice containing copper and silver in the form of oxides and sulphurites.
January 26, 1884, at the Dargin Mine the rock is colored with malachite and azurite, green and blue, with copper pyrite available.
October 4, 1884, Dargin has located a zinc mine in Chimney Gulch. March,4,1883, Dargin name the Chimney Gulch lode “The Campion.” The shaft is 100 feet down and the ore rich in iron carbonate.
November 14,1888, D.G. Dargin is listed as Golden City Marshal.
Located in Water District #7, under Priority date, 5-11-1878, this ditch originates from the north bank of Leyden Creek. Claimants in 1884 were Mary A. Davis and Charles M. Brown. Mary A. Davis, daughter of pioneer Harpin Davis, was a property owner in Section 4, Township 3 South, Range 69 West, east of present-day Oak Street.
Located in Water District #7, under Priority #12 (5-26-1865). This ditch diverts water out of the north bank of Ralston Creek. Claimants in 1884 were area farmers Charles Rand, Charles M. Brown & Harpin Davis. The ditch was abandoned January 30, 1981.
A 1930s Davis Brothers Florists’ calendar proudly displays and aerial photograph of the company’s office, warehouse, and greenhouses with a caption boasting, “One hundred sixty-seven thousand square feet of glass devoted exclusively to the growing of carnations of superior quality. Grown a mile nearer the sun with keeping qualities miles ahead.” Davis Brothers also had 30 consigned growers whose production they handled. Greenhouses were located throughout the Wheat Ridge area, some owned by former Davis employees, such as Homer Hill at 7901 W. 32nd Avenue, who was awarded numerous national prizes as a premier carnation grower. At first heat was provided by coal stoked furnaces and later natural gas. The flowers were shipped by rail and trucks all over the nation, as well as abroad. Air freight replaced rail and truck. At one time flowers were the largest airlift commodity out of Denver’s Stapleton Airport. Davis Brothers Florists was dissolved in 1979.
Graves Blacksmith Shop, built in late 1860s, was the first building at this site. It was razed to service a new mode of transportation, “the iron horse.” A. L. Davis completed the first portion of his building in April, 1916. It was occupied by Davis Garage, a show room for Dodge and Chevrolet automobiles on the ground floor, and apartments on the second story. A second addition was built in 1921 and a third addition, minus a second floor, was constructed in 1927. The building exists in 1994 and is named for this enterprising entrepreneur, A.L. Davis.
The City of Arvada acquired the land from John F. Fuller & Co. and leased it to North Jeffco Recreation and Park District for 99 years in 1967, and deeded it to North Jeffco, April 12, 1968. This action was signed by Mayor Richard Bartlett. The park was developed in 1975 as a result of the 1974 City of Arvada Bond Election. Additional land was provided by the developer and a shelter house was constructed. The park was named because it was close to an early street, Davis Lane, the street on which pioneer Harpin Davis lived. The current name of Davis Lane is now Oak Street.
Claimant in 1936 was Mabel S. Davy. Original construction in 1905 was by Laura Randall. Located in Water District #7, this reservoir is filled with water diverted from Clear Creek via Farmers High Line Canal through Hyatt Lake and South Branch Lateral. Appears on State Engineer’s “Water Rights Report.”
Architect John Ross designed this c.1880 1-1/2 story, Victorian, frame, high gabled, house with shiplap siding. It has a left side front entrance and small rectangle windows. John Ross had a lumber business in Evergreen and sold lumber all the way down Bear Creek to Denver. He had lumber mills along Bear Creek. It was his employees and business associates that used this guest house. In 1921, it was purchased by the Pillar of Fire Church and used intermittently as a rental residence and to house the church’s pre-school nursery. Since the late 1980s it has been a tea room with a quaint outside garden and a antique shop on the attic, “Deacon’s Attic Antique Shop.” In front was “Deacon’s Bench,” a passenger pick-up for the stage.
Dean’s Grocery Store built ca. 1890 by John Ross. There was a dance hall upstairs, and on Sunday it was the Episcopal Sunday School taught by Mrs. Mary Chattie Ross, John’s wife. From 1924 to 1946 it was Peinze’s Grocery Store.
Built in 1955. Originally named Smith Alameda Elementary and for the geographical area. In 1983 it was named to honor Mary and Ilene Deane, sisters who worked 25 years for the school district. They both began teaching in 1957 and retired in 1982.
A Denver Mountain Park of 420 acres acquired by condemnation in 1919 for $25,000 from heirs of French pioneers Jerome and Mary de Disse. The Evergreen Dam was built on the property in 1926-1927. The Park features fireplaces, picnic areas, shelter house, golf course, skating in winter, fishing , volleyball, club and warming house. Early photos show hay meadows and ranch buildings in the area now covered by Evergreen Lake. The spelling of the name varies. The park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF645) on November 15, 1990.
This creek created Deer Creek Canyon and flows into the Platte River.
Located two miles south of Southwest Plaza and one-half mile west on West Columbine Drive, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It was built in 1980 with a capacity of 842. It was named for Deer Creek which runs through the area.
The one room school house on the bank of Deer Creek was built in 1883 and was closed in 1950. The first teacher was Mrs. McWilliams, followed by Mrs. Bill Allen. The pupils who rode to school on horseback were children of local farmers and workers at Denver’s Waterworks at Waterton and the Great Western Sugar Company beet dump on the Platte River. There were 15 to 20 pupils in eight grades. The school house was moved a short distance to the west from its original location and serves as the visitors’ center for the Chatfield Arboretum of the Denver Botanic Gardens.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Deer Creek Wagon Road (1867)
This road was built along Deer Creek. The lower four-mile-segment from the hogback was constructed by the Deer Creek Wagon Road & Lumbering Company in 1867. The upper portion followed Fall River to reach Pleasant Park and subsequently Bradford Junction (Conifer). The steep, treacherous nature of the Fall Road discouraged travel, and it was replaced in 1920 by the High Grade Road that climbed the steep southern slope of Sampson Mountain. Local residents built the lower half of the High Grade Road with hand tools, and the county agreed to construct the upper portion.
It was probably named for the creek which formed the gulch.
Application for Post Office by George Parmelee in 1870. Route from Denver to Buckskin Joe Postmaster from Fairplay, CO issued the application.
South Fork Deer Creek runs through Deermont. Had a number of residences about 4 miles NW of Waterton on 1980 survey map.
Located in Water District #7, the appropriation date January 1, 1965, is for 5.9 acre feet filled by seepage. Probably named for land owner.
Origin of name unknown.
Built ca. 1875. This house was also used as a railroad crew house; later it was a rental. Grover Denbow rented it when he came to Morrison with his family in 1912. Denbow was a trapper, among other jobs. It was also called Orchard Place.
Built in 1958. Re-named Olive Dennison who was the first principal of the school. Originally known as the West Lakewood Elementary.
A need for public transportation led Crown Hill to secure a charter for this trolley in November, 1910. This electric line ran from 29th Avenue and Sheridan Boulevard west to Wadsworth Boulevard, plus a short segment of track south on Wadsworth for the car to enter and then proceed east, back to Sheridan. This was a “jitney” double ended car so it had no need for “turn around.” It normally operated only until early evening. Funeral trains ran straight through (no stops) with extra cars used if needed. The last run was on Memorial Day, May 30, 1928. It was replaced by a small bus.
The electric power, night time storage and maintenance was supplied by Denver Tramway Company.
When Crown Hill Cemetery wanted trolley service they built their own electric line from the end of the Tramway Line at West 29th Ave. and Sheridan Blvd. to West 29th Ave. and Wadsworth Blvd., a distance of a 1.5 miles. This line was chartered in November, 1910 and continued to operate until May 30, 1928 when a small bus replaced it. Maintenance and electric power were supplied by the Denver Tramway. It was a “jitney” run with one car which was a double ended car and avoided a need for a turnaround. Funeral trains operated straight through to Crown Hill Cemetery as did a few cars providing extra service. The car was stored in the north division barn. It normally operated until early evening.
The electric railway was in operation in 1903 to the Leyden coal mines. In 1913, this line was absorbed by the Denver City Tramway company. By 1950, all electrical tramway systems were abandoned and the tracks removed. Later, Remington Arms Plant Spur, from a point near Morningside Station to the Federal Center, was constructed at federal government expense by the trackage rights over the Denver and the Intermountain Railway system. It was later taken over by the United States government in 1941.
This railway was incorporated in 1901, for the purpose of hauling coal from the Leyden Mines to the Denver City Tramway Company’s new power generation plant. Track gauge was 42″ matching that of the Denver Tramway Company. Overhead conductors were installed for electrical operation, and power-cars made from standard gondolas were equipped with motor trucks and controls. A standard third gauge was added between Arvada and Leyden to accommodate Colorado and Southern cars. A branch to Golden, bringing the total track at Lakeside, was completed in 1904. In 1913, the Denver and Northwestern Railway and the Denver and Intermountain Electric Railway were absorbed by the Denver City Tramway Company. The routes from Sheridan Boulevard to Clear Creek Junction were: car 82 to Leyden; car 84 to Golden; and car 83 to Arvada. The Denver City Tramway Company was discontinued in1950.
One of Colorado’s outstanding railroads, the Denver and Rio Grande Western, absorbed the Denver and Salt Lake Western in 1934. The distance between Denver and Salt Lake City was shortened by 175 miles and put Arvada on a Trans-Continental mainline. By April 24, 1983, the last privately operated long distance passenger train, joined the government subsidized Amtrak agency.
February 5, 1891, Denver Coal Company mine began sinking its shaft . By January 1892 the shaft was down 500 feet. First level at 250 feet runs 72 feet to eight foot coal vein and 100 feet more to a 13 foot nine inch coal vein. Second level ran at 332 foot depth, third level at 417 foot depth and fourth level at 500 foot depth. Erected buildings included shaft house, bunk house, and boarding house. Output: 50 tons of coal daily.
November 1893 mine’s capacity is 200 tons daily, but only 50 tons daily produced due to the work market for coal due to high production of northern Colorado’s coal field.
April 1894, coal mine fire had been checked and 40 men are producing 100 tons of coal daily.
The Denver Federal Center was originally part of a large ranch known as “Down Dale” owned by Major Jacob Downing (1830- 1907). The Thomas S. Hyden Realty Company purchased the ranch in 1913. Lakewood’s quiet rural setting continued to exist until World War II. A few farmsteads and homes dotted the otherwise undeveloped landscape, and Sixth Avenue was a two lane gravel country road. The Hyden Ranch was selected as the site of the Denver Ordnance Plant and in January 1941 the federal government purchased the 2,100-acre parcel. At the end of the war the facility was declared as surplus and urned over to the Reconstruction Finance Corporation.
The growing need for additional federal office space eventually led government officials to convert the ordnance plant to offices. The first agency to move in was the Veteran’s Administration in February 1946 followed by the Bureau of Reclamation. Today, 27 agencies with over 8,000 employees have office or storage facilities on the Federal Center grounds. Although many changes have occurred over the years, the Denver Federal Center retains many reminders of its rural and manufacturing past.
Prepared by Christine Pfap, Historian, and Roy Winigate, Historian, with the Bureau of Reclamation. August, 1991.
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers designed and built this 36,000 sq. foot, two-level square underground facility in 1969. Its lower level is completely below ground, and its upper level is partially below ground, with three feet of earth fill covering its roof. All that can be seen of the structure from its exterior is its concrete entrance and a few pipes and antennas which rise from a large grassed mound to the west of the entrance. Upon entering the building’s lobby immediately to the north, is a set of doors which leads to a tunnel connecting Building #710 with #710-A. West of these doors, stairs lead down to a large steel vault door. The interior of the upper level of the building had the appearance of an office building without windows, with a large operations room at the center. The lower level houses dormitories, medical facility rooms, mechanical systems, storage, and a kitchen. Building 710 was added to the National Register of Historic Places on March 2, 2000 (5JF.1048.14).
Designed by the architect firm of Smith, Hinchman & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, and built by Broderick & Gorden in 1941. This irregular shaped 224,776 sq. foot building during World War II manufactured .30 caliber ammunition and heavy artillery fuze. Current use is government offices, and labs. The structure has one- and two-story elements have a flat concrete roof treated with built up tar and gravel with two-foot overhangs. Most of the building’s exterior is clad with brick. The west elevation of the building was predominately a two-story facade. On the east elevation, the exterior of the first story was dominated by a loading deck and loading bays which serviced railroad tracks. The interior of the structure was originally a large open expanse which served the manufacturing process. A mezzanine level above the main floor looked down on the manufacturing floor. The first major interior to the building 56 began in the mid-to-late 1940s to accommodate the Bureau of Reclamation’s Engineering Center. Part of the central clerestory was extended to a hight of 50 feet to accommodate a large 5,000,000 pound testing machine which could exert pressures on an object, or test tensile strength of objects. This machine, which extends 50 feet above and 16 feet below the floor of the building, has been in continuous use since 1946. In 1967, a small brick addition was constructed on the south elevation and in 1981, the windows on the central clerestory were replaced with insulated panels. The north elevations windows were covered in 1984 and south and west elevations in 1995.
This 18,765 sq. foot one-story brick building was built in 1941 as a storage building and later was used for Kaiser Industries Administration offices at the main area of the Denver Ordnance Plant during World War II. Original windows consisted of mostly continuous rows of steel – sash, awning type windows set about seven feet high on the north, south, and west elevations. Original plans show that the east elevation had a small concrete and brick loading deck with a single loading bay. The original building had a wood frame penthouse centered on the roof. In 1963, the majority of the windows on the north, south and west elevations were removed and replaced with insulated panels and new openings with aluminum sash windows were created beneath these windows. In that year, the existing wood roof penthouse was removed and replaced with a larger one of steel construction. In 1979, the one-story tee addition was added to the south elevation, adding to the buildings area by 30 percent. Major interior alterations were also included to the original building as part of this project. The building is presently used as government offices and labs.
This 245,730 sq. foot building was built in 1941 for the manufacture of .30 caliber ammunition and heavy artillery fuze and boosters. This Building is irregular in plan and massing, having one and two – story elements with most of the exterior clad in brick. The west elevation of the building had a predominately two-story facade, with two large clerestory, or monitor sections. On the east elevation, the exterior of the first story was dominated by a loading deck and loading bays which serviced railroad tracks. The interior of the structure was originally a large open expanse which served the manufacturing process. A mezzanine level above the main floor looked down on the main floor. The building experienced major interior renovations during the late 1940s when the USGS housed some of its offices in the building. In 1970, exterior renovations began to replace the original brick surface with a new brick facing. In 1976, the building was severely damaged by fire. Following the fire, major interior renovations were necessary and exterior renovation continued to remove original fabric as well as adding additional new windows, and brick screening of new mechanical systems.
Designed by the architectural firm Smith, Hinchman, & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, this 226,175 sq. ft. steel frame building with brick and concrete block walls was built for the U.S. Army by Broderick & Gordon in 1941. During World War II the structure housed the manufacture of .30 caliber ammunition and heavy artillery fuze. This was one of the five main manufacturing buildings associated with the Denver Ordnance Plant. Originally the building had the appearance of an assemblage of rectangles with brick walls which contained large expanses of steel sash windows. The west elevation of the building was a predominately two-story facade, with two large clerestory, or monitor sections, and a series of ventilator pipes piercing an otherwise unobstructed roof. On the east elevation the exterior of the first story was dominated by a loading dock and bays which were serviced by railroad tracks. The core of the interior of the structure was originally a large open expanse which served the manufacturing process. A mezzanine level above the main floor looked down on the main floor. The first major interior renovations to the building began during the mid-to-late 1940s to accommodate the Bureau of Reclamation’s Engineering Center. During this time, space was partitioned to create offices.
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, this 376,335 sq. foot building was built by Broderick & Gordon in 1941 for the U.S. Army’s Dept. of Ordnance. This building differs from the other historic main manufacturing buildings on the Denver Federal Center in that its structural system is of wood frame construction instead of steel. It has a concrete foundation with concrete interior piers and brick and concrete block walls. Its original purpose was for the manufacture of .30 caliber cartridge cases, experimental steel cartridge cases and heavy artillery fuze. The building originally had a floor area of 405,002 sq. feet, and its central are had a high ceiling with a mezzanine level. Other sections of the building was a combination of one- and two-story elements. Originally the building had the appearance of an assemblage of rectangles with brick walls which contained large expanses of steel sash windows. The west elevation of the building consisted of a predominately two-story facade, with two large clerestory, or monitor sections. On the east elevation, the exterior of the first story was dominated by a loading dock and loading bays which were serviced by railroad tracks. The building was almost completely destroyed by fire in 1947, and a large percentage of the exterior, and nearly the entire interior was greatly modified during rebuilding. In 1964, most of the remaining steel sash windows were replaced with aluminum sash windows and many windows and door openings were bricked in. Also, that same year a new front entrance was constructed. Another fire damaged the building in the 1970’s, after which further interior rebuilding was necessary. The building’s present use is government offices and storage.
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, this 132,830 sq. foot one-story building was built by Broderick & Gordon in 1942 for the U.S. Army Dept. Of Ordnance. The building’s original use was to house the Denver Ordnance Plant Tool & Gage Shop and the General Foods Corporation C-Ration production. The Original structure was a one-story building with a concrete foundation, concrete interior piers, and a structural system of reinforced concrete members. The exterior finish of the building was brick, and windows were steel-sash awnings set in concrete lintels and sills. The roof was concrete with a two-foot overhanging eaves with a roof treatment of tar and gravel. Prior to the completion of the building a small wood frame addition was added to the south elevation. The first major change to the building was made in 1955, when the top row of the building’s window panes were removed and filled with cement-asbestos board. In addition, bricks below the original windows were removed, and new metal-sash windows were installed on all elevations. The south and east elevation addition to the building was finished in 1978, nearly doubling the size of the original building. It currently houses offices of the General Services Administration (GSA).
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, this 21,655 sq. foot one-story building was built by Broderich & Gordon in 1941 for the U.S. Army Dept. of Ordnance. This building served as the lead shop the Main Manufacturing section of the Denver Ordnance Plant during W.W. II. The structure was built with a reinforced concrete foundation and piers and reinforced concrete frame, floors, and roof. Original windows consisted of eight-foot high continuous rows of steel-sash, awning type windows set about six-feet from the ground on the north and west elevations, and a four-foot high continuous set of steel-sash awning windows set about eight feet from the ground on the east elevation, with four leading bay doors spaced evenly beneath them. The south entrance served as the main entrance, with a single set of double steel frame doors with a double lighted transom. Major alterations were performed in 1967, when new brick pilasters and aluminum frame doors and windows were also replaced with insulated panels in this year. Several other windows and doors were filled in with brick at this time, and brick screening walls for mechanical systems were installed in 1967. In 1979, handicapped provisions were added to both the interior and exterior of the structure. The buildings present use is government offices and photo lab.
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman, & Gryles of Detroit Michigan, and built by Broderick & Gordon in 1941, this 13,200 sq. foot, one-story brick walled structure was originally used for storage. The north and west elevations have window openings with concrete cells which start at about 7 feet high, but which have all been filled in with brick. The majority of the south elevation windows also have been filled in with brick. The east elevation’s loading dock had been inclosed with brick.
This 249,000 sq. ft., brick building built in 1941, is irregular in plan and massing, having one- and two-story elements. Its original use was for the manufacture of .30 caliber cartridge cases and heavy artillery shells. The west elevation of the building consisted of a predominately two-story facade with two large clerestory, or monitor sections. On the east elevation, the exterior of the first story was dominated by a loading dock and loading bays which serviced the railroad tracks. The interior core of the building was originally a large open expanse for manufacturing with a mezzanine level overlooking the main floor. In 1946, there was a major renovation for the offices of the Veterans Administration. Also, records of the veterans residing in the mountain division were housed here. In 1965, the building underwent major remodeling which included the removal of windows on the north and east elevations. Most of these window openings were covered with insulated panels, but many were also filled in with masonry blocks and stucco. At this time, other extant windows were replaced with modern aluminum sash windows. In 1978, a 106′ x 50′, brick, one-story addition was built on the south elevation for use by the U.S. Geologic Survey. Also, several brick screening walls were erected at this time, enclosing open areas between the irregular sections of the building’s west elevation.
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman & Griles of Detroit, Michigan, this 51,110 sq. foot building was built by Broderick & Gordon in 1941. This building served as the administrative offices and for the US Army Dept. of Ordnance health center for the Denver Ordnance Plant during World War II. This building is a basic “T” plan, two-story structure with brick exterior walls. The roof is concrete with a two-foot overhanging eaves. The main entrance is located at the top of the “T” on the southern elevation, to the left of that elevation’s center. Relatively few renovations have been made to this building. In 1978, handicapped provisions were made to the entrance and lavatories.
This one-story, 2,250 sq. ft., brick building was constructed in 1941. This structure was a Gate House for the Denver Ordnance Plant. Originally, the building was a basic “L” plan and except for the plywood covering the east entrance, the exterior of the older, southern section has not been altered since World War II. Originally, the north elevation of the section had a storage area covered by an open frame roof. In 1969, this roofed area was replaced with the current brick section. The building’s present use is for governmental offices and labs.
Designed by the architectural firm of Smith, Hinchman & Grylis of Detroit, Michigan, this 74,710 sq. foot building was built by Broderick & Gordon in 1941 for the U.S. Army’s Dept. of Ordnance. This building is a basic “L” plan with small irregularities. It is a one-story structure with brick exterior walls. The main entrance is at the west end of a small southward extension of the “L”. Its original use was a ballistics proofing range. Originally designed to have nine firing ranges at its north end, the building was added to in 1942, to increase the number of ranges to 13. The longest of these firing ranges was in an underground tunnel which crossed under an existing road, terminating at the underground targets approximately 90 yards to the north of the northern edges of the building, giving the range a total length of 175 yards. Behind each of the targets was a large earth mound to stop stray bullets. The target ranges were removes during the 1950s, when the building was converted for use as office space, and in 1967, including the addition of the vertical metal louvers, and the filling of several window openings with bricks. At this time nearly the entire interior of the building was renovated.
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers built this underground, single-level, 2,500 sq. foot structure in 1960. This building is a metal quonset constructed of deep corrugated metal with ribs 10 to 12 inches deep. It is partially below ground, with several feet of earth fill covering the top of this structure. The exterior appears as a large rectangular earth mound having four vent stacks at the top. The north elevation of the structure has a small front-gabled wood frame section about 10 feet long which covers the north elevation entrance to the bunker. The structure is abandoned and its interior bare. There is a small wood frame enclosure on the west side of the interior. This was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 16, 1999 (5JF.1048.13).
Designed by Smith Hinchman &Inc., Architects and Engineers of Detroit, Michigan, and built in 1941. The guard tower is 10 feet by 10 feet at the base. The upper portion projects two feet over the base on the right hand side. The single room at the top of the tower has bullet proof windows and metal sheeting, also bullet proof, below the windows. Tear-drop shaped openings are found on each view of the metal sheeting. The openings were to allow the guard to fire from the tower. A spot light still occupies the roof. Siding was added to the tower base in the 1950s.
Built in 1941, the water towers were incorporated into the first phase of the Denver Ordnance Plant’s construction.
The stage forded Elk Creek at this location in the 1870s and 1880s and was named for the route the line travelled.
A parks system owned by the City and County of Denver, consisting of over 8,600 acres in 24 named and developed parks and about 5,000 acres in 24 undeveloped properties, nearly all in Jefferson County. The famed and unique parks system includes a variety of recreational facilities, scenery, elevations, fishing, 1000 acres of buffalo and elk pasture, a golf course, and the spectacular Red Rocks Park. It also includes 24 wilderness areas and 20 mountain peaks.
John Brisben Walker and Mayor Robert Speer conceived the system, which opened in 1913 supported by a one-half mill levy. George Cranmer as Manager of Parks strongly supported the system in the 1930s and 1940s. Named after the City of Denver.
This aqueduct was built by the Denver Water Board to carry water from the Platte River to Marston Lake.
Preparations for the United States’ entry into World War II brought sudden changes to the area. In December, 940 the Federal Government announced its intention to build a munitions manufacturing and testing plant in Denver. The Hyden Ranch property was selected as the site for the Denver Ordnance Plant and in January, 1941, the government concluded the purchase of a 2,100-acre parcel. Part of this site became the Federal Center at the close of the war.
Plans for the ordnance plant proceeded quickly. Within the same month that the land purchase was completed, the Federal Government contracted with the Remington Arms Company to operate the facility. A month later a ground breaking ceremony took place with great fanfare. Before long, heavy equipment had graded the fields and foundations were being laid for a large complex of manufacturing structures. Over 6,000 people were employed in the enormous constructions project. By October 1941, the first phase of the plant was completed at a cost of $28 million dollars.
Between 1941 and 1943, 92 buildings were constructed at the ordnance plant. By the end of the war, the facility consisted of nearly 200 structures, many of which are still in use today as federal government offices and labs.
At first, the Denver Ordnance Plant manufactured only caliber .30 ammunition, including ball, armor piercing, tracer and incendiary rounds. It was the only facility in the country to produce caliber .30 ammunition exclusively. The plant employed 10,000 people and was capable of making 4 million rounds a day.
Production peaked in the summer of 1943. The number of employees had risen to 19,500 and they were turning out an astounding 6.25 million rounds daily. The plant was in operation 24 hours a day and included dining facilities, and a fire and police station, among other services. A railroad traversed the plant delivering materials needed to manufacture the ammunition and for transporting it to distribution points throughout the country.
In May 1944, Kaiser Industries was awarded a contract to manufacture heavy artillery shells ad the Ordnance Plant. Following the installation of new equipment, production of 8 inch and 155 millimeter shells began. Over subsequent months additional contracts were awarded to Kaiser, Remington Arms and General Foods. The latter company operated a C-ration assembly and package facility.
The end of hostilities in the summer of 1945 brought an immediate end to production at the Ordnance Plant. By October, only 600 people were still working at the site. The facility was declared surplus property and turned over to the Reconstruction Finance Corporation.
Prepared by Christine Pfap, Historian, and Roy Winigate, Historian, with the Bureau of Reclamation. August, 1991
Arvada’s first industry was incorporated in 1907 as the Denver Shale Brick Company. J. J. Cooke, A. J. Fowler and W. H. Coon were the officers of the new industry. Clay was extracted from the ground May to October and the yard was closed for the winter. The stable area remained open, and bricks continued to be sold to contractors year-round. Several buildings in Denver, including the early library at Civic Center and buildings in Arvada used the brick until the quality of clay became unsatisfactory. The Arvada Shale Brick Company went out of business in 1924.
District 49 was formed from the northern part of District No. 6. Rufus Belgin, youngest son of pioneer Solomon Belgin, gave the three-acre site for the school. When the school was no longer needed in 1904, it was deeded back to Rufus Belgin. Half of the school still stands on the Belgin property and the other half was given to Camp Id-Ra-Ha-Je and moved to Bailey, Colo.
from Cultural Contexts report, 2004
Denver, Auraria & Colorado Wagon Road/Mount Vernon Road (1859)
This toll road was incorporated by Joseph Casto, Horner Fellos, Christian Dorsey and Solomon Shrop to travel from Denver-Auraria to Saratoga West (Hot Sulphur Springs) on the Blue Fork of the Colorado River. It climbed Mount Vernon Canyon and branched southwest through Bergen Park and Bradford Junction, where it connected at Bradford Junction (Conifer) to continue on into Park County. In 1860, it was the most frequently used route in the county, with up to fifty wagons passing daily up the canyon.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004
Denver, Auraria & South Park Wagon Road (1859)
This toll road was incorporated by J. H. Cochran, Samuel Brown, and Joseph Brown. It originated at Denver-Auraria and ran south to Piedmont (later the Bradford townsite) in the north end of Ken Caryl Valley. It was intended to reach South Park. Apparently the incorporators built the road southwest from Denver, but the west leg from Bradford into the mountains was constructed by Major Robert Bradford as the Denver, Bradford & Blue River Road.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Denver, Bradford & Blue River Road (1861)
Major Robert Bradford developed this toll road to access Park County and points west. He received a charter from Colorado Territory on October 11, 1861 for the road, which went from Denver via Bradford on to Hamilton to reach Breckenridge. Bradford‚Äôs partners were George D. Bayaud, Luther A. Cole, Daniel McCleery, J. W. McIntyre, A. McPhadden, and D. C. Vance. The road scaled ‚Äúterrible‚Äù Bradford Hill, dropped into South Turkey Creek Canyon near Twin Forks, where it continued west and joined the road from Bergen Park at Bradford Junction (Conifer) to continue on into South Park. Toll fees were $1 per wagon and team, each additional span 25 cents, horsemen 10 cents, livestock 5 cents, sheep 1 cent. No toll was charged for people traveling to church services or a funeral.
This line was named in 1889 after having been called the South Park Division of the Union Pacific since 1881. It was sold to the Colorado & Southern Railroad in 1898.
Constructed in 1878 and became the South Park Division of the Union Pacific Railroad in 1881. It was reorganized in 1889 and named Denver, Leadville & Gunnison Railroad, sold to the Colorado & Southern Railroad in 1898 and continued to operate until the line was discontinued in April 1937. From a 1922 timetable, some of the stops listed in Jefferson County were Waterton, South Platte, Buffalo, Pine Grove, Crystal Lake, and Crossons.
As early as 1868 a route had been made which covered part of the line’s subsequent construction. The survey envisioned a railroad extending from Denver to Santa Fe, New Mexico, through South Park along the Arkansas River for a short stretch and then to the mining districts in the San Juans in southwestern Colorado, and from that corner of the State to the Pacific Ocean. In April 1874 actual laying of the rails began and by late June the line was completed to Morrison and two locomotives began regular service. The principle freight hauled out of Morrison consisted of stone, lumber and a little coal. By 1875 there were two regular passenger trains each way between Denver and Morrison. Among the founders of this enterprise where Governor John Evans, who was the railroad’s first president; Joseph Bates, Jerome Chaffee, W.S. Cheesman, Frederick A. Clark, Henry Crow, Leonard H. Eicholtz, S.H. Elbert, Bela M. Hughs, George W. Kassler, Charles B. Kountze, David H. Moffat, and F.Z. Saloman.
In 1878, the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad built the narrow gauge Garfield Branch to the Garfield Quarry and Satanic Mine site. Bandimere Speedway and Interstate C-470 have destroyed portions of the road bed’s right-of-way.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Denver, Turkey Creek & South Park Wagon Road (1866)
This toll road was built through lower Turkey Creek Canyon to compete with the Denver, Bradford & Blue River Wagon Road. It joined the Bradford road in South Turkey Creek Canyon near Twin Forks to continue through Bradford Junction (Conifer) and on to South Park and points west. It became the primary route from Denver to South Park in 1867.
Built in 1881-1882, but never used, by David H. Moffat, this 8200-foot-long railroad grade consisting of a large earthen berm varying in height and width from a couple hundred feet high on the southeastern portions, where some sections are not extant, to approximately 10′ to 15′ high and 20′ wide in some areas of the northwestern corner of the plant site. The extant portions of the railroad berm are located on the gently rolling plains on the northwestern side of the plant. The berm transects several tributaries of the headwaters of intermittent Rock Creek. In many areas, this has created small ponds, which may have functioned as stock ponds. There are stands on pinon pine, rare to the plant site located along the berm.
Now abandoned, this ditch diverted water from Farmer’s Highline Canal and ran northeast into Westminster in Adams County. Built by the first resident of Westminster, Pleasant Despain, to supply water to settlers in the area. Records of the State Engineer show water was adjudicated to “Despain Dry Creek Feeder” in October 9, 1895, appropriation date February 22, 1897. This ditch is also shown on 1915 “Map of Denver and Surroundings,” by R.W. Gelder, C.E. of Greeley.
This tributary (right hand) of Bear Creek (mouth), S32, T4S, R70W, is about 1.5 miles long and is .5 mile west of Idledale. Denver Mountain Parks Map, 1924 (1939). Devil’s Garden Gulch takes its name from the lower .5 mile of the gulch made impassable by rock formations.
A tributary of Bear Creek which joins the latter just above Idledale. Name source unknown.
Built in 1964. Named for the pioneer Devinney family who settled in Jefferson County in 1865.
McIntyre Gulch starts up in the Green Mountain Estate area and flows down towards the Federal Center, across towards Carr Street where it converges with Lakewood Gulch.
A Denver mountain park of 160 acres acquired in 1922. It has fireplaces, picnic areas, and hiking trails, and is one mile south of Evergreen. Name source unknown.
“Dinosaur Trail, at foot of mountain from which fossil monsters were taken for eastern museum, connects Morrison and Golden, eight miles. Park of the Red Rocks, one-half mile northwest of Morrison. Three miles northwest is the entrance to Mount Vernon Canyon; state road leads to Genesee Park. Two and one-half miles south of Morrison is the entrance to Turkey Creek Canyon, the main road to Shaffer’s Crossing and Bailey’s on the South Platte.”
By 1946, the Disabled American Veterans purchased the property from the Vasa Building Club. Members of the purchasing committee were: Clyde Beugley, Robert Frazell, Robert Wilson, Wally Whiting, Carl Hood, and Robert Montgomery. The DAV Chapter #22 was named for George G. Klumker, age 19, first known casualty from Arvada killed in World War II For years the Chapter received their mail in Arvada. When Wheat Ridge was incorporated the property was under the jurisdiction of Wheat Ridge, which changed the mailing address to Wheat Ridge, 80033.
Named for Thomas Dix, an early area homesteader.
Dog Hollow was the popular name for the lower, and less reputable, portion of downtown Golden, in the area of Ford Street just south of Clear Creek. The Golden Eagle (future Golden Globe) newspaper was established here by John Sarell, and is the object of this name’s sole written historical account. This area, while lively into the 1880s, died out and became a ghetto, gradually dismantled until the obliteration of the last of its buildings in 1936 to make way for the Central School.
It was a stop on the Colorado & Southern Railroad and named for the rock formation at its peak.
The first postmaster recorded in July 1880 was Frank B. Ross,who served until 1880. On March 1, 1886, a Ulysses S.Grant was registered. This entry had to have been made by a namesake or prankster since the former United States president and Union Army general died the year previously, July 23, 1885. The office was discontinued May 11,1886.
This station served as a combination depot and living quarters while in service. The railroad line was discontinued in 1938.
Obviously named for the physical appearance of its twin rocky peaks. Located about 1 1/4 miles northwest of Windy Point on US Hwy. 285. Presently the site for communication towers.
In 1937, this was one of the first Evergreen subdivisions planned for year-round homes. Dr. Josepha Douglas, wife of Canon Douglas, developed of 34 one-acre home sites just above Main Street. Named after the Douglas family.
The Denver Federal Center was originally part of a large ranch known as “Down Dale” owned by the prominent Colorado pioneer Major Jacob Downing (1830- 1907). Downing was a noted lawyer and judge who achieved fame as a soldier during the Civil War and also at the infamous Sand Creek Massacre. In the late 1860s, Downing acquired a 2,000-acre parcel of land east of Green Mountain and proceeded to irrigate and fence the property. He planted fruit trees and sugar beets, and introduced the first alfalfa, quail and Hereford herd to Colorado. He also built a race track on his ranch where he raced his prized thoroughbred Arabian horses. Nothing remans of his ranch.
The irrigation ditch which runs through the Federal Center dates to the Downing years. In 1974, the Agricultural Ditch Company is still in existence and maintains the ditch on a regular basis.
The masonry flume which carries the irrigation ditch over McIntyre Gulch in the southeast quadrant of the Federal Center probably dates to the mid 1870s and is the oldest known structure on the Center. The aqueduct has been repaired a number of times as evident by the variety of building materials.
Jacob Downing died December 1, 1907 and his famous ranch lands were purchased from his estate in February, 1913, by Thomas S. Hyden Realty Company, of which William F. Hyden was then president. Over the years, the Company added to the Down Dale property until it owned a prospering 6,300 acre cattle ranch. The Hyden lands stretched from Garrison to Rooney Road, and from West Sixth Avenue south to Alameda Parkway. It appears that the small pond just west of Kipling know as Downing Reservoir was constructed by Hyden. Photographs from the late 1930s show the pond with an array of farm buildings located to the south of it.
Prepared by Christine Pfap, Historian, and Roy Winigate, Historian, with the Bureau of Reclamation. August, 1991
Claimant in 1936 was W.H. Hayden, ASD successor in interest to the Thomas S. Hayden Realty Company. Filled from Clear Creek via agricultural ditch. Construction prior to 1892.
Drake Junior High School was built in 1959 and was named for Obediah Drake, superintendent of Arvada School District No. 2 from 1902-1919
Probably named for the area it drains.
Dry Creek Valley School in District No. 25 existed in 1912 and was named because it was near Dry Creek.
Dry Gulch begins below 13th Avenue and Harlan Street to connect with Lakewood Gulch.
Built in 1919, this is a one-story, wood frame, 800 sq. ft., ranch style house.
Built in 1933, this 1 1/2 story frame, 585-square-foot bungalow has a side gable roof, dormers with shingle siding, exposed gable roof, and multi-paned windows.
Built in 1968. Named for Irene Z Dunstan. Mrs. Dunstan was a school principal and Assistant Superintendent of R-1 Schools.
Built circa 1923-24. Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003.
Built in ca. 1880. Mr. Fillmore Durham was the railroad station master, and his wife was the telegraph operator. He was killed on Bear Creek Avenue by a car in 1936 at age 84. The building is now used as a rental.
This creek starts in Section 28 and flows into Arapahoe County and the Platte River.
Located ten blocks east of Wadsworth on Coal Mine Avenue and six blocks south on Webster Street, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It was built in 1973 for grades K-6 with a capacity of 730. It was named for a creek that borders the school property.
Built in 1930. Designated a county landmark 12/1/2003.
East Arvada Junior High School was in operation from 1970 until 1984. The school building was demolished in 1984 for Cornerstone Mall. Originally this school was built as Arvada High School 1920. It became Arvada Junior High School in 1955, and East Arvada Junior High School in 1970. At various times, all three schools were located in the same building, at 7225 Ralston Road.
The bridge features two spans, 130 feet and 256 feet, of continuous and composite welder, steel, girders. But in 1973, this structure is one of the finer examples “haunch” construction, in which a girder is built deeper at the pier to handle the greater stress at this point. A technique used to a limited extent in the 1970s, it is generally not used today due to the expense of long span steel structures. The design received a 1972 Award of Merit from the American Institute of Steel Construction.
The 1936 claimant was Agricultural Ditch and Res. Co. filled from Clear Creek via the Golden or Welch Ditch and the Agricultural Res. Ditch (an extension and enlargement of the Golden or Welch Ditch). Construction began in February 1901 and was completed by the fall of 1910.
East School was built in 1885, and so named because it was in the east end of District No. 25.
1883, located by D.E. Harrison. Test mill run of ore assayed $20 per ton.
Natural geographical feature resembling a face facing the west in the Dakota Hogback. Named for Don Ebner, noted member of the Jefferson County Historical Commission in the 1980s and 1990s.
This is a working ranch at the present time. Echo Valley Ranch was homesteaded in c. 1871 and the present ranch house was built in 1894. It is occupied now by the owners, the Robert P Colwell family, who also own Denver property and reside there part of the year.
It was operated late in the 19th century under a joint district of Jefferson and Park Counties. Some pupils went 3 months to Echo Valley school and 3 months to Mendenhall School.
This coal mine operated from 1937 to 1940. There are two shafts leading to a coal seam of seven feet to 11 feet. Original owners were Merrill E. Shoup, C.V. Sargent, N.M. Driscoll.
Benjamin F. Eden built this house in 1895.
The stable was built in 1925 as part of the Olinger Indian Hills development using one wing of the old Benjamin F. Eden house as the rear portion. It was restored by the Woodticks Square Dance Group in the 1960s.
Settled by Benjamin Eden in 1888. Was the second tollgate keeper on the Turkey Creek Canyon Toll Road.
In 1890 there was nothing to indicate that a town would spring up on the Western edge of Sloan Lake. The only building at 25th Avenue and Sheridan Boulevard was a tavern used as an overnight stop for the stage coaches.
In 1860 there was not even a lake. Records prove that an early homesteader staked the area. Sloan, hoping to farm, drilled a well for water and distributed underground warm springs that created two lakes; Cooper and Sloan.
As families pushed across the Denver city limits at Sheridan Boulevard there were only a few fishing shacks, crude log gambling, and roadhouses (Ref 1). As Edgewater continued to grow, some residents were able to find employment at the amusement parks developed at Sloans Lake. Sloans Lake Resort and Manhattan Beach Park burned to the ground. Luna Park, built 15 years later, eventually faded away, but Edgewater marched on to become incorporated on August 18, 1901 (Ref 2).
The clinic was built in 1953 by doctors Parry and Beshore. The building contains facilities for three doctors and a dentist. In 1960, modern apartments were finished for rental on the second floor.
Edgewater Elementary, grades K-6, takes its name from the small community it serves, which apparently was so called because of its location west of Sloan’s Lake. The history is varied and lengthy, being the first school in an area called “Hog Hollow” or “Hog Ranch,” now the J.C.R.S. shopping center. It had its first and eighth grade graduation in 1889. In 1901, a two-room brick school was erected at 24th and Eaton, enlarged to four rooms in 1907, and an upper story was added in 1912. All high school students attended Wheat Ridge High School until 1924 when a new building was constructed south of the original school at a cost of $13,000. In 1937 a gym auditorium, office, and classrooms were added and would continue to house the Edgewater High School until Jefferson High was completed in 1957. The present school built in 1949 sits on a site at 24th and Depew. This site was acquired by the city in 1946 for a new Edgewater Elementary and Citizens Park. In 1954, the entrance lobby was enlarged and the south wing added. Updating continues at this site.
“In 1915 the Edgewater Volunteer Fire Department was founded and assigned station number thirteen by the State for being the thirteenth company in Colorado to organize. Contributions were solicited from residents to buy two hand pulled hose carts. Fire shacks were set up at 25th and Benton and 25th and Gray. Each Company had a two-wheel hose cart purchased with donations. In 1927, the Fire Department became motorized by purchasing a Dodge truck for $250.00. In 1932, the Fire Department moved to 25th and Gray, which was a remodeled version of the Old Baptist Church that would later become a modern town hall. In 1973, a new fire department was dedicated at 25th and Gray.”
In 1912 all high school students attended Wheat Ridge High School. The Edgewater Elementary was Edgewater’s only school until 1924 when a new building was constructed south of the original school at a cost of $13,000. In 1937 a gym, auditorium office, and classrooms were added. In 1955 Edgewater and Mountair High School students (included grades nine through twelve) were combined and moved when the new Jefferson High was completed in 1957 and opened in 1958. In 1961 the old Edgewater High School was used for overflow of seventh grade students from outlying districts. After the seventh grade school, it became an Adult Education Center. The north side was torn down, leaving the 1937 additions to be renovated for kitchen space and a large auditorium for serving meals and presenting programs. This space was used for the seniors who live in Edgewater Plaza, the adjoining high rise which was added on the north side and occupied in 1981.
The Edgewater Market Place has become the economic base of Edgewater. In January of 1981, the Edgewater Renewal Authority (ERA) Board was appointed to develop 35 acres bordered by Sheridan on the east and Depew on the west between 17th and 20th. The original businesses were re-located before the land was developed and became Edgewater Market Place. Anchor stores are Cub Foods and Builder’s Square, with a number of smaller businesses and eateries.
A Housing and Urban Development high-rise housing project for qualifying senior citizens opened in the summer of 1981 and is referred to as the “Plaza.” It contains 79 apartments on seven floors. The Plaza was built on land occupied by Edgewater High School prior to construction of the Jefferson High School in the late 1950s. After the high school students transferred to Jefferson High, the building became a school for seventh grade students only in 1961. They were bussed from as far way as West Arvada. Following the seventh graders, it became an adult education facility. When adult education was moved to Fruitdale School, the building was empty for a period of time and the original building was torn down to make room for the Plaza. However, the gym (auditorium), office, and classrooms to the east of the gym remained and were remodeled to serve a variety of purposes for the Plaza and community.
In the early 1900s law and order was kept by a Town Marshall and Deputies. In 1949 a Dodge was Edgewater’s one and only police car. It had a two way radio connected to Jefferson County Sheriff’s Department in Golden. The city jail was a single room behind the Town Hall, and the wives of the marshall or the human officer prepared meals for the prisoners. As Edgewater’s population increased, Dean Putnam provided 24 hour protection for the City. The police department moved to new quarters that were a part of City Hall at 25th and Gray. These quarters were once a wooden garage that has been remodeled. In 1984 the police department grew from one full time officer to ten officers. In 1987 the police department moved to 5901 West 25th, which was previously Poindexters Grocery Store.
The Edgewater Post Office enjoyed a variety of locations. The first post office was opened in Widow Humphrey’s home on Sheridan Boulevard. The mail came by trolley to Saint Anthony’s Hospital, and a horseback rider picked up the mail bag to deliver to the post office. When Frank Miller became the second postmaster in 1894, a corner of his grocery store on Sheridan Boulevard was devoted to the postal service. The Denver Tramway had been expanded to Sheridan, so Frank met the trolley with a wheelbarrow and carried the mail back to his store. A new post office was built in 1914 at 25th and Ames. The post office was moved once again to a rented building at 2480 Gray, where it became a branch of Denver on April 16, 1937. A new postal site was purchased from the Edgewater Redevelopment Authority. A brick facility was erected at 1990 Depew by the Postal Department. An open house was held August 24, 1991. The size is 14,000 square feet versus the 2,000 square feet at the Gray Street building where the post office had delivered service for 20 years.
The original names of the streets have been named after the Presidents of the United States, with the exception of Calhoun Street. These names existed up until time of incorporation. The original names of the streets were Adams, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Jackson, Van Buren, Calhoun, Harrison, Tyler, Polk, Taylor, Fillmore, Pierce, Lincoln, Grant, and Garfield. They were renamed Amers, Benton, Chase, Depew, Eaton, Fenton, Gray, Harlan, Ingalls, Jay, Kendall, Lamar, Marshall, Newland, Otis, and Pierce. On March 24, 1906, Denver renamed the East and West Avenues to coincide with Denver, and also, to establish a numbering system for streets and avenues. West 20th Avenue was known as Edgewater Boulevard, West 22nd and West 24th Avenues had no name, West 25th Avenue was known as Emerald, West 26th Avenue as Highlands Avenue.
Meetings were held in private homes until the Town Hall was built, December 7, 1905.
The Town Hall was a former Baptist Church located at 25th and Gray.
In 1940, the town hall was renovated with WPA funds. The hall consisted of offices, street work shops, library and council chambers. It was remodeled again in 1955. The Edgewater Redevelopment Authority passed a resolution July 27, 1992 to purchase the present town hall municiple building. The building in which the Edgewater Town Hall is located was once the American Office Equipment Building. This building was purchased by the Edgewater Redevelopment Authority for $350,000 and $70,000 was provided for renovation of the interior. The Edgewater Redevelopment Authority also provided funding for improvements in landscaping, parking lots and certain building repairs.
In 1885 Sunday school classes were established in the home of W.F. Ricker at 25th and Benton. In 1898 the church was housed in a tent on Chase Street (now 2529 Chase). The tent was replaced with a wooden building located at West 26th Avenue and Depew Street. In 1902 the church built a new structure there. Plans for a new building on the Will Jacobs property were drawn in 1920.
This is the site for the present church at 2497 Fenton Street. Plans for the current building were developed in 1955. It was built in 3 phases with the educational wing completed in 1957. The balance of construction was completed in 1965. The mortgage for the present building was burned in January 1980. In 1985, the 100 year centennial was celebrated.
Built in 1955. Named for George Eiber, who came to Colorado in 1920. He was on the Daniel’s School board until his retirement in 1934. The school housed the R-1 district classes for the deaf, blind and handicapped.
Platted in 1969 by El Pinal, Inc. Name source unknown.
A landmark restaurant, mountain lodge and conference center that has become known as a location on Interstate Highway 70. It began as a log restaurant built in 1947 by the Jahnke family. In 1953, it was purchased by Ray and Mildred Zipprich who added a banquet business, gift shop, and established a contract station for the U.S. Post Office. In 1958 it became a “Mom and Pop” operation managed by their daughter, Donna, and son-in-law, Paul McEnroe. The restaurant became a landmark for tourists and was also popular with local mountain residents. When Interstate 70 was being built in the mid-1960s, McEnroe convinced the highway department to name the exit to Evergreen “El Rancho.”
El Rancho is said to have the most photographed view of the Continental Divide in America. It was selected by many national and international magazines as one of “America’s Favorite” restaurants. The McEnroes offered free meeting space for local community organizations and served on many county boards and commissions. They established a Southwestern gift shop in the restaurant in 1972, a Visitor Information Center in 1975, and an RTD parking area next to the restaurant in 1987.
The McEnroes sold it in 1988 to Skip Rousch who established hotel rooms on the upper level. Rousch sold it to Mark McKenna in 1995. McKenna sold some of the 10.5 acres for development of a hotel in 1998.
A riding ring on US Highway 285 about one and one half miles southwest of Conifer, on land given by Mr. and Mrs. Carl Edwards. It is the home of the 4-H Trail Dusters Riding Club and site of an annual summer horse show. Its name incorporates the first names of the donors.
Name is descriptive – resembles an elephant.
This Denver Mountain Park is named for Elephant Butte, which resembles an elephant.
Probably named for the local wildlife.
This canyon is about 6.5 miles long and drains to the south slope of Black Hawk Mountain. It was named for the large number of elk which occupied the drainage. It was also a stop on the Colorado Central Railroad. See Evergreen Quad, Railroad Bridges and Depots.
A new structure opened in August 1989, for grades K-6. It is named for the stream adjacent to the property.
The Fire District was formed in 1948 with one piece of equipment. A fire house was built in 1951 and in 1963. Another was located at the crest of Richmond Hill off Highway #285. At the present time, there are four Fire Stations: Richmond Hill St. #1, Pine Junction #2, Conifer Mt. #5, and Aspen #4.
Landmark designation 8/2/2004 as “Original Elk Creek Fire House.”
Former railroad station at Clear Creek and Elk Creek. Siding on railroad at 1.9 miles above Beaver Brook. 0.9 miles west of Beaver Brook, Crofett Guide, 1881, p. 40. West of Guy Gulch R.B. 1948, S33, T3S, R71W on railroad mouth of Elk Creek on Colorado Central Railroad 1885 map. West of Beaver Brook, east of Roscoe.
A settlement between Beaver Brook (station) and Big Hills station on Clear Creek, from the Colorado Relief Map, Caxton, Colorado, 1894.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Elk Creek Toll Road and Tramway Company (1882)
This road was built from Pine Grove (Pine) up Elk Creek to the junction with the Denver, Bradford & Blue River Road, then continued up Elk Creek to its source.
It is a Jefferson County Open Space Park of 1295 acres acquired in 1977. It is bordered on the north by the 236 acres of Noble Meadow, acquired by the Jefferson County Open Space Department in 1995 as a Conservation Easement. The park features parking facilities, trails, restrooms, picnic facilities cooking grills, and abundant wildlife. Named for elk that frequent the meadows.
Early name for the area that was later called Bergen Park after the arrival of first white settler Thomas C. Bergen in 1859.
Named for the elk herd that used it as a favorite wintering area.
This is a short residential street.
Named for Elsie Subdivision from which the rights-of-way for Elsie Station were secured by the Denver and North Western Electric Railroad Company.
This park is located in Indian Tree Village Subdivision. The property was deeded to North Jeffco from the City of Arvada May 17, 1971, and an agreement was made between North Jeffco and Tanco Corp. for the development of the park. Indian Tree Homeowners Association requested the Board name this Mini Park after Emil Schneider, Sr., the former owner of the park site. The park was dedicated August, 10, 1979.
February 9, 1884, the Emily H. Mine, the property of Messrs, Wheeler and Co., was tested. The ore was taken at a depth of 18 feet and gave a n assay of 67% copper, 19% iron, three ounces of silver, three eights ounces of gold. Mr. Wheeler was sacking the ore for shipment to the Golden Smelting works, who offered to pay one dollar and fifty cents for each percent of copper and the market value for gold and silver.
Organizers of Enterprise Grange No. 25 were Mary Ann and John C. Churches, the first master, who received the charter, June 25, 1874. Several area granges consolidated or reorganized into Enterprise Grange in 1913. Bert Fields, the first master after reorganization, brought about the dedication of a new Enterprise Grange Hall in 1915, which is still used in 1994. Enterprise Grange was added to the State Register of Historic place on Aug. 11, 1999 (5JF.1713).
Inquiries produced no dates or source of the name.
Located in Water District #7, this ditch is filled with water diverted from Clear Creek. The appropriation date was October 31, 1965.
Thomas Eustice, a miner from the gold and silver regions of Colorado, came to Arvada for health reasons. He built a home for his family in 1893 at 5613 Wadsworth Blvd. The house remained in the Eustice family until 1923. Dr. Richard Russell wanted to be in a more prominent location and swapped his house at 5605 Yukon Street for Nellie (Eustice) Graves home on Wadsworth Blvd. The Russell’s remained here until Dr. Russell’s death in 1934. This prestigious home has changed hands many times but has been remodeled and well cared for during its 100-year existence.
The name means: Evangel = message of redemption (Christian). The church was organized in 1954 and has grown and prospered.
In the summer of 1868, former Colorado territorial governor John Evans and his family embarked on a camping trip in the mountains west of Denver. The camping party drove in spring wagons up Bear Creek to a place Bendemeer, where they camped for several weeks. Evans and his friend, Sam Elbert, explored further up the valley for a summer home. They discovered an ideal spot with beautiful vistas, lush meadows, and rushing streams. Together Evans and Elbert purchased 320 acres and then gradually expanded it until, at one time, it contained over 5,000 acres. Although Evans originally had plans to run up to 1,000 head of Texas longhorns on the ranch, that proved to be too ambitious. Since that time it has been used to graze 200 head of cattle, but has served primarily as a private retreat. The ranch has remained in the Evans family since it was originally assembled and now contains approximately 3,245 acres.
Elihu Evans was born in Beaver County, Pennsylvania on December 20, 1825. He and his brother, Oliver, left for Colorado in 1860. For a short time the brothers worked in the saw and quartz mills in the mountains, and Elihu struck various gold claims. Elihu filed for a 160 acre homestead in Golden City, built a house in 1864, located north of West 58th Avenue (called Evans Road for many years), and received his patent from the United States government in 1869. Elihu was a carpenter by trade, but he also invented a section roller ” to roll and mark out ground for irrigating and other purposes.” The machine was patented in 1867. After Elihu moved to Loveland, his brother Oliver and sons took over the farm and lived there until his death in 1914.
The Martin Everett House was built on the Everett Homestead, 160 acres extending from 32nd Avenue to 38th Avenue, Wadsworth Boulevard east to Henderson Street (Pierce). On May 16, 1867 this house was the site of the meeting called by Mr. Everett to organize the Wheat Ridge School District #8. The first school at 32nd Avenue and Wadsworth was on his property and called the Everett School, as was the second school at 38th Avenue and Teller Street. Everett Middle School at 39th Avenue and Kipling was also named in his honor. He helped organize the Wheat Ridge Methodist Church and Ceres Grange, Patron of Husbandry, #1, the first grange in Colorado. He was a Colorado legislator in 1875-76 when the Constitutional Convention was held.
Second Everett School at 38th and Teller.
Evergreen was platted by John MacBeth when he filed the plat for the estate of Mary N. Williamson on Nov. 20, 1919. The area was first called “The Post” in or near 1866 after Amos Post, son-in-law of Thomas C. Bergen (Bergen’s Park). D.P. Wilmot bought a large land area (including The Post) in 1859, and became the first postmaster of Evergreen in 1874. The Post Office was named “Evergreen” by Ella Wilmot, sister of D. P. Wilmot. Evergreen had a post road-hack (delivery wagon) to Brookvale six times a week in the 1880s. It is presently the largest of Jefferson County’s unincorporated mountain communities with an estimated 1997 population of 28,000.
The addition extends from Logan Street S.E. to Summit Street including Pine Top Avenue and from Teller Street S.W. to the start of Spring Street with 74 lots in the addition, each 50 feet in width.
The church was established in 1975. The building dates to the late 1880s and served as the second schoolhouse in the Evergreen area.
Although the cemetery was not incorporated until March 5, 1908, there are graves dating back as far as 1859. Many of Evergreen’s early pioneer families are to be found here.
The church was established in 1929.
The Historic District consists of 7 acres and 23 structures, the older ones predating its use by the Episcopal church. The first building was a log bunkhouse for lumber workers probably constructed during the 1860s, and converted to a hotel by Robert H. Stewart by the time of the first church meetings here in 1872. Stewart built this into the Sprucedale Resort, which included the hotel and 8 guest cottages. Upon his death the resort was purchased by the Episcopal church, with remodeling and new buildings having been built by Scottish master carpenter John “Jock” Spence. The district is significant for its association with Canon Charles Winfield Douglas, an internationally known expert on the Plain-Song Mass. A partial list of the structures includes the Meeting House, St. Raphael’s, the Stone Library, Julia’s Cottage and the Bell Tower. The District is owned by the Evergreen Music Conference, the community of St. Mary’s, and the Episcopal Church of the Transfiguration. The music conference is the oldest continuing one in the United States, beginning in 1907. The land and the buildings were given by Mary Neosho Williams and the C. Winifred Douglas family. The Historic District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF177) on May 1, 1979.
Built in 1926-1927 by the City and County of Denver for flood control, water supply, and recreation.
The Evergreen Fire Department was officially organized in 1948 and the present building for Station No. 1 was constructed in 1966. Station No. 2 is in Bergen Park at 1802 Bergen Parkway. No. 3 is in Marshdale at 6940 Hwy. 73, and No. 5 is on Upper Bear Creek at 53 Echo Lake Dr. Station No. 4 is the ambulance and paramedic quarters at the south edge of Evergreen at 5411 Hwy. 73.
The school opened in 1954.
A 362-acre subdivision platted in 1971 by Evergreen Estates, Inc. Name from location and terrain.
A subdivision that is one of the older “downtown” developments platted by John F. Truesdell in 1915. The name came from the nearby town and is descriptive of the area.
Opened in 1969.
The 55-acre lake was created by Evergreen Dam, which was built in 1926-1927 by the City and County of Denver for flood control, water supply, and recreation, the latter in the form of year round fishing, boating and sailing in the summer and ice skating in the winter. The recreation activities are managed by the Evergreen Park and Recreation District.
The very unique million-dollar 5000-square-foot log lake house was built in 1992-1993 by the Evergreen Park and Recreation District, with near perfect lodgepole logs imported from Montana. All recreational activities on Evergreen Lake are administered from the Lake House. It is named after the surrounding community.
The church was established in 1955.
Platted in 1969 by Evergreen Meadows Land Company, developers Walter Burke and Roy Romer, the latter became three-term Governor of Colorado, 1986-1998.
Established in 1965, this cemetery and funeral home was named after the area.
Originally named Evergreen Junior High School when opened in 1969. In 1996, changed its name to Evergreen Middle School.
Opened in 1883 and owned by A.F. Post and Company. This copper mine is down 70 feet and assayed at 75 ounces of copper per ton.
Named after the nearby community.
The second school building in the Evergreen area, after the Buffalo Park School, was the frame structure on Highway 73 about one-quarter mile south of Main Street. Built in the late 1800s it served as a school until 1923 when the third school was completed. The second building was then used for many years by the Christian Church, and in 1996 housed the Evergreen Baptist Church.
Evergreen’s third school, a red brick two-story structure, was built in 1922-1923 when District 30 became C2, the second consolidation in Jefferson County. It housed both elementary and high school students. In 1936 wings were added to each end by the Depression era Works Progress Administration (WPA). In 1944, a separate white masonry building was erected nearby for the high school. In 1991, both buildings were razed for construction of a new Evergreen Library.
C. 1900 two-story frame house. Remodeling and siding added in 1929.
Built in 1967. Named for Martin N. Everett, Homesteader 32-38th Avenues, Pierce (Henderson) – Wadsworth. Host to voters of Vasquez Precinct #8 to organize a school District Secretary of that group and let school building. First school his property 32nd & Wadsworth, called Everett School. Second school 7101 W. 38th Ave., also called Everett School. State Legislator Jefferson County street named for him.
Organized 1867 at M.N. Everitt home. Named for Martin N. Everitt, 1st Secretary of the District #8 board. Active in grange, church, state legislature. School built on Everitt homestead land, in 1873 it moved to new “permanent building” at 7101 W. 38th Ave. The site was donated by Abram Slater, the second Everitt School will leby 2.5. 1989 sold, moved, a private residence 8991 W. 38th. 1870’s and 1880’s L—–, C—- Grange ______, Wheat Ridge Library. Methodist congregation all used Everitt School Building. 1889 part of purchase price a_______ for of Al Doud and moved to his farm 8800 W. 38th Ave.
The malachite vein containing copper was first discovered in 1866 and was periodically worked until 1917. Piles of timber, tailings, and a huge rusted, metal boiler remain at the site. Remnants of several crude buildings are also visible. The boiler provided energy to operate a crusher to produce sludge that was transported to smelters in Golden. Resident Stanley Thiede says his father worked at the F.M.& D. in 1904 and again in 1917.
Built 1940 (est), 20th Century Commercial. This is a two-story blond brick building with red brick trim. It has three rectangular sixteen-inch light windows on the second floor with brick sills. The first store front had large display windows and a covered walkway. An earlier building on this site had a dress making business on the second floor. Fair 5 & 10 advertised that it had the best goods for the least amount of money. They sold “… millinery, notions, ladies’, gents’, and children’s underwear, ladies’, gents’, and children’s shoes.” This building was a National Register Nomination for Washington Avenue commercial district in 1978.
Likely named due to the fact that this gulch flows into the Fairmount locality. The reason for the alternate spelling of this name is not known.
This ditch runs from Deer Creek to Fairview Reservoir.
Faith Bible Chapel moved from 9th Avenue and Acoma Street to 6210 Ward Road in 1979. Robert T. Hooley was the first pastor, George Morrison was the pastor in 1994.
Located east of South Valley Road and north of Deer Creek Canyon Road on Ken-Caryl Ranch, “The house was so named because people could watch falcons while sitting on the porch–was built at the turn of the century by Frank Mann, an English homesteader, for his fiancee”. . .”However, she didn’t like it and returned to England.” When Martin Marietta purchased the J.M. property on the Ken-Caryl Ranch, the house was torn down because it was being vandalized and was considered a potential hazard.
Core drilling underground uranium mine owned by Stanley Strauss and operated by Four Corner Uranium Co. Exploratory mine contacting ore ten feet below surface. Old clay tunnel was to be used if sufficient ore found; not possible to determine extent of deposit in 1955. Expect drilling to continue next three months, work start 3/1/1955, five employees.
The church was organized in 1962, and the building at 7580 Pierce Street was completed in 1964. Rev. Bob Bothwell was the first pastor. Currently, 80% of the members are under the age of 40.
Far Horizons Park agreement by and between Jefferson County School District R-1 and North Jeffco Recreation and Park District, was approved September 26, 1968. The school District is owner of 14 acres of land at 84th Ave. and Fenton Street known as Parr Elementary School. Far Horizons Citizen’s Association and Community Group proposed a map for the 4.5- acre park to include a ball diamond, soccer field and football field. North Jeffco developed the park, which was completed in 1969. This is a joint School-Park and Recreation agreement, similar to others in the Arvada area. Far Horizons Park was named for the subdivision in which it was located.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Farmers & Freighters Wagon Road (1869)
This road ran along Ralston Creek from Boulder to Golden Road to the Gregory Road in Golden Gate Canyon.
This canal was incorporated in 1863 as “Golden City and Arapahoe” by William Davidson and Samuel Breath. In 1876, it was incorporated as “The Arapahoe Canal,” by William A. Rand, Francis Gallup and William Bomberger. In April 1880, Michael Spangler, William O. Todd, Samuel S. Landon, Frank Church and R.W. Woodbury incorporated it as “The Golden Canal Co.” In December 1885, it was incorporated as “The Farmers’ High Line Canal and Reservoir Co.” by George Richardson, J.D. Moore, Jr., D.K. Lee, R.G. Webster, Albert S. Pettit and Lewis H. Quimby. The earliest priority for this canal in District No. 7 was July 1, 1860. It flows northeast from Golden past Kelly, Hyatt and Standley Lakes and out of Jefferson County near 100th and Sheridan Boulevard terminating west of Brighton in Adams County. It appears on an old 1915 “Map or Denver and Surroundings,” by R.W. Gelder, C.E. of Greeley.
Farmstead Park is a 2.5-acre site and includes walkways and playground for younger children. The park was turned over to the City of Arvada as part of Melody Homes April, 1980.
This street appears to have been the northernmost of Golden’s original plat. Its name is of unclear origin, but may have been after one of the town’s female pioneer residents. It was renamed 6th Street by ordinance in 1904.
The original church was the Edgewater Baptist Church, and it was started in the Odd Fellows Lodge at 25th and Eaton on January 26, 1951. In 1952 a new church building was constructed at 22nd and Jay Street. In 1982 the church was renamed the Fellowship Bible Church. In 1985 its congregation joined the Association of Independent Fundamental Churches of America and was no longer Baptist.
Built in 1903 for Ella Felt, this two-story salmon color brick four-square has a low pitched hipped roof with a one-story full width porch, and the eaves, cornices and facade detailing emphasize horizontal lines. A bay window is seen on the west side.
The Fenders, Loren and Thalia, came to Indian Hills in 1925. They bought a piece of land near Deer Creek Road. They built a small garage, then two larger ones two years later. In 1937 Loren was instrumental in getting electricity to the area. In 1954 the Inner-Canyon Volunteer Fire Department was organized.
A cluster of log homes was built on the mountainside in early 1900s as a summer resort. Access is by a foot-bridge across the river. This was a stop on the Colorado & Southern Railroad until 1937 when the line was discontinued. The homes continue to be occupied in the summer.
Origin of name not learned.
The well known and early day store, service station and bus stop in Conifer, built of native stone and opened by George C. and Theresea Fields in 1930, and razed in 1975. During thirty years of operation by the Fields, the store was not closed for a single day.
The first parcel of land for Fillius Park came as a donation to Denver in by Evergreen cattle rancher J.J. Clark in 1918. with additional land later obtained through condemnation. A popular park, it has playgrounds, picnic tables, fireplaces, plus a pump house and a shelter house designed by Denver architect J.J. Benedict. The park was named for Jacob Fillius, an early Denver Parks board member. The park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF976) on February 24, 1995.
This structure was built in the 1970s to house equipment and trucks for the fire department that was organized in 1971. A heliport is adjacent to accommodate the Flight for Life and other helicopters from Denver.
A late 19th-century homestead site that had been impacted by the construction of a firebreak/road through grading. The firebreak passes through a portion of the site. The site consists of one main subsurface feature partially lined with rough dressed blocks of stone and what appears to be an entrance to the east of the depression. To the south of the main feature (1) are features 2, 3, 4, and 5. Feature 2 is a linear dugout like depression cut into the south facing slope of the ridge, feature 3 is a small pile of stones, and feature 4 is a small depression that may be the outhouse. Several other small springs/seeps flow to the east just south of the site. Feature 5 is an upright pipe approximately 6″-8″ in diameter that may represent the homestead’s water source. A scattering of material culture is found around the site.
It was built in 1980 to house equipment and fire trucks. The name was taken from North Fork of the South Platte River which flows near the fire house.
Dedicated August 5, 1866. Congregation was organized by Elder William Whitehead.
The church was organized in 1904 under J.F. Hardy. When the church was completed at 57th Avenue and Yarrow Street in 1909, Rev. F.E. Hudson was the first pastor. The church at 5624 Yarrow merged with Tri City Baptist Church on March 21, 1981 with Rev. Matt Olson as the new pastor.
The church was established in 1956.
The First Baptist Church of Lakewood located at 1380 Ammons Street. A small group of Baptists used to meet at the Methodist Church at Colfax and Allison Streets until they decided to meet on Sundays. They finally moved into the Lakewood Grange Hall at 14th and Brentwood Streets. As the group grew, they planned for a regular church building. Land was acquired at 14th and Ammons Streets, July, 1942. A delay was caused because of the World War II. Dedication was November 1952. They have two residences for pastors.
History not available
The church building at 5695 Yukon St., was purchased from Saint Matthew’s Episcopal Mission in 1919, and dedicated as The First Church of Christ, Scientist in 1921. An acre building site was purchased in 1954 at 8591 Ralston Road. The first service in the new church was held on Easter Sunday, 1955. The church was dedicated on October 15, 1961. (Christian Science Churches are not dedicated until they are free from debt.)
The Grange building burned in 1927, so the city officials decided they needed a fire station to fill in with fire equipment at the Federal Center. Andrew E. Johnson served as first department’s chief from 1937-1952. Building built in 1939.
The Jefferson County Bank was established in 1896, but was not chartered. The First National Bank of Arvada was chartered December 5, 1904, and was opened for business in the same dwelling occupied by the Jefferson County Bank. Remains of this former bank can still be seen in the basement of the present building constructed by C. F. Fuller in the early 1900s.
Dedicated on June 16, 1872. It was founded by Reverend Sheldon Jackson. Parsonage was constructed in 1892. It became the Foothills Art Center in 1968. It is one of Golden’s last original church buildings.
Located in the southern portion of downtown Golden, the Foothills Art Center building is distinctly different in character and historic context than the downtown area. The building has retained a much greater degree of historic integrity. The church building was constructed on June 16, 1872 as the First Presbyterian Church of Golden. Later it was converted into the Foothills Art Center in 1968. Originally there were two separate buildings, the church building and the parsonage. These two buildings were later joined together by a covered walkway.
The First Presbyterian Church of Golden was founded in 1870 by the ever-colorful, circuit-riding missionary, the Reverend Sheldon Jackson. Reverend Jackson was a pioneer missionary who worked for the United States Government helping to select western Indian tribes to attend schools in the East. He also selected ethnological specimens that were later donated to Princeton University. The church was dedicated on June 16, 1872. The first elder of the church was E.T. Osborne. The prominent Golden businessman, W.A.H. Loveland, also attended the services at the church.
The church exterior was constructed of red-orange bricks which were manufactured locally, with blond brick and stone trim. The building has a two-story tower on the northeast corner. The belfry has three Gothic-arched windows, corbeled brick and stone trim. It has brick buttresses with a Gothic-arched door and stained-glass windows. Eight of the beautiful, original stained-glass windows remain at the Foothills Art Center today. The foundation, buttresses, and window sills were made of hand-hewn sandstone. Several additions over the years have enlarged the Gothic-style building.
The parsonage, built in 1892, was connected to the church in 1968 by a covered walkway. The building is a two-story Queen Anne style home. It has a hipped roof with cross gables. The first floor exterior is brick and the second floor exterior has shingle siding. The building has a rounded tower with an onion dome on the northeast corner. There is a new brick addition in the rear.
The church building is one of the last remaining original church buildings and one of only a few existing structures built during the 1870s. The parsonage is a good example of Queen Anne style architecture and is important for its association with the church. Services were held continuously in the church until 1958 when the congregation moved to larger quarters. The building was then leased to the Unitarians for a while and became a cultural center for art shows, workshops, and classes. Because of the popularity of the art shows and the increasing interest in the Annual Golden Sidewalk Watercolor Show that the Unitarian congregation held, plans were made to convert the building into a community art center.
The Foothills Art Center incorporated on April 19, 1968. A renovation program began with the donations of materials by merchants. Donations of time and effort were given by artists and other interested people. By July 1968 the Center was ready to display the art work from the Golden Sidewalk Watercolor Show. The show was co-sponsored by the Golden Chamber of Commerce. On August 3, 1968 the Center officially opened. The Center is a non-profit organization, supported by classes, memberships, donations, and gallery sales. The Foothills Art Center is unique because it is a living art center in the foothills region where people are continually participating in the exciting art happenings. Variety is apparent in the art classes offered at the Center and the ever-changing exhibits. The Foothills Art Center is a local landmark and has been listed as a City of Golden Historical Site since 1989. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF418) on March 14, 1991.
Henry Stevens the homesteader, Jerry Coulehan the 1874 owner.
The name is self explanatory. The church was organized in 1932 at 13th and Umatilla, Denver. The present site was purchased in 1981 and the first church service at this location was held December 24, 1989. This is a “full gospel” church. Its desires: “Heal the wounded, save the lost, help the community, be a place of refuge.” Construction of the church was a “slow process” of eight years.
The cornerstone for the first unit of the church was laid in 1965 and the educational facility was completed in 1968. Rev. Robinson G. Lapp was the first pastor of this Church.
Named for Archie C. Fisk, president of the American Trust Company. The subdivision was platted December 20, 1892. This area was in acreage sites and used for small farms and residences. It has since been re-subdivided into mostly home sites as of this date.
The school was built in 1959. Ray Sybille Fitzmorris was honored by having this school named for him. He was a teacher and principal of Arvada High School from 1928 until 1952. The land on which the school is located was settled by Lyman Cole, and gold was taken from a placer mine on his property.
Fitzmorris Park in Oberon Subdivision joins Fitzmorris School grounds on the north. James B. Dutrow and Helen B. Dutrow deeded lots 143 and 144 to North Jeffco July 11, 1960. Later that same year, G. Ed Dorsett and Clarence M. Dorsett deeded 2.382 acres to North Jeffco October 14, 1960.
The site consists of the remains of a collapsed log cabin, a wooden platform and associated slash piles and a small depression. The site occupies stream terraces and surrounding small meadows along Bull Gulch at the base of a steep canyon. The c. 1920 vacation home cabin appears to have extended from a hill slope on supports. It was constructed of notched logs and milled lumber and door frames. Only the lower segments of the walls remain and these appear to have shifted downslope from their original locations. A platform is constructed of 10′ x 10′ roughly milled timbers. Its function is unknown. Both features use nails throughout. The small slash piles are located along the site’s periphery. A depression approximately 70 cm. in diameter and 25 cm. deep is located in front of the cabin, its function unknown.
The site consists of a heavily deteriorated log cabin, several inscribed aspen trees and a small depression. The cabin measures 10′ x 17′ and was constructed of notched logs. Approximately the lower 1/2 of the walls are intact. Directly west of the cabin are five inscribed aspen trees with the earliest legible inscription dated 1920.
Built ca. 1890, with additions prior to 1920. It is a medium gable, one-story frame house with shingled walls and a rear cinder block lean-to kitchen addition. There is a small front porch with turned posts and on the left side a stucco bedroom addition.
Ed Fleming was a fine rock mason and worked on many of the vacation homes in the mountains. His specialty was native moss rock fireplaces. He also rodeoed with “the gang” and worked at the Rooney Coal Mine. He served on the Morrison Town Board for many years and was highly regarded in the Morrison community. The house is still a residence.
Built in 1963. Named for Fletcher Miller, who was the first Superintendent of R-1 schools.
The Flintlock Mine is a clay mine forming a scar running the length of the east side of the large hogback ridge north of Golden. Having always been owned as School Trust land by the State of Colorado, it has been leased out over many years to various entities to mine clay. It was originally started in 1890 to serve the Church Bros. brick works nearby, which became the Golden Fairview Brick Works. During the early 20th century its privately-owned southern end was mined by poor Italian immigrants, until it was seized during the Great Depression. During the 1990s it has been operated by the Robinson Brick Co., and is one of Jefferson County’s longest-lived mines at over a century of existence. One small concrete utility building remains at its southern end.
Built ca. 1889. Florence Beckett came to Morrison from London, England with her parents and sister Lucy. She lived here after she got married.
Built ca. 1899. This was Lucy Beckett Smith and Robert Smith’s home. Robert was a son of Jeremiah and Margaret Smith, who homesteaded in the Indian Hills area. There are five generations of Smiths still living in and around Morrison. This house was moved from Spring Street to its present location in 1905.
The Girl Scout Mile-Hi Council acquired the ranch in 1945. The southern portion was originally the Runner Ranch and dates from the 1880s. The upper, or north, portion was homesteaded by Louis Busher, the first forest ranger in that part of Pike National Forest. The property changed hands many times before the Girl Scout Council acquired it. The Homestead House (of the Runner family) and a barn are on the National Register of Historic Places. The origin of the “Flying G’ name is unknown.
The malachite vein containing copper was first discovered in 1866 and was worked periodically until 1917. Piles of timber, tailings, and a huge rusted-metal boiler remain at the site. Remnants of several crude buildings are also visible. The boiler provided energy to operate a crusher to produce sludge that was transported to smelters in Golden. Resident Stanley Thiede says his father worked on the FM&D in 1904 and again in 1917.
Precambrian Metamorphic Formation.
This property was worked as a uranium mine from 1955 to March 1964. Water was kept out until Jan. 1965. Radiation was a problem in this mine until proper ventilation system was installed . A 200-foot ventilator and escape raise to surface was run during 1963 at a location just beyond the underground hoist. The lower three levels were developed through a four-foot by eight-foot two-inch compartment vertical winze (shaft?) some 315 feet in depth. The levels were run out and the vein or deposit and the ore stopped through to the main level. The level average 600 feet running southeast. Prospecting via the core drill method was carried on at great extent and several 1000 feet of core retrieved. The stopes were blocky and after the fill ore was pulled they caved readily. The upper workings are beings used by the Civil Defense Agency for shelter and supplies. 1965 production 805 pounds of uranium valued at 3,620 dollars.
Surface area of Bear Creek:
1960 employed 9 men with monthly production of 800 tons.
1960 production of 23,934 pounds of U3O8 valued at 98,076 dollars
1970 report has five foot by seven foot tunnel going in westerly direction from portal. A raise goes out to surface at about 500 feet. Drift is about 650 feet to face. A winze goes down 250 feet about 500 feet in front of portal.
1977 property is being operated by Cutters. At this time they have cleaned up about 400 feet. They are heading for a shaft.
1963 production of 3,657 pounds of uranium valued at 62,169 dollars
1964 ” ” 3,756 ” ” ” ” ” 75,000 dollars
Mine officially closed 1978, shaft filled with water.
Cotter Corp. Owners.
This is a private liberal arts school, grades K-8, organized in 1980.
This building was built to help provide for the Presbyterian congregation’s spiritual needs in Golden and the surrounding areas. The city of Golden dates back to 1860, and the church building was built 12 years later in 1872. It was the first permanent building erected in the area that was to be known in future years as “Courthouse Hill.” That name stems from the construction of the Jefferson County Courthouse on Washington Street at the intersection of 15th Street, almost directly across Washington Street from the church in 1878. In 1892 a residence for the minister was built on the same block just northwest of the church. For five years, 1862-1867, Golden was the capital of the Colorado Territory until the territorial legislature decided to move the capital back to Denver.
In 1898 a bell tower was added to the church. The plans were drawn by Professor Horace B. Patton of the Colorado School of Mines. The builder of the addition stayed as closely as he could to the original building materials so the tower would not look like some glued on addition. The construction of the tower and renovation of the church to accommodate the tower cost a total of $2,500.
The congregation outgrew the church in the 1950s and built a new church. They leased the old church to the Unitarians. The Unitarians used the church on Sundays and opened it to the art community during the week. Irma Wyhs, a watercolor artist and member of the Unitarian church, was asked to conduct a watercolor seminar for interested artists in 1961. From that beginning came the Michiona Watercolor Society, and as it and the scope of the Annual Golden Sidewalk Watercolor Art Show grew, they realized they would need a place of their own, and the church building suited their purpose. In April 1968 they contracted to purchase the old church and rectory for $30,000. The Foothills Art Center opened in April 1968. The Center grew quickly and a second floor gallery was added in 1980. In honor of the architect, Alan Peterson, who contributed his talent to design the gallery, it was named the Peterson Gallery. It did not take long for the Center to use all its space and have to look for more. To solve that problem, the Center bought the adjacent building at 1510 Washington Street. This building is known as Foothills II.
The Foothills Art Center was awarded a National Register of Historic Places designation in March 1991 (5JF.418)
Built in 1970. Named for the area.
In November 1996, landowners of the three districts approved consolidation. All three communities volunteered for bucked brigades and makeshift trucks with garden hoses until the 1950s when the population began to expand rapidly.
The first Idledale fire house was built in 1956 and the district was formed in 1960. Idledale’s territory was from Bear Creek to U.S. Highway 40 (north of I-70) until 1972 when the Genesee development was “excluded” from within the boundary. Idledale volunteers formed the Highland Rescue Team in the 1960s. HRT became a separate non-profit EMT service for the entire Central Mountains community during the 1980s.
Mt. Vernon Country Club was the first planned development in Mt. Vernon Canyon with homeowners volunteering bucket brigades. They formed a special district for one square mile (where homes were built) in 1958.
The Lookout Mountain Fire District was formed in 1960 by a core group of dedicated volunteers. The district served the entire area, including non-tax producing Denver mountain Parks and Jefferson County Open Space.
The consolidated Foothills Fire District has mutual aid agreements with Genesee and Evergreen Fire Districts.
Edward Chase Ford and Edward McClintock Ford, brothers, established a gambling tent in June of 1859 near the present day intersection of Ford Street and 12th in Golden. The tent was used as a church by the Methodists on Sundays prior to 1868. Ford Street was named for the brothers and their original gambling establishment.
This was originally a water district established in 1962. The land was replatted in 1973 for a 205 acre planned development of a hotel, shopping center, gas station, and residential units named Forest Hills. It was never constructed. Ownership of the land changed many times from 1980 to 1992 when the Riva Chase residential community was marketed. Water and sanitation services were combined with road and open space maintenance and development of an infrastructure, hence a Metropolitan District replaced the single purpose water district. The plan for 150 units was 90% built in 1998.
The first structure was constructed in 1959 and the outdoor riding arena in 1963. The Westernaires are an equestrian drill team that performs at rodeos and fairs throughout the west. They are headquartered at Ft. Westernaire and have a museum based on equestrian history with such items as early saddles from around the world, original calvary tack items, plus uniforms, Conestoga wagons, fire wagon, Baby Doe’s side saddle, Indian costumes, etc.
Foss Drug sits on the site of the tramway station that brought tourists from Denver to Golden. Henry and Dorothy Foss bought H. Langenhan’s drugstore in 1913 and built the current building. Henry and later his son Heinie, expanded their business into a huge emporium. The slogan of the store was, “Where the West shops.” On the south side of the building is a mural painted by Robert Dafford, depicting historic Golden.
Martin and Susan Foss purchased 163 acres in 1918. Part of this property became a Park or a Camp for members of the First Baptist Church of Denver. So many came that eventually seven buildings were constructed. After Susan’s death, in 1938. Mr. Foss deeded the property to the First Baptist Church with the provision that he remain on the property for the rest of his life. In 1940 Mr. Foss commissioned Mr. Roehling to design and build a stone chapel in the park in memory of his wife.
The City of Arvada utilized Block Grant funds to develop and construct playground fields at Foster Elementary School. In 1983, the Recreation District provided for the maintenance of the facilities developed by the City and the R-1 School District.
The school was named for Dr. Edwin Lincoln Foster, a long-time pioneer doctor. The school was built in 1953.
There are basketball court, playground, walking trails and open play areas.
It was established in 1876 by Dr. Alvin Morey, the area’s first settler, who named it Park Siding for its park-like appearance. Park Siding Post Office was in operation from December 27, 1890, to May 26, 1896. In 1909, the name was changed to Foxton by a merchant, J.O. Roach, after the village of Foxhall, England. It was a stop on the Colorado & Southern Railroad, having an open shelter station platform. A post office was located here from January 21, 1909, to 1990. The property is presently owned by the Denver Water Board and several cabins are leased by the Board.
A small, old cemetery with three unmarked adult and four children graves at the edge of Conifer. The first known burial was in 1869, and the last in 1891. Notable was the deaths in 1879 of the four children of W.R. and C. Head. The children’s age ranged from 16 days to nine years old and died within a period of 20 days, possibly diphtheria: Charles A. Head, age seven years old, died Feb. 4, 1879; Celia J. Head, age nine years old, died Feb. 13, 1879; Orillia D. Head, age three years old, died Feb. 19, 1879; Willard Head, age 16 days, died Feb. 19, 1879.
The burial ground was also known as Beaver Ranch Cemetery. It is no longer used, but is fenced and maintained.
This was a stop in Foxton of the Colorado & Southern Railroad’s narrow gauge line until it was discontinued in 1937.
It was established Jan. 21,1909, with John O.Roach as Postmaster and discontinued operation in 1990, when mail was sent to Buffalo Creek Post Office. A Park Siding Post Office is on record as having been at this location from 1890 to 1896.
Frederick Kuehster homesteaded this ranch in 1877 and subsequently built a series of log buildings: house, one-story bunkhouse, barn with hayloft, and blacksmith log shed. Frederick Kuehster came to Colorado during the 1859 Colorado Gold Rush and worked for Central City’s Bobcat Mine for a number of years before moving to Jefferson County to homestead in 1876.
The school was named for Jessie Benton Fremont, wife of John C. Fremont, who explored the western part of the United States in 1840. The school was built in 1891 and replaced a one-room brick school built in 1869-1870. Fremont school originally taught students from first through twelfth grades. The first high school graduating class consisted of four students in 1893. The school was formerly in District No. 6, and is currently a Jefferson County R-1 School.
Jefferson County School District #32 was organized March 21, 1883 Land for a school was donated half by James A. Lewis and half by Jacob H. Brown. A “reverter” clause in the deeds restricted the land “for school purposes only.” A stuccoed one-room log building was constructed and the school was known as Vasquez School.
In 1901, a two-room brick structure replaced the log one and was used until it was destroyed by fire in 1926. In May 1901, the school was named Fruitdale School District #32.
As part of Jefferson County R-1District (1950) additions were added on the east and west. The building through the years was the center of all community activities. In October 1984, a centennial celebration was held, although the elementary school was closed in 1978. The building continues to be used for “school purposes”: preschool, day care, adult education, and administrative offices.
This was also the site of the Bonnie Bonham Library.
Fruitdale is the name of the original community the park name honors. The Wheat Ridge Recreation Department park was temporarily designated Muegele Park for a family from whom the city had purchased the acreage. At first it was listed only as having a natural environment, but now it is listed as having the following: basketball, bike path, playground, picnic tables, pavilion, rest rooms, and a “natural environment.”
The Fruitdale Sanitation District was established in 1948. It’s general service area is from Lee Street to Ward Road, North of Clear Creek to 54th Avenue.
In the 1940s, a Mother’s Club sponsored a library service for the Fruitdale Community. It was located in the “backstage area” of the school auditorium. It was open once a week. Books were furnished by the Colorado State Library and were delivered in large locker trunks. These were replaced once a month with different selections.
In 1950, after R-1, the library was moved into the former custodian residence on the campus and the Jefferson County Library District was established. This unit became part of the County facility.
Bonnie Bonham, an active, civic minded woman was honored by the Library being named the Bonnie Bonham Library.
Built ca. 1880. Kate was a Groom, one of the oldest families around Morrison. She was a sister to Effie Mae Knolls and Julia Ann Baker. She was one of 12 children. The house was moved to this location from Market Street in 1926.
This station measured the acre feet of water through a given point.
Gail Stout Playground Park was the first park in Arvada to honor the Federal Americans With Disability Act. The Park was dedicated with a plaque for Gail Stout, a longtime Arvada resident, known for his love of children and outdoor recreational activities. Funds for the park were raised in 1990 by Stout’s family, friends and the North Jeffco Foundation.
Constructed by Italian immigrant Charles Garbarino in 1870, this home was originally a 1 1/2-story frame house that stood in the rear of the property at 1213 Washington Avenue. It was used for many years as a support building for the hotel establishment standing in front of it, including being a home for hotel workers as well as its ownership. In 1909, prominent Golden contractor John H. Linder acquired the residence and moved it to its present location, covering it and adding to it with gray brick siding and wide arched windows on all sides, the rear wall of the original building being stuccoed. It is the last known surviving work of Linder’s in existence.
Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad built, in 1878, the Garfield 3′ gauge Branck to the Garfield Quarry and Satanic Mike site.
That portion of Garrison Street between West 44th Avenue and Ridge Road was known as Juchem Lane before county street names were revised. In Arvada Heights, it was known as Majestic Avenue and extended from West 67th Avenue, south to the Denver & Rio Grande Western Railroad tracks. In 1949 it became Garrison Street and was named for the Garrison family, who published the “Golden Globe.”
In 1938 this was the site it a Texaco station operated by Charles W. Schultz. The business became “the shanty” in 1942, operated by Al Linke who also owned Linke Hardware in the later to be Lakewood area. In 1943 the name of Smith Road was changed to Garrison Street. During the war, the business was known as a “road house,” receiving a lot of business from the Remington Arms Manufacturing Plant at the Federal Center. The “Monvue Tavern-Dancing and Mixed Drinks” was the next name change, with Al Luino shown as the proprietor in 1945. In April 1978 the name was changed to the current name, Garrison Street Station by present day owners Don and Carolyn McEndaffer.
Walking trails and picnic tables.
It appears this hotel survived in later years, being ran as a hotel and toll station at the mouth of the canyon by John Couch and his wife. Couch earlier had co-owned the Office Saloon in Golden.
Built around 1912, it had a stepped parapet front and held the Golden Athletic Club on the second floor. During the summers, the theatre occasionally held lottery for free bags of groceries. The Gem Theatre was one of Golden’s first silent movie houses.
It was named for the Commanding General of the Union Army and later president. It was mentioned in Croffutts’ book as having operated before the turn of the century; exact location is unknown.
1928, work was done with day laborers sinking a shaft, sample testing property for ore values. Seven man are employed. The vein is supposed to be a fissure and it looks as though it was about four feet wide. More or less open cut work has been done on the surface to locate the vein on which an incline shaft or stope has been sunk 40 feet: non-producer of gold, silver, copper.
The Store was established in l897 by Sam Auger, a young entrepreneur who also had the first telephone, part of the Denver exchange. Twice a week as a bonus service to this customers he delivered groceries house to house . Also he picked up customers mail at the Edgewater Post Office and delivered it to his customers till Rural Delivery was established.
July 5, 1884, it was reported work (mining copper) was being done at the Imperial Mine, formerly known as the General Thomas Mine.
Denver enclosed 160 acres of Genesee Park for 23 wild elk and seven bison in 1914. Caretakers lived in the historic Patrick House (1860) located east of Chief Hosa Lodge (1918) and south of Interstate 70. Wildlife conservation was the primary purpose of establishing the preserve. Also, World War I was causing scarcities and semi-domesticated bison and elk could provide supplemental meat should the supply of beef and poultry run out. Denver Mountain Parks must comply with USDA livestock immunization rules.
The herd pasture now includes 500 acres on both sides of the highway (crossed by a tunnel underneath) for maintaining approximately 30 adult bison and 20 elk. Each bison eats 150 tons (at $130 per ton) of native grass hay cut at Rabbit Ears Pass near Steamboat Springs. Proceeds from the spring sale of 25-30 bison provides funding for the feed and veterinarian services. Caretaker Marty Homola, who lives in the Patrick House, said, “You can’t put a monetary value on these bison. People stop to see them every day just to be reminded of the Wild West.”
After choosing to be “excluded” from the Idledale Fire District boundaries, Genesee real estate developers formed the Genesee Fire District in 1973. It serves approximately 1500 homes and the Genesee Business Center that total 3.4 square miles.
Founded November 1, 1913, with 65 charter members meeting at the Rockland School (1873), then at the Ralston family store (1904). When Ralston Elementary School was built in 1955, the Genesee Grange gained a perpetual lease from School District R1 for the second Rockland School (1939) where it has resided ever since.
The name Genesee comes from a New York state Indian tribe.
This was the first Denver Mountain Park started in 1912 after a charter amendment was approved by Denver voters. More parcels were gradually purchased from the federal government and private land owners. Lucian Ralston donated over 50 acres adjacent to his residential “Genesee Ridge” plat. Eventually totaled 2400 acres by 1937. The Genesee Ski Jump was operated adjacent to the south park boundary from 1920 to the early 1960s. The Genesee buffalo herd is maintained within the park. The park features playgrounds, softball field, picnic tables, fireplaces, shelter house, 200-acre playground, and a buffalo herd. The park includes an elevation of 8274 at the southern summit down to a northern elevation of 6400 at Clear Creek. The northern park includes the “Genesee Wilderness Area” where Denver Parks and Recreation provide wilderness experience for inner city youths. The Stapleton Trail in the northern area accesses the Beaver Brook Trail. The park was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF590) on November 15, 1990. Its name came from a New York state Indian tribe.
In 1919, Rocky Mountain Ski Club president, Dr. Menefee Howard (a dentist) persuaded wealthy Denver club members to establish a ski jump northeast of the summit of Genesse Mountain, which was owned by Denver Mountain Parks (1912). Mt. Vernon Canyon resident Lucian Ralston cleared a path for the jump on his ranch land. The hill was 1,000 feet long and had a grade of 35%. Thousands of people walked, rode horses, and drove cars to watch the “ski riders” perform. Several national championships were held there during the early 1920s. The jump was abandoned during the 1930s and revived by University of Denver Ski Team in the 1950s. Doctor Howard operated a fur farm on the land during the 1950s and 1960s until Genesse developers purchased the land in 1964. The site was considered for the proposed for the 1976 Winter Olympics, which was defeated by Colorado voters in 1972. The jump is still visible from I-70, above the Chimney Creek Condominium. The chimney from a large warming house still stands alongside the drive into the development.
100 acres to International Sunday School Association in 1922 for religious instructions for boys and girls. In 1973, fire destroyed buildings but was rebuilt and operating giving counseling and training.
In 1963, owned by Colorado School of Mines. It has a total of 240 feet running due north of four feet six inches by seven feet six inches tunnel with a side drift running due east 110 feet of three feet six inches by five feet six inches for an extensometer station. An instrument area or room is located between the 100 foot and the 130 foot stations of the main tunnel and is ten feet six inches by 30 feet by seven feet six inches high. The Hardrock Contracting company is made up of students from the School of Mines. The rock is drilled with a jack leg, blasted and mucked or removed with a slusher. The tunnel will be concreted when completed.
Gertrude Wheeler Bell was a Golden pioneer and educator. She attended the South School and graduated in 1904. She began her teaching career in 1904 at the North School and later became the principal. She transferred to Mitchell Elementary School in 1941. Gertrude died in 1963 at the age of 87. That same year, a new school (Gertrude Bell Junior High School) was opened and dedicated to her. In 1994 the school underwent major remodeling and added a two-story classroom addition, a larger library, and a new office space. The school is located on a twenty-seven acre site.
1883 Henry Koch located this claim
A gulch beginning southeast of Stanley Park and connecting with Parmalee Gulch in Indian Hills. The name is probably descriptive of the geologic feature.
The Gillchrist home was originally a pioneer home in what is now Pleasant View, probably built sometime around the early 1900s. In 1925, owners C.L. Gillchrist moved it from Pleasant View to Golden, enhancing the underbuilt portion of Clark’s Garden Addition. The moving contractor was E.W. Blood. In later years, the Spring family lived in this residence.
J.W. Gleason had a blacksmith shop at his residence on the Middle Golden Road, the first in Wheat Ridge. His residence was an impressive two-story red brick Denver four-square.
In 1862, the land was originally given to a widow, Miguela Torres, of a veteran of the Indian Wars as bounty. Purchased by Cyrus J. Creighton in 1920, the original plat of Glen Creighton Subdivision filed with Jefferson County on February 7, 1923. The initial construction of streets in Glen Creighton was accomplished in 1923 by Cyrus Creighton using a grader drawn by a four horse team. A total of 15 homes were built in the 1920s, with an additional 35 in the 1930s, 51 in the 1940s, 33 in the 1950s, 8 in the 1960s, and one each in the 1970s and 1980s. The houses are a blend of picturesque English Tudor cottages, Gothic elements, Colonial Revival, French Provincial and American bungalow. Designed by DeBoer, Denver Mayors Speer’s and Stapleton’s renowned landscape architect, it was Denver’s and Lakewood’s first landscaped subdivision. The subdivision’s theme was “Glen Creighton is the park for quiet restful homes.”
Glenco Lime & Quarry Co. have started to develop a coal vein.
The Glencoe Quarry located on Ralston Creek was worked for durable creamy sandstone. Just north of Ralston Creek is the old Glencoe community, now a part of Ralston Reservoir. This early quarry was in full operation between 1884 and 1898 due to the Denver and Middle Park Railway which transported the sandstone. It is not known why the community and the quarry were given the name Glencoe.
This is composed of a cluster of vacation homes, having at one time a central dining room and recreation hall.
Original owner planted a tree for each species of tree growing native to Colorado and wrote book.
This park has flower gardens and open play area.
Not developed as yet.
Built in 1958. Named for its community.
This church has a complex background. A chronological outline follows: 1953 – St. Timothy’s was organized; it was the first in Colorado District Lutheran Church, Missouri Synod to leave the Synod and join AELC. The church site was 4A southwest corner of 32nd Avenue and Youngfield. 1963 – St. Mark’s LCA was organized at 12200 West 38th Avenue. 1976 – Agape withdrew from Bethlehem Lutheran, Missouri Synod, and met in St. Timothy’s church. 1979 – “after living together in the same building” the two merged and became Gloria Dei. 1980 – Gloria Dei and St. Mark’s merged and became Gloria Dei – St. Mark’s met at 12200 West 38th Avenue. 1982 – Changed its name to Glory of God Lutheran. 1988 – Constitution of Glory of God accepted.
Named for the mountain goats that used to be found in abundance here. Now the area supports a large population of Bighorn Sheep.
This c. 1882 Late Victorian, rectangular, 2 story, cross-gabled, brick, 3256 sq. ft. house was built for Eva St. C. Millet. Lavina and John Whitman owned the house from 1887 to 1898. The Whitmans had come from New York to Colorado for health reasons. Their son, Walker Whitman, was a dramatist and a Shakespearean actor. Trained in the East, he was the favorite performer at the Wheat Ridge Lyceum and a member of the Elitch Summer Stock Company. Later, Whitman would play Broadway and tour Europe for years. Lester M. Godley, a sales manager for Liebhardt Commission Company and owner of Arnett-Godley Commission Company, purchased the house in 1898. He later built a four-level tree house for his daughter, Sophie, who entertained college friends in it. Sophie was a Denver University Alumna and taught Edison School in Denver for years. Sophie Godley, inherited the house in 1923 and kept it until her death in 1965. Stanley E. Johnson, an engineer, purchased the house from her estate.
Golden took its name from Thomas L. Golden, who with other prospectors camped at the site during the winter of 1858-1859.
This railroad used narrow gauge tracks of the Colorado Central Railroad, but added a third rail for accommodation of larger equipment. This portion of Colorado Central was opened and incorporated in March, 1878 as the Golden and Ralston Railroad to accommodate the owners of the coal mine at Tindale. The entire line from the Colorado Central connection to Murphy Coal Mine was abandoned in 1880.
The Golden City & South Platte Railroad was created on January 18, 1872, with Charles C. Welch as president and E.L. Berthoud secretary. The line was charted to start at the Colorado Central rail yards, crossing Clear Creek on a low bridge proceeding south on what was once East Street, located now behind Safeway. It turned southwest just before the present day 13th Street and crossed over at a 45 degree angle to what is now Jackson Street through the cut that creates the corner of Jackson and Ford Streets in Golden. It went due south on present day Jackson as far as the Golden High School, where it again went southwest negotiating the terrain in a curving manner. It cut through Golden Cemetery and south past Morrison to Littleton, a distance of 17 miles.
Bonds were sold in January of 1873 and the line was believed to have been built as far as a local coal mine to supply the Colorado Central with fuel for its locomotives. The Crash of 1873 stopped construction at that point until 1879. Then most of the 17 miles was graded, but rail ran out at a clay pit at Hoyt’s Ranch and a lime kiln nearby. Grade was completed in September 1879, but construction was halted in 1880 due to the right-of-way of the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad cutting the Golden & South Platte Railroad off from Morrison.
The construction began March 1879. Filled with water diverted from Clear Creek via Barber Ditch, Church Ditch and Golden, Ralston Creek Ditch and seepage. This system lies in Water District #7.
March 14, 1885, it was reported that indications are brightening in the Golden copper mining district.
This ditch is in Water District #7. Claimant for adjudication, October 4, 1884, was the Golden Flume and Ditch Company.
Jan. 2, 1892, it was reported that the company owned 800 and 900 acres of clay land that has every kind of clay that is known.
from Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Golden Gate & Gregory Road (1862)
This toll road climbed Tucker Gulch and Golden Gate Canyon to access the Central City Mining District. It operated through 1871.
Canyon takes its name from the 1859 Pikes Peak gold rush community of Golden Gate City, named for Tom Golden, located at its mouth. This canyon offered an entry way for people and machinery to reach the mining district of Central City. On August 15, 1862, the Golden Gate and Gregory Toll Road Company was chartered and ran from the mouth of the canyon to Michigan House in Cold Springs Valley.
The name has evolved to represent that Front Range region bounded roughly by Colorado Highway 119 on the west, the northern boundaries of Golden Gate State Park and lower Ralston Creek drainage on the north, Clear Creek Canyon on the south, and the foothills between Clear Creek and Ralston Creek prairie entrances. The canyon encompasses both Golden Gate Canyon State Park and White Ranch Open Space Park. The canyon occupies portions of Tungsten, Eldorado Springs, Black Hawk, Ralston Buttes, Golden, Evergreen and Squaw Pass quad maps. It was originally designated an eight-mile, east-west canyon that opens onto prairie one mile north of Clear Creek Canyon (see Tucker Gulch).
The first tract of land to be purchased by Colorado State Parks and Recreation Department in 1960 was 200 acres in Gilpin County. The park was opened to the public in 1965, and at present encompasses 8,500 acres. The land was acquired from ranchers, Bureau of Land Management, Department of Interior, and Colorado State Land Board. The park headquarters are located at the junction of Ralston Creek and Golden Gate Canyon Road.
Received legislative authorization August 15, 1862. “‘Golden Gate and Gregory Road Company. From Golden Gate via Tucker’s Canon or nearest and best route to Michigan House in Cold Springs Valley.” “Golden Gate, a village of 26 buildings in all stages of completion. Entered mountains here, thru a toll gate, paying 75 cents per wagon.” James Bond owned and operated the lower ten miles of the toll road from 1869 to 1883.
Built in the early 1950s on one acre of land donated by rancher Bessie Nare to the grange for a community center. Prior to having the building, the grange alternated monthly meetings between Belcher Hill and Robinson Hill schools. Mary Jane Nare, daughter of Bessie, later donated an additional acre to increase the parking area. A bronze plaque on the front door of the grange reads: “In memory of Bessie and Mary Jane Nare, Golden Gate Pioneers who donated this property to the Golden Gate Grange for the benefit of the community.”
June 21, 1884, the Golden Gate copper mine was reported to be being worked by George W. Hill of Denver. A tunnel was driven to strike the vein at a depth of 75 feet from the surface. The ore was recently assayed at 185 dollars to the ton.
The 1924 building, designed by noted architect Eugene G. Groves, is significant as a rare and well-executed local example of the Beaux Arts style. In spite of additions to the school during the 1950s and 1960s the building retains a high degree of integrity. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places on March 14, 1997 (5JF.653).
In the mid-nineteenth century, independent Jewish mutual aid societies began to found cemeteries and provide funeral arrangements for their members. The West Side Benevolent Society was formed in 1906 to meet this need. In 1908, the WSBS purchased a rural parcel of land on West Colfax Ave. which opened as Golden Hill Cemetery. Bisected by the former road to Golden, the two sections of the cemetery were very different in character and use.
The lower, southern section of the cemetery is the larger of the two, and is well landscaped, well maintained and still in use. The upper, northern section in steep, rocky and neglected. Essentially the northern section (containing 746 grave sites) was reserved for the indigent buried at community expense, for suicides (restricted from the other graves by Jewish custom) and the numerous tuberculosis patients from Jewish Consumptive Relief Society. The victims of tuberculosis were also restricted due to the belief that persons visiting the cemetery could contract the disease through the deceased. Many graves are unidentified and still others have not been maintained over the decades. The Hill Section of the cemetery was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1995 (5JF975).
The new Golden Library opened in 1996 in the newly renovated recreation center. The library began in a wood frame building near 13th street and was first organized in the early 1900s.
Nov. 17, 1883, it was reported Messrs. Brown, Brady & Truesdale have staked a claim 1/2 mile above the Maggie Mine just west of Golden and called it the Golden Lode. Nov. 24, 1883, it was reported a shaft of over ten feet had been sank and over 1,000 lbs. of good smelting copper ore with some silver and gold were taken out.
The building was constructed between 1864 and 1866. It was originally believed to be a dairy, then served as a church hall, and later a plumbing shop. In 1966 Golden Camera service was in operation there.
The Golden Opera House was built by the builders Milliken and Lee in 1879. Formerly dedicated on October 25, 1879, the two-story brick building had an ornate, pressed metal cornice, first floor offices, and a second story.
The reservoir was established by the city of Golden in 1904 to hold water for the city system. Water was piped from Squaw Mountain across Beaver Brook and Lookout Mountain, then from the reservoir into the city. Easement for the piping and reservoir were traded for residential development water taps, sold initially by Rees C. Vidler, and later by other developers. When Golden changed their water supply to Clear Creek in the 1960s, mountain residents were forced to accept continued untreated water until the Lookout Mountain Water District was established in 1988. The district purchased Golden’s rights to reservoirs on Squaw Mountain, the pipe system, and the “Golden Reservoir” on Lookout Mountain.
In 1881 this coal mine owned by the Williams Coal Mining Co. had a shaft 110 feet down.
Golden Street was platted with the Golden Park Addition, and not opened until the 1950s due to its passing through Cemetery Hill. It was probably named after the town of Golden. Its name was changed by city ordinance in 1904 to 4th Street.
Built in 1949, by persuasion from Lu Holland, head of the Chamber of Commerce and owner of the Holland House (now Table Mountain Inn), at a cost of $7,500. The Golden Welcome Arch is listed on the State Register of Historic Places.
Origin of name not learned.
Named for the nearby creek.
It begins about one mile northwest of Highway 285 at Richmond Hill Road and runs southerly into Elk Creek near Glenelk. Named for the numerous gooseberry bushes along it sides.
Goosetown is Golden’s historic German district, having come into its own during the 1870s as immigrant railroad workers settled around the main works of the Colorado Central Railroad on its north side. It was named “Goosetown” either for the nearby flock of geese Adolph Coors kept, or the cackling of the female inhabitants of the locality. Although Goosetown’s earliest buildings dated well into the 1860s, the bulk of the locality was built by speculative builders in the 1870s, resulting in an explosion of nondescript frame housing and a fire hazard, prompting Golden’s first anti-growth ordinance in 1874 banning such construction. Goosetown was home to a rowdy set of blue-collar German families, as well as a scattering of other immigrants including persons from Sweden, Poland and England. Goosetown, being near the freight depot, had a number of hotels, including the Burgess House, Omaha House, Pennsylvania House, and the German House which had earlier served as Germania Hall. Numerous bars dotted the district. Over time, Goosetown came more under the influence of Golden’s Swedish population, who took over many of its establishments. After the railroad tore down its buildings there in 1927, Goosetown fell into decay for some 70 years, losing many buildings to arson and Coors expansion. By the time preservationists led by the Golden Landmarks Association began its renewal, about 80% of the district had been lost, and its last historic business (Goosetown Tavern) moved to Denver in 1998. However, its western side and most of its important landmarks remain, including the Burgess House, several homes of the Maas family that has lived in Goosetown for over a century, 2 fraternal lodges, and the historic fire station given to Goosetown by William A.H. Loveland in 1879.
In November 1915, John Gordon and his family lived in a tent on this land. In May 1916, Gordon built the original 10′ x 10′ log cabin, now used as a kitchen. Gordon died in 1929 and his wife sold to Prince Balthasar Gialma Odescalchi, a noble of the Holy Roman Empire. After purchasing the land and cabin, the Prince built the 3,200 sq. ft. stone house, turkey house, meat locker, bridge, pump house, one room cabin and the barn. The Prince’s wife, Elaine Wilcox Odescalchi, was daughter of Charles McAllister Wilcox, who was president of Daniels and Fisher when the D & F Tower was built in Denver in 1910. The Prince and his family lived here until it was sold to R.W. Drake in 1940.
Built initially in 1890 by William Thomas Gorell, this is one of the dwindling reminders of Lakewood’s distant rural past.
After nine years working fro a land owner named A.R. Ayers, building fences and completing other jobs, Gorrell bought the first piece of land that, by 1906, totaled 320 acres, reaching west to today’s south Garrison Street, east to Wadsworth Blvd. And south to Florida Ave. The 1890 purchase was quickly followed by construction of a two-story farm house and some outbuildings. Two years later, in 1892, Gorrell married Anna Aduddell. They set up housekeeping in the new house establishing a long residence that continues today. It remains the home to Nora Gorrell Luino, and a grandson, Norman Nicholas.
The Gorrell dairy farm became prosperous through endless days and years of hard work. The big barn sheltered 30 milking cows and the usual array of other farm animals. Grains and corn grew in the fields and were stone in Gorrells silos to feed the stock. Gorrell sold cattle and also rented property on Green Mountain as pasture for dairy cows.
In 1924 the house caught fire, no one was harmed. Gorrell and son Fred built a new brick home on the old foundation in 1925.
Eventually, William Gorrell gave each of his six children six acres for their homesites, dictating exactly how they should be built.
Bob and Everett Gorrell stayed in the dairy business until after WWII. In the mid 50s they sold a large part to developers of the Palomino and Greenwood Park subdivisions. The dairy itself was sold in the 1960s.
Built ca. 1885. The site of the Morrison Stone, Lime, & Town Company. The kiln (built ca. 1878) made the mortar that was used in many of the houses that still stand today. Jonas Henry Schrock was believed to have had a saloon in this building. The Gotchalks started their bakery downstairs and lived in the one-and-a-half story rear apartment in 1889. Later, this building was used as the Morrison Post Office. At the present time it is a liquor store.
Built in 1927. Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003. Lot #1, Orchard Addition #2, Wide Acres subdivision; 2/3 acres. Mountjoy & Frewen, architects; Georgian Colonial, Dutch Colonial or Old English.
Located two blocks south of West Belleview Avenue and west of Wadsworth Boulevard in the Governor’s Ranch community, this school opened in August 1987. It was named Governor’s Ranch because the land was originally owned by Colorado Governor Grant. This school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District.
The church was established in 1983.
It was established after 1938 by Grace Methodist Church of Denver and became a summer camp for boys in 1959. The main feature is a beautiful stone chapel near Highway 285. For many years the property was the Beaver Ranch Children’s Camp, Inc. In 1994 most of the property was acquired by the Camping Services Branch of the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) of Metropolitan Denver and renamed it Camp James Q. Newton after Denver’s youthful post World War II mayor, “Quigg” Newton. The original nucleus of the Grace Community Center is now privately owned.
The park was given by Judge Samuel Wallace Johnson to the Wheat Ridge Lion’s Club, which gave it to the Wheat Ridge Recreation District. When the City of Wheat Ridge was incorporated in 1969, the Wheat Ridge Recreation District disbanded and all property was given to the city. It is now a segment of the Green Belt. Biking and walking paths, a playground, picnic tables, fishing, the natural environment, and rest rooms are the varied facilities here.
Grand Camp Creek was the original name of Bear Creek, given to it in 1815 by Auguste Pierre Chouteau and Jules de Munn. They were the leaders of a French trading party formed in St. Louis who came here in September of that year looking to trade with local tribes. The party of 47 men held a “grand council” with the Indians of the area at what is now Bear Creek in the mountains of Jefferson County. This name continued in use at least under the Long expedition in 1820.
Dec. 29, 1883, it was reported the Grand View a new discovery by Mr. Koch, shows copper sulphurates in great profusion in a regularly formed crevice.
This was a lane to the Martin Everett house and later to the Bungers and was often called Bungers Lane. It went only to what would be 35th Avenue today. When it was extended to West 32nd Avenue and on to West 26th Avenue it became Grandview Street. The final name is Teller Street.
This main Arvada avenue was originally called Railroad Street in 1870 because it ran parallel to the Colorado Central Railroad tracks. Before 1934 this avenue was spelled as two words. Grand View Avenue extended from Lamar to Yukon Street and was known as the first “paved road” to Denver. This achievement prompted the first Arvada Harvest Festival in 1925. With the exception of four years, the celebration has continued every year until 1995. Grandview Avenue currently extends from Lamar Street west to Independence Street and is probably named for the grand view of the mountains.
This lake is located east of Wadsworth and north of West Bowles.
This reservoir is located east of Wadsworth Boulevard and North of West Bowles.
This reservoir is located east of Wadsworth Boulevard and north of West Bowles.
Grant School was built of adobe brick in 1864, but melted in a spring rainstorm by 1866. It was replaced by a log school c. 1867 at approximately Ward Road and W. 64th Ave. Grant School was named for Grant Precinct in which it was located. The precinct was probably named for President U.S. Grant.
Grant Street and the Town of Arvada became official in 1870. The street was named for Ulysses S. Grant, the United States president from 1869-1877. After Jefferson County revised the street names in 1949, Grant Street became Grant Place.
Grape Creek was the original name of Deer Creek, given to it by the Stephen H. Long expedition in 1820.
Producing uranium mine, employed six people. E.E. Lewis Inc. contacts, Wayne Freedman et al owner. At least 91 feet level shaft, 150 tons per month regular, 215 tons peak 1959 100 foot level, spread mine, 160 foot level, total depth 163 feet, drifts southeast up to 170 feet, mined 1957-67.
This was a crude wagon road from Mt. Vernon to Bear Creek Canyon, west of Morrison, until 1938 when Jefferson County constructed the road to provide access to US Highway 40 in Mt. Vernon Canyon to escape flash floods that occurred on US Highway 74 along Bear Creek.
Grassy Mountain is the earliest recorded name of Green Mountain south of Golden.
Charles Graul bought 15 acres in 1887 and began truck gardening but soon tired of it and returned to Denver where he built and ran the Tremont Hotel at 13th and Blake. His son Charles was left in charge of the Wheat Ridge property. In 1897 young Charles traded strawberry plants to Roe Chamberlain for pansy plants and became a florist. He and the plants survived the first winter under crude, demanding conditions and in 1898 he built two greenhouses. He was a florist, but in 1930 he grew cucumbers which retailed for $1.00 each. By this time he had 50,000 sq. feet of “glass.” He also later grew tomatoes and pioneered greenhouse vegetable culture. His grandsons George and Charles III continued the business retail and wholesale.
Oliver Graves was a Fifty-niner, who came from Illinois to Spring Gulch, Colorado to mine for gold. He bought the Golden Gate Toll Road, but sold it when he moved to Arvada in 1862. He and his wife, Lucy (Story) Graves purchased 160 acres and built their home on what became known as Graves Avenue. This lovely home has since been demolished. Oliver’s son, William Graves, built a blacksmith shop on the northeast corner of Wadsworth and Grandview Avenues. By 1916, A.L. Davis bought the site for Dodge Brothers and Chevrolet cars.
Built in 1893, J.H. Kriege was the cabin’s first owner. Mrs. Kriege was Molly Brown’s personal nurse. A 2-room cabin was built in 1908, according to Jefferson County tax records.
This ditch lies in Water District #7. Its water is diverted from Clear Creek via the Slough Ditch. Claimant for adjudication in 1884 was Oliver Graves. He was a pioneer farmer in Arvada. The ditch appears on an old map, circa 1900, once used in the Old Jefferson County Courthouse.
Oliver Graves subdivided this land April14, 1890. This subdivision was in small acreages for small farms and has been later re-subdivided into home sites and business locations.
This ditch lies in Water District #7. Water came from Clear Creek via Slough Ditch. Claimant in 1884 was Oliver Graves. According to a chart compiled by C. L. Chatfield, in 1919, the ditch was not in use at that time. But it still appears on the State Engineer’s “Water Rights Report,” June 1989. Ditch tender for the Slough Ditch Association stated in March, 1990 that it had been abandoned to housing. Pioneer Oliver Graves was a resident of Arvada in 1862, and his priority in Graves South Ditch dates from May 21,1863.
Oliver and John P. Graves subdivided this land December 18, 1888. This was the second subdivision Plat filed in the arvada area.
This reservoir is filled from Clear Creek, Elk Horn Draw, and Walnut Creek. The earliest appropriation date is December 31, 1878. The water is used for irrigation and municipal (Broomfield) needs. Municipal water was transferred into Great Western from Nissen and Zang Reservoirs in 1984, all in Water District #7.
It is composed of private family plots with several unmarked graves. Only two tombstones remain. The first known burial was in 1914 and the last 1941. It is now abandoned.
Only about two miles long, Green Creek runs into Cub Creek at Brook Forest. Name origin unknown.
Myron Neusteter and nephew, Norman Gross, bought land from Vernon Z. Reed Jr. The Jewish organization was looking for a house and future site of a golf course in the 1900’s. Green Gables has been annexed to Denver.
Built in 1968. Was named for nearby Green Gables Country Club.
Placed on the National Register of Historic Places October 1, 1974, 5JF192.
The dense green growth on this mountain was the probable source of its name.
Green Mountain was used for hunting elk, deer, and jackrabbits. It covers over 7,000 acres, 900 hundred acres under irrigation by the Agricultural and Welch (Golden Flume) ditches. Green Mountain was formally part of the Hayden Brothers Ranch that stretched westward from Harrison Street to the Hogback. John and Lou Hayden acquired the land in the early 1900s by assembling hundreds of subdivided lots that had been sold during the 1880s. The sale of the 50- by 150-foot lots by mail throughout the U.S. and Great Britain was one of the first sales of this kind. Col. Jacob Downing previously owned the land. The Hayden brothers operated the cattle ranch through World War II. In 1941, the federal government began taking title of eminent domain through the ranch property for the Remington Arms Plant, now the Federal Center. The Hayden’s donated 360 acres to Jefferson County Fairgrounds for the Westernaires and their needs, plus land for an Open Space park in memory of William F. Hayden.
The majority of Green Mountain has been donated by or purchased from the Hayden family since 1972 with funding from Jeffco Open Space and the City of Lakewood.
Originally Landmark Baptist for 4 1/2 years. In 1962 moved from Alameda and Moore Streets in 1963. Facilities were used by the Jefferson County Health Department, for a well baby clinic on Wednesdays.
Named for the nearby mountain.
Built in 1962. Was named for its Geographic location.
Built in 1972. Named for the geographic area.
This park is a neighborhood park which has been used for little league football and baseball with picnic facilities.
The land was originally registered in a mining claim for “Happy” Jack Schofield. The copper mine was unsuccessful and Schofield abandoned it and the cabin. The property was homesteaded in c. 1871 and the ranch house was built in 1894. In 1895, Edwin Eugene Culver moved in and established a timber pre-emption nearby. Culver filed a homestead claim and proved up on it in three years by building a ranch house, corrals, and plowing the necessary acreage. The log house occupied by the family was built in 1895 of hand-hewn logs. Culver ran cattle on open range from Pikes Peak to Long’s Peak and drove cattle to market in Denver, often with his daughter, Ethel, as one of the wranglers. Culver ran cattle until 1927, dying in 1938. The 1895 ranch house and carriage barn are the only two original buildings remaining on the property. Many of the original outbuildings were razed during the construction of Highway 126. The ranch has continued to be the vacation home of the Myers family, Ethel Culver having married Horace Myers. The cabin is without electricity, plumbing, and running water to this day. The ranch was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on October 1, 1974 (5JF.193).
The origin of the name of Green Street is not clear. It was re-designated as part of Ford Street in 1888, the first Golden street to be renamed.
Platted by Carl and Elizabeth Edwards in 1956. Name from Green Valley Ranch from which subdivision was formed.
This was the first wagon road into the mountains north of Clear Creek Canyon. It opened with fire wheels May 4, 1859 and was about 22 miles long. It was engineered by John Gregory to accommodate supplies of gold seekers from Indiana. The road left Golden Gate City in S20, T35, R70W, Golden Quad. It climbed 7,120 feet to enter the mountain and proceeded west/northwest along the back of the mountains. It reached Guy Gulch through Booten Gulch at S17, T3S, R71W Ralston Buttes Quad. It thence approximated contemporary Golden Gate Canyon Road as far as Dory Hill in S30, T2S, R72W, Black Hawk Quad. The road proceeded south down the west fork of Four-mile Gulch staying west of principal gulch to reach Clear Creek in S7, T3S, R72W Black Hawk Quad. The eastern most portion, from prairie west to Guy Gulch, was used less than two months by gold seekers. “The road was exceedingly steep and difficult to ascend. On arriving at the summit, I was astonished beyond measure at the scenery…”
Gregory Street was named for famed gold discoverer John Hamilton Gregory, who had lived near Golden in the gold rush times. It was platted with the Golden Park Addition, and for many years was the northernmost opened street in Golden. Its name was changed by ordinance in 1904. Later, a circular street up Cemetery Hill above it was named Gregory Circle.
Genevieve Chandler Phipps was divorced from multi-millionaire Colorado Senator Lawrence Phipps, bought 1,000 acres on upper Bear Creek, west of Evergreen, and in 1916-1917 built an elegant mansion and a complex of buildings for herself and two daughters. In subsequent years and through several owners, Greystone has functioned as a family home, cattle ranch and guest ranch for the rich and famous. Name source is unknown.
Built ca. 1882. Mr. Grosser worked for Mr. Beckett and Mr. Ross. He built the jail with the door pins on the inside. He was the first prisoner in the new jail and the first to break out.
This c. 1899 one-story, front gabled, wood frame dwelling has 594 sq. ft. of living area with two bedrooms and a 180 sq. ft. enclosed porch on its south side. Roy and Florence Gunn were the original owners with Glen Niles purchasing the property on Oct. 15, 1929.
About 7.5 miles long, this is the largest canyon opening on Clear Creek Canyon from the north. It was named for John Guy, the first settler to homestead in the gulch in 1859. It was full of beaver dams prior to settlement. It accommodated a well-traveled wagon road between Clear Creek and the upper regions of Golden Gate Canyon. It was considered by Loveland for a railroad route; by the time railroad construction reached the mouth of the gulch, Loveland decided to continue on up Clear Creek Canyon. The lowest mile of the gulch is the roughest; the wagon road was eventually abandoned. Foot traffic used a game trail that climbs over the ridge between Guy and Huntsman Gulches (see 1942 Denver Mountain Parks Map) to where the railroad ran on the north side of Clear Creek. A stop on the Colorado Central Railroad. (See Evergreen Quad, Railroad Bridges and Depots, Clear Creek Region, Jefferson County.)
This 2.75-mile long road traversed Guy Gulch to connect with Clear Creek Canyon Wagon Road on the south and Gregory Road on the north.
Named for John C. Guy, early homesteader in Guy Gulch.
Named for Guy Hill which takes its name from John C. Guy, early homesteader in Guy Gulch. Built in 1876. Building: 1-story frame, o.d. 30.5′ x 19.5′, shingle roof; white with green trim outside, light color inside; 2 windows each on long side, 1 window in door; 1 entrance; anteroom with water container on table, closet, coat hooks; 1 school room, stove at front of room. Surrounding area: swings and teeter-totter; 2-door outhouse; stable; in later years separate teacherage converted from well house and coal-storage shed. Building sold April 1961 to Victor Nelson. Eventually acquired by Frank Stermole and donated to Golden Civic Fdn. Moved to 12th and Ford Streets in Golden in 1962. Still standing as historical exhibit. At its original location served also as community center for an occasional dance, meetings, Sunday School services.
This is a private family plot on Hack family homestead with two known burials, one dated 1906, the other unknown.
A legend tells of an Indian battle on this hill in which the Indian chief was killed and buried. In his pouch he had some hackberry seeds. Subsequently, a tree grew that could be seen from as far as North Denver. It is said that early wagon trains and stage coaches used that tree for a guide. In 1937, the tree was chopped down by vandals. A new tree was planted 75 feet to the west in a small park.
This school was built in 1966 and named for the Hill on which the legendary hackberry tree grew. Pioneers used this tree as a landmark. According to the myth, an Indian chief was buried on this hill and a seed from his medicine bag sprouted and grew into the gnarled tree. In order to straighten Wadsworth Blvd., the Colorado Highway Department attempted to move the tree. Arvada citizens were saddened when vandals destroyed the hackberry tree in 1937.
Hackberry Park is a joint North Jeffco and Hackberry Elementary School, Neighborhood Park and has been developed for the five to fourteen age group. Park and school have been named for the former, legendary Hackberry Tree.
The Arvada Garden Club was organized when the 135 year old Hackberry Tree was demolished in 1937. The tree was a landmark for the pioneers on their way to the goldfields to the west and was a source of many legends told by the Indians who roamed the area. The Arvada Garden Club planted Hackberry seeds at the original site in 1966, applied and received a Sears and Roebuck Co. grant of $1,404.90 for a Community Beautification Project for the park. In August, 1969, Richard S. Bartlett, Mayor of Arvada, proclaimed September 1, 1969, as Hackberry Tree Day. Also a Hackberry tree has been included as a symbol on the official Seal of the City of Arvada.
In Water District No. 7, this ditch has Ralston Creek Priority No. 15. May 4, 1866. Water was diverted from the south bank of Ralston Creek. Claimants in 1884 were Asahel Haines and Harmon Ballinger. Haines and Ballinger were early farmers in the area north of North Table Mountain. This ditch is shown on an c. 1900 map once used in the Jefferson County Courthouse.
Located in Water District #7, this ditch has Ralston Creek Priority No. 17, dated May, 1869. Water is diverted from the north bank of Ralston Creek, served as feeder for Tucker Lake. Claimants in 1884 were Asahel Haines and Leon Piquette. Haines was an early day farmer in the area. The original ditch appears on an c. 1900 map once used in the old Jefferson County Courthouse.
Asahel Haines pre-empted 159 acres at $1.25 per acre, northwest of Arvada c. 1859. In the required five years, Haines had paid $198.76 for the property, built a cabin and Haines Irrigation Ditch (1861), was given ownership of the property at Denver City, January 29, 1864, and received U.S. Patent No 144 on April 6, 1866. Six Haines children were born in the cabin, eventually a half story was added for two bedrooms and an addition on the north for two more bedrooms. Haines had a good business selling wares to the gold miners and to traveling merchants. He was a successful farmer and sold vegetables, eggs and fruit. It has been said that John Gregory camped on Haines property during the winter in the 1860s. After the property changed hands several times, Montie Blunn bought the cabin and grounds in 1946. Mr. Blunn repaired the cabin without the additions for his sons to use as a bunkhouse. At that time it was known as the Blunn Cabin. The City of Arvada bought the Blunn property, January 12, 1971 for the future Blunn Reservoir. The Arvada Historical Society proposed to the City Planning Department and to City Council that this cabin be preserved since it was the only one of its kind in the area. The City moved it to the newly built Arvada Center in 1978. It had to be dismantled, log by log , and rebuilt in the Museum area in the Center. By December, 1978, Christmas was held inside the cabin.
Built in 1924. Designated a county landmark 12/1/2003.
The water is diverted from the south bank of Ralston Creek. Claimant in 1884 was Asahel Haines. Asahel and Abi Haines were pioneers in the area north of North Table Mountain. Their log cabin is currently on display in the museum at the Arvada Center. This ditch shows up on a c. 1900 map once used in the Jefferson Courthouse, and a 1915 map similarly used, shows “Haines Estate” property. This ditch is Ralston Creek Priority #3, dating May 30, 1861.
Haines Elementary School, in District Number 7, was named for Asahel Haines, who served in the District Number 7 School Board for several years. His wife Abi Haines, boarded teachers in their cabin which was built in 1864. Haines donated property for a brick school built in the mid 1860s. After his death, October 29, 1890, the school and property were inherited by David and his wife, Mary Lucinda (Haines) Ballinger. By 1977 the Haines cabin was still standing, but was in danger of being inundated by Arvada Reservoir. The Arvada Historical Society worked to save the cabin, which the City of Arvada moved to the museum in the new Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities.
Feb. 13, 1888, it was reported that at the Hall and Jones coal mine they are loading five cars per day for the railroad company, besides supplying a large local demand. A new steam pump had arrived and an air shaft is being sunk over the mine. Sept. 11, 1878, mine had 200-foot shaft with 102-foot crosscut.
Small cave discovered in 1964. Aboriginal occupation dating from Woodland times. Discovery, description of site, and excavation detailed. The center of Golden can be seen from the cave entrance.
Hanging Rock was a dramatic-looking massive overhang of rock projecting over the track of the Colorado Central Railroad. It was among the most popular scenic attractions of the route.
Built ca. 1884.
This project is a unit of Wheat Ridge City Parks and is the location of the city community garden area. The 10-foot by 20-foot plots are rented by individuals from the city, which provides water and seeds. Gardens are administered by the Wheat Ridge Men’s Garden Club as a volunteer civic service.
G.W. Harkness came from Iowa to Arvada for his wife’s health in 1918. He purchased the Stepp Ranch in 1919 from Mrs. Missouri A.E. Stepp. The ranch became the property of his son and wife, Wayne W. and Esther B. Harkness, in 1939 until Wayne’s death October 25, 1994. Both had contributed to the Arvada community: Esther was a teacher and had taught at Ralston crossing Elementary School and also an early pharmacist and had practiced for fifty years. Both were members of Enterprise Grange for half-a-century. Wayne Harkness financed the paving of the roads in the Arvada Cemetery. The Ranch was probably named for Wayne W. Harkness, since he had added new barns, corrals, a brick home, and had farmed and ranched there for 55 years.
Land for a Sports Complex at 58th and Miller Street was acquired in a 99-year lease agreement between the State of Colorado, acting through the Department of Institutions, for 40 acres of State Home and Training School property (Ridge Home) to be used by North Jeffco for Recreational activities. Bill #264 was enacted by the Colorado General Assembly and approved by Governor Love, September 30, 1969. North Jeffco leases the property for $400 annually and 6% to 9% of the net income from concessions. This complex originally had four baseball fields and four football fields. Finally, The Sports Complex at 58th and Miller Streets was given a name at the 25th anniversary celebration of the North Jeffco District in 1981. It was named for Harold D. Lutz, the attorney who organized North Jeffco Recreation and Park District in 1956, and continued as the District’s attorney until 1994. His other contributions to Jefferson County were: he filled an unexpired term as Jefferson County Judge in 1950 and was elected to that office in 1952 for an additional four years; he was appointed the attorney for Jefferson County R-1 School District for 18 years; he also organized and is the attorney for Foothills Park and Recreation District and for Evergreen Park and Recreation District. Additions to the Sports Complex following the name change were: Purchase of 13 acres to the East from Stan Lassak et al in 1993; a batting cage; more football and baseball fields; and elaborate firework displays on the fourth of July which can be seen for miles around.
Harriman Lake, actually a reservoir, is situated west of Kipling Parkway and south of Quincy Avenue. It is fed by the piped Arnett-Harriman Ditch. It is named after George W. Harriman, who was called by historian Wilbur F. Stone”the father of the storage reservoir system.” Harriman, the son of a shoemaker, came from Canada by way of Wisconsin. Once in Colorado, he began working in the hotel business in Central City and in Kenosha Park, on Park County. In 1870, he started his ranch in Bear Creek Valley where he began homesteading with 160 acres which he eventually increased to 850 acres. He took over the two-year-old Arnett Ditch, completed it and renamed it Harriman Ditch. He built the reservoir in 1873, which also bears his name. Harriman was County Commissioner in Jefferson County when the old courthouse was constructed in 1883. He moved to Fort Logan where he died in 1915.
One of the stops made by stage coaches, wagons and travelers on horseback was the Old Store’s place, Westfield Farm, on the southwest corner of the Sheridan-Mississippi intersection. Because this primitive trail was one of the early routes into present day Lakewood, it gave the intersection of South Sheridan and West Mississippi historical significance. In 1908, Leo Hart and Lena Fischer married and in the early 1920s they bought property on the north side of Morrison Road and South Sheridan Blvd. Hart turned the old root beer stand into a small restaurant and called it Hart’s corner. Built in 1924, this vernacular wood frame structure had additions added on until 1950. The bar and restaurant is an irregular plan, 56′ long and 48′ wide, with a hipped roof. Deciding to cater to the cars as well as the motorists, Hart’s installed four gas pumps in front of the eatery around 1926. By 1929 he was earning a comfortable living and bought 90 acres of land which extend south to Louisiana Avenue to build a brick house. He also put up a grocery store across from his restaurant, with eight cabins with garages for the tourist trade. These later were expanded to 16. Hart also had a 1,000 foot deep well drilled which supplied his home and business with pure water. Leo’s son, William S. Hart still lives in the immediate vicinity of the Hart enterprise. Leo Hart died in 1939 and Tommy Hart operated the family business until his death in 1978. Hart’s Corner Tavern was sold to the Moutsos family. The Moutsos now run the old tavern under the name of “Tommy’s Corner.” Business continues to be brisk and remains the oldest business in the City of Lakewood.
An early alternate name for Pleasant Park, indicative of the mountain grass hay grown in its meadows.
Hay Road was an early name for Pleasant Park Road, running east from Conifer. Named for the hay fields it ran to in Pleasant Park.
A “Georgetown Road” crossroads on Soda Creek seven miles north of Bergen Park c. 1873-1879. Named for pioneer Ben Hayward who was murdered in 1879 by two men who hired him to take them to Denver. They stuffed his body in a culvert where it was found the following spring. The men were caught and before their trial were seized by a lynch mob and hanged in Golden.
Hayward Junction was where Soda Creek now runs under Interstate 70, and construction of the latter obliterated the site.
This is the site of the Wheat Ridge City Administration Building and is named for the Hayward family that sold the property to the city. This was the long time farm of the John Olsons. Bike and walking paths, a playground, picnic tables, and a fountain are features of the park. The fountain source and site is the former artesian well of the Olsons. Steve Driftmier, the last owner of the Wilmore Dahlia Farm and Nursery at West 38th Avenue and North Wadsworth Boulevard, landscaped and donated the garden on the eastern edge of this park dedicated to the W.W. Wilmore family. A veterans’ memorial is to be erected here.
On March 19, 1880, Elbert Headley Filed for a homestead in this location and built a one-room log cabin. The furniture consisted of one crudely made table and an oil drum stove. Headley and another miner named Young occupied this cabin while working a nearby mine. It still stands today on land owned by Carl and Mildred Kuehster.
William Henderson was a active citizen and developed one of the first subdivisions in Wheat Ridge and gave his name to the street. It became Pierce Street when the master plan was made.
This plat was recorded December 28, 1882, and an amended plan was recorded December 3, 1884. The street was named for a Mr. Henderson. Henderson Street later became the present Pierce Street.
Claimants May 13, 1936, of this Water District #7 reservoir were Richard Calkins and heirs of John S. and Henry A. Calkins. Construction started April 15, 1877, and was filled from Clear Creek, Little Dry Creek (Kelly Creek) and Ralston Creek via Farmers High Line Canal. In 1959 the City of Westminster acquired the rights to the lake. It was abandoned March 19, 1982, and water was transferred to Standley Lake for Westminster use. The original construction was done by Henry D. Calkins.
Construction commenced July 1876 on these two Water District #7 reservoirs. They are filled from Clear Creek via Agricultural Ditch and Lee Brothers Lateral. Claimant in 1936 was Jennie Lee. The Lee families were early farmers in the area, and their farms show on a 1915 map.
The name is self explanatory. The church was organized in 1943 at 13th and Simms and moved to Wheat Ridge in 1976.
Heritage Square had it’s grand opening in June of 1971. It is an “artisan’s marketplace” located just south of Golden. Heritage Square was purchased and redone by the Woodmoor Corporation (headed by Steven N. Arnold) after the Magic Mountain facilities went bankrupt.
Heritage Valley Park was one of 30 parks to be built by the City of Arvada. Citizens approved the bond referendum in 1974 and the park was constructed two years later. The two-acre site was a 6% land dedication from the developer and would relieve the pressure of Secrest Park. This is a basic neighborhood park, bounded on three sides by the Assembly of God Church.
On November 10, 1866, Pete Peterson and his wife deeded 160 acres of land in the Deer Creek Valley to Frank Hildebrand and George Seiter. The Hildebrand Ranch contained one farmhouse and various sheds. The original farmhouse was made of logs. The ranch was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF188) on March 13, 1975 and is currently cared for by the Chatfield Arboretum.
Foundations for buildings, located both sides of Deer Creek Road. Established in 1895 and the first sizable settlement in the Deer Creek area.
The West Side Benevolent Society, an independent Jewish mutual aid society, established the Golden Hill Cemetery in 1908. The Hill Section, along the northern edge of the property, was reserved for indigent Jews buried at community expense, suicides (restricted from the main portion of the cemetery according to Jewish custom), and tuberculosis patients from the Jewish Consumptive Relief Society (JCRS) sanitarium and hospital. Most of those interred in the Hill Section were tuberculosis victims. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF975) on July 31, 1995.
Hill Street was platted at the far west end of Golden in the Golden City Mineral & Land Company’s Addition. It may have been named for famed smelting magnate Nathaniel P. Hill. It was placed on unusable terrain and later vacated.
Eight families started meeting in homes and in Allendale School. The church was organized in January, 1965, built and dedicated in 1966. Rev. Henry Thompson organized the church and was also the first minister in the new church.
Hillside Park was a City Park approved in the 1974 Referendum. This park was supplied with tiny-tot equipment for new families with small children.
This park has a basketball court, playground, and open play area.
Wheat Ridge native George Hively established his thriving blacksmith shop here in 1913. Hively had a jolly, outgoing personality and was active in many community activities. He had lost an eye from a forge accident. Hively was Wheat Ridge’s first fire chief and this structure housed the first Wheat Ridge Volunteer Fire Department truck.
In 1886 Mary Neosho Williams bought an extensive acreage from master carpenter and stone mason Jock Spence and had him begin construction on the 17-room log lodge with two octagonal towers. Mary William’s daughter, Dr. Josepha Williams married Canon Winfred Douglas and they called the lodge home for nearly 40 years. Darst Buchanan purchased the property in 1938 and it became Hiwan Homestead and headquarters for the 10,000 acre Hiwan Ranch.
Purchased by Jefferson County Open Space in 1974, Hiwan Homestead is now a working heritage center and museum operated by the Jefferson County Historical Society. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974 (5JF.195). Designated a county landmark 8/2/2004.
The Hiwan Ranch extended from Evergreen along either side of Highway 74 for many miles. The 10,000 acre ranch was assembled by Tulsa oilman Darst Buchanan and his wife, Ruth. The ranch was owned by the family from 1938 to 1966.
The name Hiwan, much used in the area, was chosen by Ruth Buchanan from an Anglo-Saxon dictionary that stated its meaning to be variously as, “members of a household,” “land let to members of a household,” or “members of a king’s household.”
In 1958 B&H Minerals operated this feldspar quarry. It operated for 150 days that year taking out 214,545 lbs. of feldspar valued at $1215.15. An open pit was opened around an old prospect hole and is about eight feet deep by ten feet long by 20 feet wide at the time. It is noted that the feldspar is of fairly good grade. At the site was nine feet by eight feet frames and sheet iron storage shed.
Built ca. 1872. Albert and Ena Rogers lived in this house. They had 10 or 11 children, who all went to the Morrison School about 1899 (census list of school children). Peter Christenson lived there also. It was rented to Grover and Nell Denbow about 1915, furnished, for $5 a month. Mrs. Rogers owned it all that time. Joe Hocking was the town marshal, a homesteader on Mt. Falcon, and a popular participant in rodeos.
This park has baseball field, basketball and tennis courts, playground and exercise trails.
The first school in the area was known as District 26 School, and was located a short distance east of the Hodgson School. The school was named after Robert and Alice Hodgson, early area homesteaders coming from England in 1860. They sold 160 acres to August and Alice Herzman and one acre of that was donated for a new school that opened in 1915 with 18 students. Ben Pearson was the first School Board President. School continued there until the Jefferson County School reorganization in 1950. The Hodgson School building was used by the Wild Rose Grange after 1940, and presently own it.
This park has a small lake, volleyball court, playgrounds, picnic tables and flower gardens.
In 1924-25, this structure was the Berrimore Hotel, and in the 1940s, it became the LaRay Hotel. Lu Holland remodeled it as the Holland House Motel and Restaurant . In 1992, a 2.9-million dollar renovation of the vacant building helped to revitalize downtown Golden. It is now in the design of Pueblo Revival with pale stucco interior, wood vegas, and a clay tile roof.
Cecil S. and Nancy Holley came to Wheat Ridge in 1877 for about a year before moving on to Central City and operating a Dillon to Leadville freight line. In 1880, they returned to Wheat Ridge and purchased the property on 38th Avenue west of Reed Street, extending north to 44th Avenue. Their large frame house was built on the original farm’s highest elevation and is currently listed as 3900 Quay Street. Holley was a Michigan University graduate and he and his wife were active in civic affairs. Holley served three two-year terms as a Jefferson County Commissioner and was a Justice of the Peace. His wife, Nancy, was an active Republican Committee Woman in the Wheat Ridge precinct. The couple had three sons: Cyril, Cyrus, and Ora. The second Wheat Ridge Post Office building was on their property at the northeast corner of W. 38th Avenue and Reed Street.
The church was organized April 24, 1952 with 109 charter members. The congregation first met in the Wheat Ridge Grange Hall. The name is the symbol of the crucifixion. In 1953 the church was built at 4500 Wadsworth Boulevard. The large facilities are the meeting sites for civic groups as well as broad and varied church programs. The building was remodeled and enlarged in 1992.
This membership was organized in 1954 as a Lutheran church and held it’s first meeting in the Masonic temple at 1440 Independence Street. Their sanctuary was built in 1956, which is a modern church architecture with its steeply slanted roof and free-standing steeple cross.
In 1876 operated by J.J. Bradshaw & Co. and showing traces of free gold.
Name changed to Ladybug Park, March 22, 1976.
The Homestead Ditch in Water District #7 has priority #18 (May 1871). The water comes from the south bank of Ralston Creek. Claimant in 1884 was Robert Faragher who was an early landowner in the area around Tucker Lake. This ditch appears on the c. 1900 map once used in the Jefferson County Courthouse.
Nov. 24, 1883, it was reported Henry Koch located for himself claims he calls the “Gertrude” and “Homestead”. Koch already has an interest in the Maggie Mine.
This property was originally purchased for irrigation easement from 15 previous owners. Bates Lake on the site was eventually drained and filled in. Funding for the park was provided by the 1974 Bond Referendum approved by the citizens of Arvada. The land was homesteaded by the Bates family and was named “In order to memorialize the hardy pioneers responsible for settling Arvada.” Homestead Park was agreed upon by the Park Naming Advisory Board for the Pioneers and the Bates family.
Founded by Andreas Erikeen in the 1920s. Between skiing, skating, tobogganing Homewood had its heyday in the 1950s, one record Sunday more than 800 people came through its doors.
The Honor Roll was erected October, 1947 at W.12th Avenue and Wadsworth Boulevard on Memorial Field, honoring men from all branches of the military services.
This school was built in 1952 and was named for Chet Hoskinson the developer of Hoskinson Subdivision in which the school was located. By 1991 the school was sold for a private residence.
City of Arvada leased land to North Jeffco Metropolitan Recreation and Park District to manage, maintain and control property for recreation and park purposes for a period of 99 years. The lease in Alta Vista Subdivision for 2.5 Acres was signed in February, 1958, and the park was developed by 1973. The park was named for Chet Hoskinson, who developed 256.5 acres of land west of Arvada following World War II. In the 60s and 70s he left further development to his brothers and entered into politics. He was elected to Arvada City Council in 1963, served as a Jefferson County Commissioner, and was appointed to a committee by Governor Lamm.
The c. 1874 Howell House is associated with the early settlement and agricultural development of what is now Lakewood. Most of the other homes from this period in Lakewood have been demolished, leaving only a few properties like the Howell House to convey this important aspect of Lakewood’s early development. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1010) on September 11, 1996.
This was a major street through this area. It is now Kipling Street.
It was built in early 1890s by J.A. Hudson with hopes that Buffalo Creek would become a popular tourist center on the narrow-gauge railroad that operated from Denver. A grocery was located on the first floor and an ice-cream parlor. On the lower floor was a barber shop and the hotel rooms were above. An early photograph shows a sign: Hotel Buena Vista. Records show that a Mr. Robb owned the hotel in 1942 when Al and Charlotte (Lottie) Ray purchased it and operated it summers until 1963. The property was purchased in 1972 by Teen Challenge of Colorado who changed it into a Christian School and Mountain Home for youth and operated it until middle 1980s when Teen Challenge moved their headquarters.
In 1883, J.J. Clark, a Nevadaville businessman hired “the best carpenter in Central City” to build a home on the site he had homesteaded in the late 1870s. Hand-hewn logs from the property and lumber and shingles from an on-site sawmill went into the two-story house. In 1920, the Lucius Humphrey purchased the property. Their daughter, Hazel Humphrey, grew up and lived out her life there as a well known citizen and historical activist.
This property was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF184) on December 31, 1974. The home is now the center of the Humphrey Memorial Park and Museum.
The Humphreys Dredge Tailings consist of a long series of cobblestone dunes stretching along Clear Creek through Jefferson, Clear Creek and Gilpin Counties. During the 1930s Clear Creek was uprooted by the Humphreys Dredge for the gold it contained, with large buckets scooping the riverbed and spitting it out the back into piles after gold was extracted. The Humphreys Dredge was the third and last gold dredge to operate in Jefferson County.
About .5 mile long. West ridge accommodates good path for foot traffic in and out of lower reaches of Guy Gulch. For destruction of gulch entrance see Evergreen Quad – Quarry. Railroad station was Colorado and Southern, Rand, 1952.
Established in May 1865 at Bradford Junction with George W. Hutchinson Postmaster. Joseph B. Hutchison was postmaster in 1867. The post office name was changed to Conifer in 1894.
In 1879 an English couple, Mr. and Mrs. Kemp and their eleven children arrived at Bradford Junction, and for the next six years school was held there in a small wooden building which some derided as a shack. This was the first school in what was to become Conifer. It may have been called Hutchinson School because that Post Office had previously gone by that name. About 1885 a new Hutchinson School was built about one quarter mile south, near the present entrance to the Conifer High School. School was held there until 1911, when District 9 started school in the abandoned Reformed Mormon church situated just south of Kitty Drive and west of Highway 285. The name was changed to Junction School. None of the buildings exist today.
This Water District #7 lake is filled with water diverted from Clear Creek via Farmers High Line Canal. Claimant in 1936 was the Farmer’s High Line Canal and Reservoir Company. Construction began in 1871. Named for early land owner in the area shown on the “settlement map” in “Waters of Gold.” Farmers High Line Canal acquired the lake from Mr. Lothrop in December 1890.
The North Jeffco Metropolitan Recreation and Park District Building included an Ice Arena which opened April 1, 1969. Architectural Steel Building Company constructed this facility and Tolin Refrigeration Company installed the refrigeration equipment. The Ice Arena has been a successful recreational asset for the public, high schools, regional tournaments, Arvada Junior and Senior High School Hockey Associations, skating lessons and figure skating rental space.
Filled from Big Dry Creek (Walnut). The earliest appropriation date May 22, 1986.
First School was a one-room frame building north of present building. It was in District 42, closed in 1964 and is now used as a community church. In the early days it was named Starbuck, after John Starbuck.
This park has a playground, picnic tables, horseshoe court, flower gardens and open play area.
This was the former name of Harlan Street from W. 38th Avenue to W. 48th Avenue.
Built in 1892, according to Jefferson County tax records.
The name source is unknown.
Independence Park was purchased by the Arvada City Bond Referendum approved by the voters in 1974 and the City’s share of Open Space funds, approved December 15, 1975. A resolution passed by Arvada City Council, granted $28,000 to North Jeffco to develop the park the following year, and voted to name it Independence Park in 1977. Owners of Oberon Ditch Company and the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad Co. requested that a durable pipe be constructed and channelled through a residential area to carry the 100-year flood and or waters coming from Hayes Lake to Ralston Creek. Jefferson County Commissioners approved Open Space funds be used to build Hayes Lake spillway in 1980.
Called Indian Gulch by local ranchers because of early Arapahoe Indian travois trail the gulch accommodated. Tributary (left hand) of Clear Creek headwaters only. S21, T3S, R70W, south of Tucker Gulch. B.H. 1906 (1939), Atlas of Colorado. Highway Commission, 1943 (1954).
Post Office established June 23, 1925 by George Olinger. Olinger came to this mountain valley about 1918. Promoters of the development in this area gave it the name of Indian Hills.
The property is associated with the Indian Hills Improvement Association. C. 1953, this police, fire, and health protection organization converted and expanded the former 1923, one room wood frame Parmalee School to serve as a combination volunteer firehouse and community meeting hall. It was listed on the State Register of Historic Places (5JF1041) on May 14,1997.
Established in June, 1925, Frank Brinkhaus was appointed postmaster. It carried on postal operations in Chief’s Inn – later named Trading Post. George Olinger of Denver came to this area in 1918 to subdivide mountain property. These developers gave Indian Hills its name. Because of increased population, a new building was built in 1951.
Designed and built by Al Rigg, Jr., in 1923 for Denverite George W. Olinger, this rectangular log lodge has twin dormers on the second story and fronted by a large stone porch. The lodge was originally called Ho Cha Nee Stea, or Chief’s Inn, and was the first stopping place for buses and cars bringing sightseers and prospective buyers to Indian Hills. In 1925, the first post office in Indian Hills opened in the structure with Frank Brinkhaus appointed postmaster.
It was named for a natural spring in the area.
150-foot Ponderosa Pine
“Golf course construction was authorized in 1968 as a result of a major bond issue passed by North Jeffco District residents. In 1969 the course was officially opened and named Indian Tree Golf Club,” named for a legendary hackberry tree in the area which became a landmark, atop a hill, for the pioneers in the 1860s and 1870s. Indians had planted seeds on hills as a guidepost for their trails. Before the highway department could move the tree, vandals demolished it in 1937. A slab of the tree was taken to the U.S. Forestry Service who determined that the tree sprouted in 1807, was later struck by lightning, and had survived three severe droughts. The Indian Tree Golf Club is located on the old Schneider homestead.
Indian Tree Post Office was named for Indian Tree-Marshall Shopping Center, in which it is located. Dedication ceremony was held on March 16, 1991. Johnnie Summerfield is the new Station Manager.
This park was located in Indian Tree Village Subdivision by an agreement between North Jeffco and Tanco Corporation. The property was deeded to North Jeffco from the City of Arvada, May 17, 1971. Indian Tree Homeowners Association requested the North Jeffco Board name Indian Tree Mini Park after Emil Schneider, Sr. The park was rededicated August 10, 1979 and named Emil Schneider,Sr. Park for the former owner of the park site.
Florence Irwin was principal of Washington Heights School. This school has been used for regular school, then phased out, and now back in use for language development for about one year.
Originally homesteaded by Isiah Greene, the original stone and log cellar house and barn were built in 1877. Later, Carl Kuehster, born in 1881, purchased the homestead and built the two-story frame house and another cattle and hay barn. The civic minded Kuehsters were active in the Lamb School and the local Grange.
Elizabeth (Clemens) and Rev. J.F. White, formerly of Penryn, Cornwall, England, came to Colorado in 1876. Rev. White served as a minister in Silver Plume, Idaho Springs, Longmont, Golden and Black Hawk before he and his family moved to Arvada in 1890. A two-story house was built for him in 1893 on Grandview Avenue. This home is in very good condition: pillared front porch across the width of the house; and noticable gingerbread under the gabled roof on the south, east, and west sides. White is given credit for being the original editor of “The Arvada Enterprise,” July 3, 1908, and was also president of the First State Bank in 1925.
A small general store built in early 1880s was bought by John W. Green in 1883. The sign above the entrance read, “J.W. Green, Dealer in Everything.” Fire destroyed the frame building in 1898 and a new structure was built of two-foot granite blocks from a local quarry. The store stands today and houses a U.S. Post Office and is the location of the local precinct polling place. It was the ticket office for the Colorado & Southern Railroad (narrow-gauge) until it was discontinued in 1937. The fourth generation of the Green family now assists in the operation of the store which continues to deal in everything. Placed on National Register of Historic Places, October 1974. (5JF.192).
Formerly called Birdland Park, the name was changed to Jack B. Tomlinson Park after his death for the contributions he had made to the City of Arvada and to North Jeffco Metropolitan Recreation and Park District. Jack was on the first Board of Directors for North Jeffco, a member of City Council, 1963-1967, and served as Mayor 1965-1967. He was awarded Arvada’s Man-of-the-Year in 1960 for his work with youth groups. Jack Tomlinson died on March 26, 1987, the park was named for him October 19, 1987 and a gazebo in the park was dedicated to him in June of 1889.
Jackson Hill was an historic marker along the Mt. Vernon Road to the Jackson gold diggings in the mountains. It stands above the junction where the road turned southward before heading for Mt. Vernon Canyon.
Jackson’s Rapids are a turbulent section of Clear Creek as it debouches from the mountains. It was originally named after an incident in June 1859 when famed gold discoverer George A. Jackson was swept up in a flash flood while fishing and nearly drowned. Rescuer and partner Thomas L. Golden tended to him until well enough to return to their base camp, by this time being laid out as a town. The entirety of Jackson’s Rapids were acquired in 1997-98 to be perpetually preserved as Jefferson County Open Space.
Built in 1884 by William Beckett, aided by Mr. Crosser. The jail was completely enclosed and is now just a room in the house. Mr. Palmer lived in the house until his late 70s and had spent 30 years building it from reclaimed material. All inside and outside walls are solid wood and are insulated with from 6″ to 24″ of spun glass taken from old refrigerators and stoves. All floors are made with hard oak. It is today an ingenious example of recycling, economy and practicality, which is typical of our Morrison pioneer ancestors.
Built ca. 1873. Mr. Jameison was the distributor for Conoco Oil for many years. Pete Morrison, the town founder’s grandson, lived here when he was a young man working on the railroad and rodeoing with Clyde Hocking, Edgar Knolls, Joe Schrock and other old timers. The house is now a rental (residential).
This park has a playground, walking trails, picnic tables and open play area.
The coal mine was opened by J.M. Thomas and Evan Jones in 1878. They sank a main shaft 100 feet. A north level extended 720 feet and a south level 60 feet. At these two levels five rooms were opened out. In April 1879, James Prout leased the mine and sank the main shaft 70 feet deeper. In 1880 the mine was producing 20 tons per day. 1879 coal output was 1000 tons. 20 men were employed with four teams hauling coal.
A one-story, frame, 1305 sq. ft. house built in 1923. An estimated three additions converted the house into a duplex.
As the community developed, this section of the Prospect Trail was named Jefferson Avenue. Later it became West 44th Avenue. It was also called the North Golden Road.
The church was named for the site, Jefferson Avenue, now 44th Avenue. Founded in 1891, they met in homes and Fruitdale School at first. In 1904 the church was built on the southeast corner of Jefferson Avenue and Howell (44th and Kipling). In 1960 a new church was built on the northwest corner of 44th and Kipling. This was a mission church of Wheat Ridge Methodist until 1949 when it was assigned its first full-time minister.
The structure was built in 1937 as an automobile repair shop with attached living quarters. Most recent use as a homeless shelter.
Opened to the public in 1993. Within the Center’s boundaries are the District Attorney’s Building, the Sheriff and Detention Facility, Human Services, and the Administration and Courts Facility. The Administration and Courts Facility is often called the “Taj Mahal” because of its beautiful golden dome and grand appearance. The complex was designed to represent an open and accessible government. The $102 million courthouse is a monument of tan and brown cast stone culminating in a 130-foot high glass dome atrium from which four wings arc through landscaped courtyards. The atrium’s lobby is trimmed with brass and cherry wood with balconies extending in semi-circular bays from the upper three floors, and neutral colors are sparked by bands of blue, green, and rose terrazzo and bits of red granite in the floors. To one side are county administrative offices; opposite are twenty-eight courtrooms. The buff precast concrete exterior has darker squares and crosses inset to humanize its massive scale.
Built in 1928. Merged the Tanglewood School in Golden and Open High School in Evergreen.
Located throughout the county, it is a department authorized by the voters in 1972 to acquire, develop, maintain and administer open space lands and historic properties for the enjoyment of the citizens. A one-half cent sales tax has provided funds, up to the present, for preservation of more than 18,000 acres in 25 parks.
There are playgrounds, tennis courts, walking trails, and picnic tables in this area.
The new building for the Jefferson High School, grades 9-12, was completed in 1957. In 1955, when Edgewater and Mountair High Schools were combined into a single school, a vote of the student body renamed the school Jefferson High. When the new building opened in 1958, it carried the name Jefferson High. Triads were added in 1964, library additions were built in 1966 and 1972, and a girls’ locker room was expanded in 1986. The school is named for Thomas Jefferson and Jefferson County.
According to former student Sid Martin, the school was opened in 1959, with his class being the first to attend all three grades (10-12).
Established in 1971.
Mountain peak located about three miles west-northwest of Evergreen. Named for John Hendry Jenkins, a Colorado businessman associated with the development of the Bear Creek area, in recognition of his public service to his state and nation.
This park has a playground, walking trails, picnic tables and flower gardens.
There were about 35 buildings of different shapes and sizes and ages, positioned on about 100 acres of land, which was known as the American Medical Center of Denver. Now devoted to cancer research and treatment. Dr. Charles Spivak was founder of J.C.R.S. in 1904. TB was rampant at the time and weather conditions here were beneficial in treatment. Thousands of volunteers gave money,J.C.R.S. would take anyone who needed help and care. Dr. Spivak, a Russian Jew, came to America in his teen years, working as manual labor of anything to earn money to go to Jefferson Medical college in Philadelphia, receiving his diploma in 1890. He taught at the Denver Medical School. He helped acquired necessary text books for students and helping to add to the Medical Library. Dr. Spivak was instrumental in starting J.C.R.S. because most hospitals only took special cases of TB. Fresh air and sunshine were the best treatment known for tuberculosis. There 34 tents and used for 15 years. Doctors and volunteers responded with their skills and money. The farm raised grains and food, they ran a dairy and poultry farm, a book bindery, a print shop, and a general store. One 2 story-building was destroyed by fire in 1920. Dr. Spivak toured the country and came back with money to build a bigger hospital to serve 204 patients. Many people who came to be cured of TB are still around here. Many worked around the grounds in many capacities. One ex-patient worked in the Post office, which started out in a tent, known as Sanatorium, Colorado. The District was added to the National Register of Historic Places on June 26, 1980 (5JF.178).
John Perkins James Ditch was in Water District #7. Claimant in 1936 was John Perkins James, dating from October 1, 1893. This ditch picks up unused water and seepage from the Brown and Baugh Ditch.
Built ca. 1876 of native stone and still owned by John Ross’s daughter’s family. Mary Quaintance Estate of Golden, Colorado. The building is now vacant and has been for a few years.
John S.Risdon Ditch was in Water District No. 7 and had a priority dated December 31, 1875, out of Clear Creek. Claimants in 1936 were Estate of Mary I. Stewart, Swayze Estate, Matt Hawkinson, Edward B. and Minnie B. Van Hooser, Isan R. Barber, Lauretta and Holland and Gustaf B. Bloom.
One-story log cabin not at its original site.
This reservoir is located in Clement Park and was purchased from the Grant Family by Jefferson County Open Space. It is now part of the Foothills Recreation District.
Built in 1873. It was the Methodist Church’s first parsonage. Andy, under pressure, accompanied his wife when she wanted to move uptown. Mr. Johnson worked for the Morrison Post Office from about 1910 to 1950. Mrs. Beatta Johnson lived 97 years.
Built ca. 1910. This house was built for the parsonage of the Methodist Church in Morrison on Market Street (Pillar of Fire).
The claimant in 1936 was Elizabeth Jane Kirkpatrick. The reservoir is filled from Clear Creek via Agricultural Ditch and Salisbury Lateral. Construction began March 1, 1887.
Juchem and Quellette Ditch in Water District #7 had priority #30 (May 28, 1863). It was filled with water diverted from Clear Creek, via south bank of Slough Ditch. Claimants in 1884 were John Juchem and Moses Quellette. Both were early farmers in the Arvada area and their properties show on Willet’s “1899 Farm Map.” State Engineers Records show transfer to Farmers High Line and Reno-Juchem Ditches, June 6, 1989.
This Jefferson County District R-1 School was built in 1955. It was named for Henry J. Juchem, an Arvada grocer who had served on the Arvada School Board for nine years. He was the son of pioneer farmer, John Juchem, who owned 400 acres between Kipling and Garrison streets and between Grandview and W. 44th Avenues.
In 1904, the Denver Union Water Company built a sand filtering plant 1/2 mile east of Waterton. The name was later changed to Kassler, after G.W. Kassler, president of the Denver Union Water Company from 1915 to 1918.
The Hugh T. Craig settled in Mt. Vernon Canyon from Virginia from 1870. They left a legacy of much open land that became granted to the City of Denver or purchased by Mt. Vernon Country Club. Katherine L. Craig grew up in the area and became Jefferson County Public School Superintendent and was elected three times to the position of State Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1905-1930. An oversized native stone marks her grave next to her parents at Rockland Cemetery. She specifically donated the 56-acre tract to Denver Mountain Parks “for the education of youth.” She wrote Craig’s Brief History of Colorado “for Teachers and Students” in 1923.
The Works Progress Administration established a Civil Conservation Corps base camp on this land to help build US Highway 40, Genesee Parks roads, and other public roads during the 1930s. The government financed buildings, which have been improved and maintained by the Girl Scout Organization. They have also added playground and picnic areas, and provided wildfire mitigation and wild land stewardship services.
Mt. Vernon Metro District (Country Club) Open Space, a nine hole golf course in the 1920s, is adjacent to this park on the north. The Genesee Crossing residential community was developed adjacent to the west boundary off South Mount Vernon Country Club Road.
This Water District #7 lake was named for Dr. James Kelly, who owned farm land at this location. Claimants for adjudication in 1936 were Christ Weber, Louisa Weber, S.A. Mohart, and W.S. Wilcoxen. This lake was constructed in 1865 drawing water from Dry Creek (Kelly Creek) (Van Bibber).
Built in 1879 by contractor D.M. Orr for Dr. James Kelly, this two-story, brick, 3,392-square-foot house contained six large rooms and cost $8,000. Dr. Kelly died at the age of 88 from a fall in the house and left the house to his son, Dr. John Kelly. After the son’s death in 1928, his widow, Addie, lived there until 1943. The Kelly Mansion was occupied by the family for 64 years. The structure is Golden’s best example of the Italianate style. This house is characterized by a low-pitched hipped roof, widely overhanging eaves with decorative brackets. The beige porch was added in 1903.
Origin of name has not been learned.
In 1953 this open pit mine operated 150 days with two men. 40 feet wide and 70 long and 32 feet deep with nearly vertical walls, it produced feldspar, beryl, and mica. In 1953 the mine produced 86 tons of feldspar valued at 433 dollars ,532 lbs. of beryl valued at 133 dollars, and 5 lbs. of mica valued at 92 dollars.
This school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It was opened in 1970 for grades seven and eight with a capacity of 800. It was named for the nearby Ken-Caryl Ranch.
The population in 1980 was 10,661. Bradford House ruins are all that remain of the town of Bradford, founded by Major Robert B. Bradford in the 1860s. The name Ken-Caryl was from the names Kent and Carroll, the sons of John C. Shaffer.
Built in 1976, it was originally the sales office for Ken-Caryl Ranch. Today it is the headquarters of activity for the Ken-Caryl Ranch Master Association and the Ken-Caryl Metropolitan District. Ken-Caryl Ranch consists of 9139 acres with almost 4000 acres additional in open space, which is owned by the master association. The Ranch House sits on a 17-acre park and houses the recreational and administrative staff.
A wood frame, 58 feet by 24 feet, Tudor Revival house. The building plan is a modified U-shape topped by an intersecting gable roof and faced with brick.
Named after Frank C. Kendrick, an irrigation specialist and railroad surveyor, who moved west from Ohio in 1872. The family owned acreage extending west from Old Kipling to Green Mountain, including 3 farms, 4 lakes, and 2 ponds.
Built in 1970. Was named for the Kendrick’s family. There were 4 lakes on the property.
Begins about one mile southwest of Conifer and runs in a generally southeast direction following Foxton Road from Highway 285 to the North Fork of the South Platte River three-quarters of a mile northeast of Foxton. Named for George O. Kennedy, an early settler who lived in the Hutchinson and Beaver Ranch YMCA Camp areas from 1860 to 1895.
A gulch beginning between Bergen Park and Hidden Valley and running southeast to join Bear Creak about a mile east of Kittredge. Kerr Gulch joins Swede Gulch about 1-1/2 miles northwest of Kittredge. Named after Sheriff Kerr, a Jefferson County Deputy.
This Water District #7 reservoir was named for W.H. Ketner, a former area dairy farmer.
Built in 1877, this two-story brick house with eight rooms remained with the Kimball family for more than forty five years. Until 1977, it occupied two full lots. The original owner, George K. Kimball, first came to Colorado in 1860 for the mining and milling in Central City. He then moved to Golden to work as a passenger conductor and freight agent for the Colorado Central Railroad. Kimball eventually was Golden postmaster, Golden city clerk, and Jefferson County Commissioner. He also served on the board of the State Industrial School.
The Kimbrough Home, 5591 Carr Street, was built in 1907 by the Denver Shale Brick Company. George and Clara Bell (Swadley) Kimbrough inherited the brickyard property at Oberon and Carr Streets when Clara Bell’s father, George Swadley, died in 1906. Swadley also owned the property where the Kimbrough house was built. The date 1907 was inscribed on the front steps when the house was completed. The carriage house to the rear has been converted into a garage.
The call letters meant, “Key to the Inter-Mountain Network”. KIMN was the largest independent station in the Denver area. KIMN began broadcasting from the Albany Hotel. As the station expanded, it was moved to Edgewater. An exclusive service offered by KIMN was an Air- Alert during specific times of the day. During these times, Don Martin would fly over Denver directing traffic where there were accidents or traffic jams. KIMN was relocated and built in 1954. In the early 1980s KIMN was replaced by the Edgewater Market Place.
The church was organized on Palm Sunday, 1958. Services were held in schools until Valentines Day, 1960 when services were held in the new church building. Charles W. Hoenig was the first pastor and served from 1957 until 1964. Cornerstone was laid for the second phase of the church in 1967. The third phase of construction for six new classrooms, kitchen, offices and parish hall was dedicated on Palm Sunday, 1982. The last major construction was that of a pipe organ in the sanctuary which was dedicated on March 8, 1987.
This church was organized in June, 1973. The first Pastor, Ivan Gunderman, dedicated the new church building in March, 1975.
King Street was named after a prominent pioneer merchant of Golden. It was renamed in 1904 by city ordinance to 7th Street. Owing to construction of Highway 58, only 3 blocks remain today.
Claimant in 1936 was E.H. Kingsbury. Construction was started September 1, 1888, and filled with water diverted from Clear Creek via Farmers High Line Canal and Bright & Brown Lateral. Abandoned February 3, 1988. Kingsbury lived at present day 72nd and Sheridan.
It was named for John S. Kinnear, land owner. The Water District #7 reservoir has a appropriation date of March 4, 1902, with water diverted out of Coal Creek.
Named after an early settler, Mr. Kinney.
From 38th Ave. to Ridge Rd., this street was originally named for Carson Howell, a veteran of the 1864 Sand Creek Massacre, who settled in 1860 in Jefferson County. Today, this street is named for the British author, Rudyard Kipling.
This 1904 1-1/2 story, front gabled, brick 1,260 sq. ft. bungalow was built by Otto and Alice Kirkley. Kirkley was a clerk at W.A. Hover & Company.
Established in 1955 as the Kittredge Union Church. The building was constructed by Justis Roehling in 1925 and was the Kittredge Elementary School building until 1967 when it was deeded to the church. Name from community.
From the Golden Globe of March 3, 1884: “District 3 election next May to vote for tax for new school building.” The school was built, a red one-room frame structure. It was a school without a name, but finally the children chose the name “Sunnyside”. Charles M. Kittredge donated land near the old school and was responsible for the construction of a new school by Justis Roehling in 1925. Classes were held there until 1964, when the Kittredge Elementary School Building was deeded to the Kittredge Community Church.
Located on Highway 74 between Morrison and Evergreen. Platted in 1920 by The Kittredge Land Company which bought 300 acres of the Luther Ranch. Charles M. Kittredge applied for a Post Office in 1921, and the office was opened in 1923.
A Denver Kiwanis Club committee purchased a 240-acre tract east of Genesee Mountain in the mid-1920s. A platt allowed as many as 370 summer cabins, a summer camp for underprivileged children, a golf course, a permanent camp for Boy Scouts, private lodges, and a club house. Kiwanians worldwide were invited to invest and visit to enjoy mountain recreation. Several cabins and lodges were built by wealthy club members before the Great Depression halted the development. The land was incorporated in the massive Genesee development approved in 1973.
Built ca. 1888. Dr. Frank Luce lived here when he came from Denver in 1890. Around 1915 he moved to the house next door. Mrs. Effie Knolls lived here after she married James Knolls. Effie May’s parents were Nancy Jane and James Groom. They came from Kentucky in a covered wagon. They had 12 children, and Effie was the eldest. She occupied the house until her death in 1961. Her husband James was a rock mason. He and Effie had 14 children. Their son, Edgar Knolls, drove the stage coach in Morrison, worked in the rock quarries, and had other jobs in the area.
This brief connection for the Golden and Ralston Railroad was established in 1878, on the west side of North Table mountain to Murphy Coal mine. To accommodate traffic originating on the “Knox Branch” the Colorado Central added a third narrow gauge rail north from Golden to Dry Creek. By 1880, the entire line from the Colorado Central connection to the Murphy Coal mine had been abandoned. It is not known why the Knox Railroad was named so.
About one mile long. Named for Ernest S. Koch who homesteaded in the gulch in 1862. The original buildings are in ruins, but the large red brick house c. 1900 is still standing. The road through Koch Gulch linked the original Gregory Road with Gregory Toll Road.
This church was established in September 1971, and the Northern American Baptist Church, at the above address, was purchased in 1983. Rev. Woong Kil was the first pastor.
Charles B. Kountze was one of Denver’s pioneer bankers and had extensive land holdings in the Alameda area, including a portion of the Belmar Estate where Kountze Lake bears his name. In 1971, five high school students discovered that Kountze Lake had been drained. As part of their Citizen’s Action Lab the group adopted the preservation of the Belmar grounds as their semester’s project. They obtained 3,000 signatures on petitions, wrote letters to the editor, and even appeared on television to promote their cause. Nothing immediate resulted from their efforts, but they did bring to the forefront the need to preserve the property. Two years later, in 1973, the people of Lakewood voted to purchase the land, over 127 acres. Cement for the construction of a widened Colfax Avenue that was to become a part of the transcontinental U.S. Highway 40 in the 1930’s, “wound up in the bottom of Kountze Lake…”
Name, with a slight change in spelling, from John Krynders who homesteaded land adjoining the peak.
This was a private family plot, with the first burial in 1882. Presently not in use, but it is still maintained by members of the Kuehster family.
Frederick Kuehster came to the vicinity in 1875 and built a two-story frame structure in 1877 with a dry wall cellar and several log outbuildings. The property was named the Kuehster Ranch. This homestead house was still standing in 1981 as the Jack Kuehster family home, grandson of Frederick. In March of 1880, Elbert Headley filed for a homestead portion of this land and built a one-room log cabin, furnishing it with one crudely made table and an oil drum stove. Headley and another miner by the name of young occupied it while working a nearby mine. It still stands and is known as the Miner’s or Headley Cabin.
Land purchased in 1959. School opened on February 3, 1961, and was dedicated May 22, 1961. Named for pioneer, Hattie Kullerstrand, an active supporter of schools and education throughout her life time.
The original house was built in 1890 (16′ x 16′ feet). The old barn was built 1891 to 1893 with red spruce from Evergreen. The original 180 acres was an Union Pacific Railroad Grant, adjacent to Bradford trail and an old irrigation ditch from Golden to Loretto Heights. Later, John Everitt bought 160 more acres for a total of $16,000 and more at $22 per acre until he had an entire section of 640 acres. Later 160 acres sold in 1947 for $100,000 per acre (now called Glen Heights). John and his brother farmed vegetable products and freighted to Leadville on the Bradford Trail. They had one of the first dairy farms in Denver (50 to 60 cows) and sold directly to farms from their milk cans and pitchers. Thomas Addenbrooke’s grandfather, Richard Addenbrooke, was a plater and polisher by trade and was asked to come from England to help repair trap doors in the Tabor Opera House. He was here before 1883.
It was built in 1900 by John L. J. Jerome, who engaged architect Frederick J. Sterner to design a large two-story shingle house along with five additional structures. It was decorated in the William Morris style with train loads of furniture, pictures, wallpaper, etc. from New York, Philadelphia and London. Almost unchanged to this day, except for the addition of a swimming pool on the grounds, it remains the summer home to descendants of John L.J. Jerome. It was listed on National Register of Historic Places on July 20, 1973, 5JF190.
In 1963 this uranium mine was operated by the Cotter Corporation and operated with two men for 50 days. In 1975 this mine was operated by the Reserve Oil and Mineral Corp. for 90 days with four employees.
1972 Colowest Development Co. operated 150 days with six employees
1976 Energy Fields Nuclear, Inc. operated 40 days withs 3 employees.
1976, 2000 tons of ore
1975 Golden Mining Corp. operated 240 days with five men
1968 Kerr-McGee Oil Corp. operated 120 days with five men
1971 Reserve Oil and Mineral Corp. had an eight foot by eight foot tunnel in about 3,500 feet to face.
In 1876 operated by South Deer Creek Mining Co. showed a crevice of galena ore.
Ladybug Park was one of the City Parks approved in the 1974 referendum. The name was suggested to the Board by a neighborhood child and accepted by City Council, March 22, 1976.
Built ca. 1870. The LaGrow family occupied this house until 1975. Additions were made as the family grew. Mr. LaGrow came from Gillsburg, Illinois in 1868. Andy Jordon (his brother-in-law) also lived in a small house on this same property, but it burned down. Mr. LaGrow’s wife’s parents also lived with them. Her father was Flavious Jordon, a Civil War veteran.
A Jefferson County Open Space Public Park of 316 acres acquired in 1987 along and south of Bear Creek just west of Idledale. It has 1-1/2 miles of Bear Creek stream frontage. Named by subdividers; source unknown. Previous owners called it Mountain Nook.
This lake is in a natural drainage area dating from farm irrigation days of early times in Arvada. It has been improved and incorporated into part of Lake Arbor Park, and both received their names from a nearby subdivision.
In June 1974, the City of Arvada purchased the lease for Lake Arbor Golf Course at a Small Business Administration Foreclosure Auction and sublet the operation as a public course to Top Golf, Inc. In October, 1975, the city canceled the sublease due to the financial difficulties of Top Golf. City personnel were hired to operate the course. The city purchased Lake Arbor Golf Course in 1976 with a portion of the city’s share of Jefferson County Open Space Funds. The city also purchased the partially completed club house and, upon completion, leased it to a private operator. The City of Arvada has operated the restaurant since 1987. Lake Arbor Golf Course is named for the subdivision in which it is located.
Lake Arbor Lake was the last of the city’s 30 bond issue parks to be completed in 1977. A Resolution authorizing the Mayor and Arvada City Clerk to execute a contract to purchase Real Estate at Lake Arbor for $355,000 was passed May 5, 1975. Funds for the project came from the referendum, purchase of 12 acres by Open Space, summer 1976, and $100,000 received from the Federal Government. The total complex included 98 acres, 35 of the 98 acres is water surface, originally known as Church Lake, or Tynon Lake. Arrangements were also made for school land (Far Horizons Park) between Lamar St., Pomona Drive and the housing development north of W. 80th Avenue for recreational purposes to be maintained by North Jeffco. A Joint Park Fund between the City of Arvada and North Jeffco was initiated as a result of the City’s bond drive for 30 parks, approved in 1974. More recently, North Jeffco contributes to the Park Fund but does not manage and maintain the City’s Parks.
Lake Arbor Recreation Center includes a swimming pool, gym, game rooms, concessions and was approved by City Council October 19, 1970. This is a City owned center, and was funded by City’s share of Open Space Funds and Witkin Homes 6% developers fee for recreational purposes.
This lake is part of Lakeside Amusement Park.
First platted in 1882 and replatted in 1889. This is a part of the James W. Richards 160-acre property. Mr. Richards excluded about 3 acres, the grounds for “country residence.” This is the restored Richards Hart Estate owned by the city of Wheat Ridge.
This plat was recorded Dec. 7, 1886. Evidently, the lake view was of Berkeley Lake West, now known as Lake Rhoda in Lakeside Amusement Park.
This is a re-subdivision of Block 3 of the Henderson’s subdivision recorded on Nov. 11, 1889.
Lakecrest Park was introduced by the City of Arvada in 1985 as a park/school facility, and was dedicated a year later. By 1992, the park’s name had been changed to Northey Park, which was dedicated with a monument in May. Mike Northey was an Arvada Police officer who was killed in a job-related accident in 1979. A native of Harrisburg, Pa., Northey was 25 years of age when he was killed.
The city of Lakeside includes Lakeside Amusement Park, race track, Shopping Center (first in Jefferson County and now demolished), and Lake Rhoda. The name chosen by Adolph Zang in 1907. Lakeside was also known as the White City. The facilities were painted white and profusely lighted. Ben Krasner and associates acquired the park in 1936. His daughter, Rhoda, later became owner and manager of Lakeside Amusement Park.
In 1955 incorporated by Jerry Von Frellick, consisting of 58 acres. Opened August 1956. Denver Dry Goods Co and Montgomery Wards key occupants. this was the first shopping center in Jefferson County. No city sales tax. Lakeside National Bank was a major addition in 1959.
The incorporation of the Town of Lakeside and Lakeside Amusement Park in 1908 prompted the name change of the station from Berkeley to Lakeside Station at Forty-sixth Avenue and Sheridan Boulevard.
The congregation met in the V.F.W. Hall on 14th and Carr Streets,and then in Mary Lou Runyan’s home. With her interest and dreams of a church, land was acquired at 20th and Kipling streets, plus 3 houses on 21st Place, used for Sunday School, mental health facilities and a parsonage called the White House. They celebrated their 40th anniversary in 1991.
It’s been said Frederick G. Bonfils started the Lakewood Country Club as an act of defiance because he had been denied admittance about 1907-1911. The original founders were M.A. McLaughlin, Theodore C. Smith, J.Frank Adams and L.F. Twitchell.
There are playgrounds, tennis courts and a open play area here.
They rent the playground space to the Y.M.C.A. Children day-care program.
The first two meeting places were abandoned because of fires. Members donated both money and energy to build a new Grange that is still standing at W.14th and Brentwood street. It was dedicated in Oct. 6, 1928.
Lakewood Gulch originates on the north west foot of Green Mountain in Lakewood, flows east through Sixth Avenue West Park, and continues east through Lakewood into Denver, where it joins the South Platte River southwest of the intersection of I-25 and Colfax Avenue.
Built in 1958. Named for the area of Lakewood.
This park has lighted ballfields and tennis courts, picnic facilities, lighted football and soccer fields, volleyball court and concession stand.
Lakewood’s first post office opened in the metal foundry building of the Denver Hardware Manufacturing Company near West 13th Avenue and Brentwood Street. On April 21, 1892, Joseph B. Wight, a pioneer settler, became postmaster and his name and the designation, “Lakewood, Colo.” were printed on tags used in building mail destined for Denver. Not until 1937 did today’s city have a post office branch all its own, and during those three-and-a-half decades Lakewood residents often were listed as living in Edgewater. A second post office was opened in June 1937. James Tinsley was first postmaster when the office opened at 7640 West Colfax Avenue, June 7, 1937. During the next three decades it was burglarized and used as a front for counterfeiting. Frank Davidson was postmaster from 1940 to 1968 and can tell many stories about the history. The Lakewood Post Office moved to 1477 Carr Street, the next move was to 8765 14th Avenue.
Construction planned for 1993. underdeveloped open space adjacent to 300 acres of greenbelt.
As early as 1881, many private homes and a school house near Colfax and Wadsworth Avenues were utilized for the church. After the school burned down in 1892, a new building was constructed at 10th and Wadsworth Avenues. In 1902, land was given for a Methodist Church to be built at West Colfax and Allison Street. The church members had many disagreements between 1927 and 1929, so a small congregation voted to become a Community Congregation Church. Two years later they reverted back to the Methodist affiliation when it was impossible to use the church property at their own discretion. Between 1929 and 1941, Lakewood was a growing suburb and in 1945, land at 14th and Brentwood Street was given for a Methodist Church. A new building was built in 1950 for new population growth at 1390 Brentwood with new additions added in 1954 and 1962. During the war, with little fund to use, the membership started box suppers and renting the church facilities as a meeting hall. They provided space for a public library and rent-free headquarters to Scouts, Red Cross, 4-H groups and volunteer groups.
In 1937 Andy Johnson was elected Fire Chief and he held this position until 1951. In 1937 there was only 27,000 inhabitants in Jefferson County. When the fire station began, all firefighters were volunteers. On July 10, 1958 the International granted a Union charter in the name of the Lakewood Professional Firefighters Association and the Local 1309 was formed. Not until the beginning of the 70s was there a transition from two-platoon system to a three-platoon system. It meant more jobs, a more tolerable work schedule, and it remains a permanent structural component today. It also welcomed a full paid fire department. The volunteers have since disassembled.
This is an abandoned private family plot with the undated graves of two daughters of Coral Dudley and David Albert Lamb.
Lamplighter Park was one of five joint parks. Others were Arvada Center Parking construction, Moon Gulch Tennis Courts, Meadow Lake, and Shadow Mountain. These parks were jointly funded by North Jeffco, and the City of Arvada, who authorized Open Space funds to be used. The park was named for the subdivision in which it was located.
Located in the Big Hill mining district. The ore produced contained gold, silver, and copper sulphide in granite and gneiss. A 1901 assay report: copper pyrite, 3% to 9% copper and 1/2 ounce gold, valued at eight dollars and 60 cents a ton.
Has an incline shaft of 40 feet and an extension with a shaft of 10 feet and a tunnel of 86 feet.
Robert T. Cassell subdivided this land November 18, 1898. The 37 1/2 acres were subdivided into 18 sites for small farms and family living.
Lane Ditch in Water District No 7, filled from water diverted from Clear Creek via south bank of Slough Ditch, had a priority dating from June 20, 1864. Claimants in 1884 were John S. Lane, Annie Lees, James A. Lewis, Jacob H. Brown, and James H. Baugh. The ditch appears on c. 1900 map circa, once used in the Jefferson County Courthouse. Listing is still on the State Engineers Records, priority #39 (June 20, 1864).
The gulch runs from northeast of Marshdale and joins Cub Creek. Origin of name unknown.
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
This road ran from Golden to Laramie, Wyoming. The road was vacated in 1886, when Standley Lake was built.
1883, located by Sam Eldridge, G.E. Hanks and R.P. Miller
from the Cultural Contexts report, 2004:
Leadville Free Road (circa 1865)
The Leadville Free Road was built to compete with toll roads. Built to compete with the toll roads at Apex and up Mount Vernon Canyon, it ascended Chimney Creek, ran along the east face of Lookout Mountain, through the New York Ranch and on the south slope of Genesee Mountain to Cold Springs Ranch, to reach Bergen Park.
Located south of West Bowles Avenue and east of South Pierce Street, this school is part of the Jefferson County R1 School District. It was opened in 1972 and was named after the subdivision in which it is located.
Henry Lee came to Colorado in early 1860. He pre-empted and homesteaded hundreds of acres in Wheat Ridge-Highlands Avenue to Prospect Avenue, Wadsworth to Garrison Street. He was an implement dealer and garden and seed store owner in Denver and purchasing agent for the State Grange. He was the Democratic representative in the Colorado General Assembly and Senator for two terms. He was one of the founders of the Agricultural Ditch Co. He gave the ground for the first Methodist Church at 32nd and Wadsworth, was a member of the early school board, Ceres Grange, an outstanding leader in the community and the state. Margaret Lee sold the area from W. 26th to W. 32nd Ave., Wadsworth to Howell (Kipling Street) to Crown Hill Cemetery in 1908. This house was built in 1912. Henry Lee died March 30, 1914.
William Lee was born on January 27, 1837, in London, England. At the age of eight he immigrated with his family to the United States. Lee came to Colorado in May 1859 to seek his fortune in the gold fields and prospected for a short time. He purchased a squatter’s claim to 160 acres on the Prospect Trail at what is now 38th Avenue to Clear Creek and Youngfield to the east. Lee had an active interest in all phases of agriculture and improved on methods and adaptations to the semi-arid environment. He was an esteemed civic leader and represented Jefferson County in the first Colorado Constitutional Convention. He was a member of the Ceres Grange, P. of H. #1 and the Colorado Pioneers’ Society. Local folklore says Lee planted Colorado’s first apple orchard. He married Mary J. McBride in 1866. They had two sons: William, who died in childhood, and James, who with his descendants lived on the farm into the 1970s.
Lees and Baugh Ditch is in Water District # 7, with water diverted from the north bank of Clear Creek, has early priority No. 2, dated May 15, 1860. Claimants for adjudication in 1884 were Annie Lee and Joseph A. Baugh. Some of the water was later transferred to Golden City and to Agricultural Ditch. The Lee families owned properties in the area on either side of present-day W. 44th Ave., east of Mt. Olivet Cemetery.
Lee’s Ditch is in Water District #7, filled with water diverted from the south bank of Clear Creek, has early priority #14, June 2, 1861. Claimant in 1884 was William Lee. Some water was later transferred to Agricultural Ditch.
Lee’s Island Ditch is in Water District #7, running from the north bank of Clear Creek, and has early priority #8, June 30, 1860. Claimant in 1884 was Annie Lee.
This lane was named for the Lee family.
William Lee came to Colorado in 1859 and purchased a squatters claim of 160 acres at what was Prospect Trail and Olivet Road (38th Avenue to 44th Avenue, Youngfield Street). The property bordered on Clear Creek on the north and there is a large spring near the creek. Lee’s two-story brick house was atop the bluff near what was soon to be West 38th Avenue. He built a large water tank near the house and pumped water from the spring and stored it for full domestic water and some irrigation use.
Named after Joseph Legault, a pioneer who came from Quebec about 1870 and homesteaded and ranched in Pleasant Park adjacent to the mountain which bears his name. Up to 1997, five generations of the Legault family have occupied the ranch property for 130 years.
The founding namesake of the American Legion Post #17, was Robert Downing, Jr., a graduate of Edgewater High School who died in World War I. The Post was activated in 1948 at 22nd and Sheridan after an earlier aborted attempt following World War I in memory of Paul Tomlin. The Legion plays an active part in the Edgewater community through city events, scholarships and donations. The Sexsons donated the lot and financed the new building in 1974 located on Harlan.
This appears to be a family cemetery. The earliest grave that is apparent has a date of March 5, 1870. This cemetery is east of the Martin Marietta property and southwest of Chatfield Reservoir on the mesa under the power line. Pictures attached.
Lena Gulch begins in Jefferson County near East of I-70, north of Colfax Boulevard and drains into Maple Grove Reservoir.
Lew Walsh Park, a City owned park, was originally named Hideaway Park. Lew Walsh was a cowboy from Wyoming, who took horses to school to let the children ride. He was quite a friend of the young people. It was discovered he had Lou Gehrig Disease in 1991 and he died in the spring of 1992. City of Arvada officially change the name to Lew Walsh Park July 6, 1992.
July 25, 1885, J.J. Wanamaker sold the Lewis Bar Placer Mine & Arapahoe Bar Placer Mine to a unnamed company belonging to J.E. Chaffee and G.W. Cummings. They began using high pressure water hoses with water taken from the ditch of Golden Ditch and Flume Company. The hydraulic mining discharged water at a force of 87 1/2 pounds to the inch. Investment of the pant cost. 10,000 dollars and the purchase of the old 120 acre Lewis farm where it was located cost 9,000 dollars.
May 22, 1886. The Lewis Bar operations are under charge of California A.E. Schwatka, sent by the inventor of the Hendy Elevator, Mr. Hend, whose elevator the mine uses. Thei two inch giant nozzle usues 1,100 inches of water with 194 feet pressure, and were tearing up the ground rapidly, passing everything through the elevator 37 feet high to the sluces six feet above, boulders and loose rock being carried away rapidly through it to a dump 100 feet away.
This Victorian, 1 1/2-story brick rectangular house (ca. 1879) has a shingled high gabled roof. The upper 1/2-story is an arched open alcove with fish scales shingles at its gabled ends. The top of the windows are segmental with a slight curve above the windows. There is a one-story kitchen and porch on the rear. On the right side there is a back hipped roof entrance to the kitchen porch. The house was built with Morrison brick.
Tom Lewis and his family lived here and he operated the livery stable where the Morrison Garage was located. Tom and Sarah Lewis had two children. Their son, Oscar, was killed as a teenager by John Brisban Walker’s horse at Abbo’s stage coach stop. Their daughter married James Abbo, but died as a young woman of alcoholism. There were no heirs of the Lewis and Abbo families. All four of the Lewis family and James Abbo are buried in the Morrison cemetery.
This lane is named by the James Lewis family.
This is a small park sponsored by both the Cities of Lakewood and Wheat Ridge. It has trails and bike paths in a natural environment.
Tom Lewis’s home was built in ca. 1879 of native brick. Mr. Lewis ran a livery stable in Morrison. His son was killed by John Brisben Walker’s horse. His daughter died as a young woman (Mrs. Amy Abbo). Tom and his wife, son, and daughter are all buried in the Morrison Cemetery.
The Town of Leyden was named for the three Leyden brothers, Martin, Michael and Patrick, who discovered rich coal seams along a creek also named for them in 1865. It was coal instead of gold that led to their fame as well as their tragedy. Michael Leyden was murdered in 1869 and Martin was killed in a mine accident in 1870. In 1903, Robert Perry, manager of the Leyden Coal Mine, named the town Leyden for the three brothers.The town housed a significant number of the mine’s over 100 workers. It consisted of a sizable number of red cottages, church, saloon, boarding house, foreman’s house, and company store laid out along a small street grid at Quaker Street and Leyden Road.
On July 13, 1961, two divers were sent by Public Service of Colorado down in the flooded #4 shaft to see if a two-inch pipe, which was showed on an old map, was still in place between two levels. The area was 700 feet below surface under 40 feet of water. Public Service wanted to use two shafts for gas storage. Divers reported the pipes plug was gone and the pipe corroded and it could be sealed when concrete was poured.
The Leyden Chapel was originally built in the town of Leyden with the rest of its buildings in 1903. It was served by the Presbyterian church to accommodate the 100+ miners who labored in the Leyden mine. In 1925, it was moved to its present location and was converted to a garage. After modern subdivisions surrounded it, this building was spared destruction and given a small park to surround it, and is presently undergoing restoration led by the Arvada Historical Society.
This creek was named for the three Leyden brothers who opened coal mines along the creek in 1869.
Leyden Creek Greenbelt or Trail was built as a result of the City of Arvada Bond Referendum in 1974. It was designated Leyden Creek Corridor at that time. It extends past Leyden Reservoir and the Town of Leyden, through hogback formations, and finally tying into the proposed trail along the east side of Colorado Highway No. 93. It connects to Leyden Creek Park and finally at Davis Lane Park at the confluence of Leyden and Ralston Creeks.
Leyden Creek Park is one of 30 City parks approved in the 1974 Bond Referendum. It was completed in the Fall of 1975 and is part of a greenbelt system.
Neighbors in the vicinity agreed that the playground should be re-sited as well as replaced. The present location was not visible to allow supervision and is surrounded by a swamp. City Council approved that the playground be replaced as a part of a Park and Trail Master Plan process. All nine playground replacements will be paid for by JCOS-City Share and have been included in Joint Park Fund Budget for 1989.
Leyden School was the last District No. 7 School to be organized. By 1904 there were 75 area school children with no school available. The Leyden Mine Coal Company began operations c. 1900 and later set up the school in 1908-1910. Originally the land and building were deeded to Wayne Harkness. By 1954, the property was abandoned as a school and returned to Harkness who in turn leased it to the Leyden Civic Association for community meetings, Sunday School and church services. In 1972, the structure was almost destroyed by a lightning caused fire, but was later remodeled for a private residence.
Named for the nearby community of Leyden, and Leyden Creek. It is just west of the north end of Ralston Reservoir.
Takes name from Leyden Creek. About one mile long.
The 1936 claimant was the Farmers High Line Canal & Reservoir Company. Construction began July 12, 1905, and completed April 1909. Located in Water District #7, it is filled by waters directly from Leyden Creek and from Ralston and Clear Creeks via the Church Ditch for the Farmers High Line Canal.
In search for gold, the three Leyden brothers discovered a coal mine in 1865. They built a road, had the mine working in 1869, and delivered coal by oxen at three dollars a ton to Golden and Denver. In 1870, Michael Leyden was murdered near the mine and Martin died of methane gas in the mine. In 1902, the Leyden Coal Company was incorporated by Charles J. Hughes, Jr., Albert Smith, and Clyde Turnbull. During that year the Denver and Northwestern Railroad, headed by D.H. Moffat, built tracks through Arvada to haul coal from Leyden to Denver. In 1903, the coal company and the electric lines of the tramway, delivered coal to a large yard at 38th Avenue and Tennyson Street, across from Elitch Gardens. Robert Perry, manager of the Leyden Mine, named the town for the three brothers, but the mine honored the names of the Leyden brothers, Michael, Martin, and Patrick. Today the mine is closed and used to store natural gas.
Claimant in 1936 was the Farmer’s High Line Canal & Reservoir Company. Construction began July 12, 1905 and was completed April 1909. It is filled by waters directly from Leyden Creek and from Ralston Creek and Clear Creek via the Church Ditch (by written agreement) for the Farmer’s High Line. Probably so named because of the creek bed it dams. Appears on 1915 “Map of Denver & Surroundings.”
The Lichen Lakes are two small dam-created lakes used to water livestock grazing atop North Table Mountain.
The first mass was celebrated by Father Frank Syrianey, at Colorow Elementary school, on July 5, 1979. Soon Sunday mass expanded to three masses plus a Saturday evening mass at Hosanna Lutheran Church. On Easter Sunday, April 2, 1982, some 200 families held a ground breaking ceremony at 5903 South Kline Street. First mass was celebrated on Holy Thursday of 1984. The church building was dedicated in September 1987. On June 10, 1989, ground breaking was held for an addition to the east and west ends of the existing structure. The parish is presently served by Father Patrick Tierney. The church has a 2600 family parish.
Named after a land owner named J.G. Lilley. “J.G. Lilley was born in England 1833, and came to Colorado in 1860. When a search for gold proved futile, he bought 160 acres near Littleton in 1862. He increased his land holdings to 320 acres, and became an active and progressive member of the community. One of Lilley’s ventures was the Rough and Ready Grist Mill, built in 1868. This mill shipped flour to places as far away as Boston. Lilley was involved in politics and served 25 years on the local school board and was a representative to the state legislature.”
This ranch first opened in 1970, and served as a marginal cattle and horse ranch for 40 years. After WWII the ranch was rebuilt and became a boarding and riding ranch until the property was acquired by the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC), later became the Department of Energy (DOE).
The site consists of an intact house, barn, remnants of two other structures, pole and rail fenced, and a stock chute. The house is frame construction on a formed concrete foundation, and the barn is similarly constructed. Both of these structures are post WWII. The site retains no intact fixtures representing the earlier occupation. Later the existing buildings were used for Department of Energy’s Rocky Flats Plant’s security training.
The mountain was named by Gilbert Lininger a dentist who moved to Colorado in 1906 and purchased the mountain in 1929 to build a home for his family of five daughters. Lininger gained approval for a plot of 20 lots during the late 1960s and sold most of the lots to individual buyers while continuing to expand his family home. He practiced dentistry until he died at the age of 97 in 1993. He was buried next to the home.
Origin of name unknown.
The Lion’s Head is a rock formation along Clear Creek 2.1 miles west of Golden in Clear Creek Canyon. It was a point of interest along the Colorado Central Railroad due to its obvious appearance.
Lions Park was the contribution of one of Golden’s several civic groups in the early 1900s before the local parks and recreation district was organized. The park has a pond, playground, and picnic areas.
In 1886, Amos Post sold the Episcopal church to the trustees of the Methodist Church for the sum of $1. Originally the property was part of the Mary and Williams estate, rumors say that she did not include the restriction that no alcoholic beverages could be sold. Around 1915, Prince McCracken and his wife Maude opened a drugstore on the site. They soon added a dancehall on the east side. McCracken sold his building and enterprises to Darst E. Buchanan and his family in the late 1930s. They retained ownership of the property until 1964. During that time, the name of the drugstore was changed to Evergreen Drug. The Buchanans continued the music and dancing, adding a bar to liven things up. They named the new spot the “Round Up.” In 1964, the Buchanans sold to Ross Grimes, who still owns the property and building. A singer and songwriter form Des Moines, Iowa, Denny was known as the “Music Man” and was soon a regular performer. Soon after Denny took over, he teamed up with Bill Seeburg and Ron Roderick to open a franchised “Red Ram” where the Round Up had been. In 1972, the entire Red Ram franchise chain went bankrupt and Denny reopened the club as the “Little Bear.” In 1976, Denny sold the enterprise to Kenny Jeronimus and Russ Bullemore.
Built of Morrison native stone c. 1880, this long rectangular building on Main Street (Bear Creek Avenue) has two front doors flanked with store front windows. It has housed a saloon, barbershop, and a drugstore. Mr. Hopper was the barber around 1910 and lived in the Tuttle’s house at 107 Bear Creek Lane. Also, in front of the building was the first filling station, c. 1916, with one hand pump located on the sidewalk.
In 1959 the H&G Mining Co. operated this uranium mine. It had a four-foot by four-foot tunnel driven 100 feet southeast, 50 feet northeast, and 50 feet southeast. Avein had been located at the breast, several small drifts and crosscuts had been run. On the surface there was an eight-foot by ten-foot plywood change room and shop. 1960 Depts. Of Health report stated that in the dead areas without ventilation had between 27 to 40 times the normal working area’s concentration of radon gas.
It was built of logs and redwood timber in 1901 for a non-denominational church. A cemetery adjoins the chapel, dating back to the 1880s. Services have been held without interruption throughout the years on Sundays during the summer and Christmas Candlelight Vespers each December – plus many weddings, christenings, memorials and burials.
Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003.
Lots 7, 10, Block 8, Christmas Hill addition.
Little Church Ditch is filled with water diverted from Coal Creek via the Upper Church Ditch. Earliest appropriation date was July 1, 1871. It was partially abandoned February 3, 1988.
Runs into Bear Creek in Evergreen. Name origin unknown.
This creek was probably so named because of the proximity to another drainage called “Big Dry Creek.”
Funds for Little Dry Creek Park were provided by the City of Arvada Bond Issue approved by the voters in 1974. The 4.277 acre park was built in 1975 and includes a basketball court and playground. It is named for Little Dry Creek in close proximity to the park.
Little Dry Creek Trail is an Open Space Corridor which runs along the drainage way from Chase Drive on the east edge of Arvada to the west end of Little Dry Creek near Indiana Street. This trail provides an access to: Little Dry Creek Park; around the City’s shopping complex at 80th Avenue and Wadsworth Boulevard; along major growth areas in Arvada/North Jeffco; through a Westminster subdivision to Sheridan Boulevard; to Standley and other lakes; and is included on the Trail’s Master Plan. City of Arvada and Western States Reclamation Incorporation authorized the building of the trail from developer’s escrow funds.
In 1955 the principal product of this quarry type open pit was carnotite. Owned by R.B. Stevenson and Co.
This grade school was built in 1973. It was named for Dr. John R. Little who was superintendent of Arvada School District No. 2 from 1941 until the reorganization of the Jefferson County Schools in 1950. Dr. Little later became Professor of Education at the University of Colorado.
Adit is tunnel five feet by seven feet, timbered 70 feet with 12-inch posts and caps. Vein material of gold, silver, and lead exposed approximately 20 inches. There is a 10-foot by 12-foot house by the mine. The owners A.R. Write and Sons, have four claims on the south slope of Guyot Mountain, the Little Hope; Nos.1,2,3,and 4.
A Denver Mountain Park of 400 acres west of Idledale, bought in 1917 from the Bureau of Land Management for $1.50 per acre. The unusual eight-sided stone shelter house was designed by Denver J.J.B. Benedict and built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Its Rustic style design utilized native stone and timber to blend into the natural setting. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF977) on February 24, 1995.
It was probably named for the topography of the region. This is the lesser of the two Scraggy Peaks in southern Jefferson County.
This Water District #7 reservoir is filled via Tynon Lateral from the Farmer’s High Line with water diverted from Clear Creek. Constructed in 1890, the claimant in 1936 adjudication was Denver Joint Stock Land Bank. This reservoir shows on land owned by R. Tynon on an 1899 farm map. The area now known as Lake Arbor Golf Course.
1892 output 25 tons of coal per day
This park was donated to the City of Arvada by Thomas C. Lively and his sister Ellen M. Taylor in memory of their father, Clarence Lively, who operated Atlasta dairy in the area prior to the development of Club Crest Subdivision.The park joins the Croke and Farmers’ Canal Greenbelt system, which includes a pedestrian trail and bridge adjacent to the property. This is a native area and an extension of Club Crest Park. Arrangements for this donation became final on July 2, 1979, and the the site became known as Lively Park.
Sarah Lochnane came from the French Quarter of the Louisiana Territory to Idaho Springs, Kansas Territory in 1860. She was a widow with two children who joined a wagon train to the West. In 1863 she pre-empted 120 acres and built a house. Sarah had a cattle ranch and ran cattle to Golden Gate Canyon during the summer. Her gun was used several times as a protection against cattle rustlers. She was one of the first to use a brand for cattle in this area, “SL” within a circle and a backward “J” as a horse brand. She not only raised her two children, but also raised her granddaughter, Lola Montez Adams. Lola became a midwife and assisted pioneer Dr. E.L. Foster in Arvada for many years. The Lochnane house was destroyed when I-70 was built.
The membership originally met in area homes at South Federal Boulevard and Iliff Street in 1954. They built their church in 1971 at 1354 South Union Boulevard in Lakewood.
Built ca. 1918 by Ted and Joe Schrock for Olinger (mortuary) as a real estate office to promote selling Indian HIlls property. It was moved from Bear Creek Avenue to its present hill location. It was used as a Girl Scout cabin in the 1940s and is now a residence.
Name is descriptive.
Named for a nearby rock formation.
This was one of the first gold strikes in area–now a quartz mine.
Rudy and Harlan Long (brothers and partners) built the garage in 1916 and it has operated ever since. The present building is the third structure built because of highway construction and changes. The present garage on Highway 285 approximately four miles southeast of Conifer was built in 1948 and is the only one offering AAA service to surrounding communities. It continues to be operated by members of the Long family.
Claimants in 1884 were V.J. and John Churches. Filled from Ralston Creek with headgate for the feeder being on the south bank of Ralston Creek in the NW 1/4 S6, T3S, R70W. By the 1936 adjudication, claimant was Long Lake Reservoirs Inc. and the feeder ditch was sometimes known as Campbell Ditch, said ditch being a combination of open ditch, tunnels through hard rock and siphons of steel pipe. V.J. and John Churches were farmers in the area. John Churches built irrigations systems in the area.
Lower Long Lake’s water comes through the Upper Long Lake. Construction began in 1909 and was completed in 1913. Various enlargements were made until 1928. A tunnel 500′ long, through the Hogback carries water from Upper Long Lake to Lower Long Lake.
Irrigation canal, Denver Mountain Map, 1950. Intake in Ralston Creek (right bank) in S31, T2S, R70W at dam above Ralston Reservoir. Parallels creek to map edge.
It was probably named for the topography of the region.
This was a working ranch,1880-1932. A portion was sold in the late 1940s and became a private girl’s summer camp (Long Scraggy Mountain Ranch), 1950-1971. In 1971 a church organization bought the buildings and acreage to operate a retreat. The remainder of the ranch property has been developed with year-round homes. Origin of name, probably from the near-by peak, Long Scraggy.
In early 1900, this was a residential settlement with a post office. It was probably named for the view from the place.
It was established April 4,1911 and discontinued December, 1919.
Native Americans, trappers, and early tourists savored the extraordinary views of the Front Range to the east and Continental Divide to the west from Lookout Mountain. A resort was planned there in 1899, and a residential development platted there in 1904.
The City of Golden established a reservoir west of the summit in 1905. A funicular brought visitors up to the summit from Golden from 1912-1914. A dance pavilion and several restaurants were popular there after there Lariat Trail was completed in 1914. William “Buffalo Bill” Cody was buried north west of the summit in 1917.
An estimated 12 homes and ranches occupied Lookout Mountain in 1954 when the first broadcast transmitter was installed on land sold by former Jefferson Count Commissioner John Browne, who had picked up the land for taxes in 1937. The summit of Lookout Mountain is now occupied by an “antenna farm” of broadcast transmitters, antennas, microwave and satellite devices surrounded by 350 homes within one mile.
The first Funicular proposal to rise from Golden to Lookout Mountain was in 1890 as part of the resort and residential housing development,”City on the Hill” (see the Lariat Trail). The idea was again proposed in 1898 and again in 1904. It finally realized in 1912 by real estate developer Rees C. Vidler. It was the first electrically operated funicular railroad built west of the Mississippi River.
One car rose while another came down, passing on the two tracks. The cars each had a capacity for one hundred passengers and the trip about twenty minutes. In 1919, Lookout Mountain Development Company Land was sold for taxes and the funicular never operated again. A Denver wrecking business slid the rail ties down from Lookout Mountain in 1930, leaving a construction scar still visible today.
Charles Boettcher purchased 112 acres from Lookout Mountain Development company (Rees Vidler) between Lookout Mountain Road and Colorow Road in 1918 and built a hunting lodge. He fenced the land to keep “pet” elk and other wild animals. His daughter, Charlene Breeden, gave the land with mansion to Jefferson County. The Jefferson County Open Space program took over management of the land and a small house used by the Boettcher cook and her family. Trails were cut into a “Forest Loop” and a Meadow Loop.
The Lorraine Lodge is managed by Jefferson County as a conference center. A new Nature Center was built in 1997 to accommodate nature exhibits and seminars.
Real estate developer Rees C. Vidler donated an estimated 50 acres of his residential platted Lookout Mountain land to Denver to become part of the city’s mountain park system in 1913. After more than 20,000 people participated in Buffalo Bill’s funeral procession up the Lariat Trail on June 4, 1917, Denver purchased more land and established this park with fireplaces, picnic tables, and a shelter. The park continues to be one of the most popular for city residents. Added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 15, 1990 (5JF.648).
Lorraine was the first school in District No. 25, established in 1884. The school was built and opened for students in the Fall of 1885. By 1917, plans for consolidation were introduced and became a reality in 1928, when Lorraine School was joined to the new Mandalay School. Two teachers were hired for the two schools and the name would be changed to Lorraine Mandalay Elementary School in District No. 25. New lumber was promised by the former school and people of Mandalay School agreed to do all labor free of charge and lease the building to the School District for one dollar per year. Board also decided to furnish Mandalay School, fix fences, paint and clean the interior of the former Lorraine School. The original one room school was moved to Broomfield in 1956 and still exists. It is not known why this school was named “Lorraine.” Lorraine was a flag stop on the Denver and Interurban Railroad.
In 1915, Charles Boettcher purchased 62 acres on top of Colorow Peak for the erection of a “summer cottage.” It was known by the name “Lorraine Lodge.” The building has seven bedrooms and contains 10,000 sq. ft. The stone living room measures 25′ x 50′ and is dominated by a huge fireplace. As Charles Boettcher and his wife, Fanny, separated in 1915, it was used as a home only by Charles. He is said to have lived there in the summers and to have driven into his office daily. In 1922, Boettcher purchased adjoining property to make a total of 110 acres. In 1968, Boettcher’s granddaughter, Charlene H. Breeden, donated the estate to Jefferson County. Before being donated the house sat vacant for several years and was in need of repairs and remodeling, that eventually cost $140,000. Today, the building and its grounds are used as a conference center and nature museum. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF323) on January 18, 1984.
Lorraine-Mandalay school was built in 1928 with some of the lumber from Church’s Stage Stop and additional lumber was supplied by G. H. Church. According to Mary Jump, a teacher at Mandalay School in 1928, the school was named for a Rudyard Kipling song, “On the Road to Mandalay.” This school was originally in District No. 25, but is no longer used as a school. However the dwelling still exists and is used as a community building. Lorraine and Mandalay were two flag stops on The Denver and Interurban Railroad. Since these stops in the vicinity of the school existed several years before the school was built, it is very probable that this school was named for the flag stops on The Denver and Interurban Railroad.
Origin of name not learned.
A resort ranch and a working ranch, owned by the Foster family since the 1950s. William Graham homesteaded the land in 1885 and built a log cabin on which he made additions in 1900 and named it Graham Ranch. The cabin is two stories with hand hewn horizontal shaped logs with dovetail centers. It is approximately 25′ x 25′ and a surrounding covered porch with a medium hipped roof. The present name is derived from the valley in which it is located.
This District No. 23 school was named for W.C. Lothrop, who built the school with Henry D. Calkins somewhere between 1871 and 1875. Wilbur C. Lothrop was State Superintendent of Public Instruction in 1871. The structure was moved and converted into a temporary classroom in 1956.
The City purchased the land in 1988. It is a small neighborhood park that has a play ground and picnic tables.
The 1863 Loveland Building and 1906 Coors Building are significant for their long-time association with Golden’s commercial history. A 1992-93 renovation project connected the first floors of the buildings through their adjoining sidewalls and restored the storefronts to their 1905-06 appearance. They were listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF411) on May 16, 1996.
1891, White Ash Coal Co. reopened the Loveland mine shaft down to 582 feet and cutting coal at 372 foot level, 452 foot level and the 532 foot level. Each level runs 128 feet before reaching coal vein. Output is 50 tons per day.
This two-story, cross-gabled, brick house was built by William A. H. Loveland. Loveland was an entrepreneur that built one of the first stores in Golden. An incorporator of Golden and its first treasurer, he was also on the Board of trustees of Colorado Seminary (Denver Seminary) from 1874-1878 and a trustee and acting head of School of Mines. Loveland built the first wagon road up Clear Creek to the mines and began the Colorado Center Railroad in 1866.
History not available
Claimant for adjudication in 1936 was George H. Church. Construction began in 1878. This Water District #7 lake is filled with water diverted from Clear Creek via the Church Ditch (formerly Golden City and Ralston Creek Ditch) and the extension known as the Graves and Dollison Ditch. Built by George H. Church, rancher and farmer north of Arvada. Also known as Mandalay Lake.
Claimant for adjudication in 1936 was Long Lakes Reservoir Inc. Filled from Ralston Creek through Upper Long Lake. Construction began June 6, 1909. Completed in 1913. Various enlargements were made until 1928. A tunnel 500 feet long through the Hogback from Upper Long Lake carries the water to this reservoir.
The site is a ca. 1880-1920 historic cabin constructed with raw, saddle-notched logs of local origin. It is situated in a side-hill, leveled excavation in a gully above the drainage which measures 11 feet by 12 feet by three feet deep. This dirt material from the excavation was shared with saddle-notched loop and utilized as the lower part of the walls of the structure. The entrance door appears to be situated in the south wall. An old wagon road is located approximately 30 meters east of the cabin.
This is a family cemetery containing the bodies of early property owner John Lupin, his wife, and his daughter, Mary. Mary died suddenly. John’s wife died mysteriously and John was charged with her death in 1881, but not convicted. Years later, John was found dead in his bed with a bullet wound in his head. Granzella said in his interview that Lubin was dying from tuberculosis and committed suicide. It was Granzella’s father, Jimmie, who found the body.
The Lubin/Blakeslee Place consists of one small northeast facing cabin made of squared log, a log barn, a frame barn, and two frame sheds. The log buildings date to the 1870s or 1880s, and the other structures date to the early 20th century. The house has been remodeled in recent years, with the addition of a concrete foundation and a lean-to room on the rear. The exterior historic integrity of the house has been preserved. The cabin is made of hand-hewn logs in alternating tiers with half-dovetailed joints. It has been lined with split logs and then doubled. The two-story log barn has saddled-notched corners with a log lean-to on the west side. The land was originally homesteaded by Duncan McIntyre in the 1860s. In 1883 McIntyre sold 480 acres to Louis Rambo, owner and builder of the neighboring Midway House. The remaining 160 acres were sold to John Lubin. In 1881, he was accused of his wife’s murder, but later was acquitted. At that time Lubin was described as a 47-year-old Frenchman who had been married to the victim for 20 years and had four children, three sons and a daughter. The daughter, Mary, also died suddenly, and one of the sons committed suicide. Lubin himself was found dead in his bed at the cabin with a gunshot to the head. In 1959 the property was purchased by Norm Meyer; it was designated a County historic landmark on 4/5/2004. Cabin and log barn moved to new location at Norm Meyer Ranch in Sept 2004.
This rectangular framed house with white wooden shingles on the exterior walls was built c. 1915 for Dr. Frank Luce. It was built with lumber taken when part of Abbo’s Livery Stable was demolished. Dr. Luce lived here until 1922, when Bob Smith purchased the property.
This school in the Jefferson County R-1 School District was named for Amelia Mae Lukas, a former Jefferson County teacher and principal. The school was built in 1988.
Lumberg Elementary School was named for Harry H. Lumberg, who came to Colorado from Denmark in 1886 at age 14. He moved to Edgewater in 1906. The school for grades K-6 was constructed in 1955 and by 1961 had already added an extra classroom wing and a gym. From time to time temporary buildings were moved in as enrollment surged. A library was also added. In conjunction with the City of Edgewater’s Park and Recreation Plan, the playground was totally re-landscaped in the mid 1980’s. Drainage and playground equipment were installed in a park-like atmosphere that was open to the public.
Built in 1954. Named for Harry Lumberg, who donated the land. He was former mayor of Edgewater. He was also president of the school board in 1927.
Edgewater contributed $25,000 of Open Space money to the development of the Lumberg School Park. The park consists of two tennis courts, a play ground, and a ball field.
The church was established in 1964.
Lutheran Church of the Master was founded at 12100 W. Alameda Parkway in 1962. New location is at 14099 W. Jewell Avenue since 1983.
Established in 1961 and has continuously enlarged from the original 20 acres to 112 acres with modern of medical facilities and office buildings. In 1993 purchased the West Pines psychiatric center. Completed in 1988 by a company under lease-contract. No longer officially “Lutheran” auspices. There is a very active Lutheran Auxiliary that supports the hospital with thousands of volunteer hours of service each year and raise thousands of dollars through special events and the Blue House activities.
St. John’s Lutheran Church, Denver, saw need for a “health resort” for tuberculars coming to Colorado. A tent city was established in 1905 on 20 acres farm buildings on property were used as office and dairy farm needs. In 1921 a “Pavilion” was built. In 1910 the Walther League sold Christmas stamp seals. The facility continued to grow with a waiting list until 1959. In 1961 became Lutheran Medical Center, the only general hospital in Jefferson County at the time.
West of the Colorado School of Mines, on the east face of Mount Zion, is the emblem “M” for the name of the school. The “M” was designed by Joe O’Byrne in 1905 in such a manner as to be distrortion free from all angles. Doing that was the basis of a thesis in Descriptive Geometry. The outline was staked out by W.S. Brown, class of 1910. On May 16, 1908, at 7:30 A.M., virtually the entire student body and faculty started their climb of Mount Zion to create the “M”. Because of a lack of roads the necessary materials such as cement, water, and white wash were transported up by burros. By mid-afternoon, the “M” was a reality. It remained unlighted on a permanent basis until 1932, but in 1931 the school was able to borrow 350 light bulbs from Colorado Central Power Company, a DC generator and wire from the Physics Department, and a tractor for power from the State Industrial School to light the “M” for two nights during home coming weekend. In 1932, at a cost of $12,000, the letter was provided with permanent lighting. At the time, at 104 feet by 107 feet, it became the world’s largest electrically lighted letter. The power to the 400 bulbs was transmitted from Brooks Field via a 4600 foot, 2300 volt line that was carried on 17 poles. In 1948 a timer was added making the lighting of the emblem automatic.
The rocks making up the emblem are white washed every fall by the incoming freshmen class and again every spring by the outgoing senior class. Walking west on 15th Street affords a good view of the emblem.
This Water District #7 reservoir is filled from a spring (1/2 acre foot). Appropriation date August 24, 1974.
This Edwardian Vernacular house was built for the Reverend R.W. Maddox in 1903 for $2,800. It has a round second floor window that looks over 12th Street. It was later owned by Frank and Laura Hills. Franklin was a chemist at the School of Mines. There is rumored to be the ghost of a seven-year-old boy in the basement.
This open pit was formerly worked by the International Minerals and Chemical Corp. for feldspar. In 1965 Robert Beal is mining quartz and rare earth and the pit was 75 feet by 50 feet. That year 20 tons valued at 4,000 dollars was extracted.
In 1883 the Maggie was the first copper strike in Golden district. It was struck 10 feet down with a vein three feet wide with an occasional 3-inch streak of pure copper with a trace of gold and silver. Owned by C.C. Welch, F.D. Benjamen, and Henry Koch.
March 1884 the mine was 100 feet down.
It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places (5JF223) on August 21, 1980.
Claimant in 1936 was the Agricultural Ditch and Reservoir Company. The reservoir filled from Clear Creek via Golden or Welch Ditch and Agricultural Reservoir Ditch (which is an extension and enlargement of the Golden or Welch Ditch). Work was begun on construction February 1, 1901 and was completed in 1908.
Main Street was the original identity of 2nd Street, platted with the Golden Park Addition. Its name is possibly reflective of the ambitious Golden expansion aspirations of the platters. It was renamed in 1904 by city ordinance.
Majestic View Park was one of the 30 parks voted on in the City Bond election of 1974. It was named for an old street, now W. 66th Ave. and for the name of the original subdivision, now Huntington Heights. The park was expanded in 1984. Ten acres of Mr. Harder’s land, west of the park, was purchased with Jefferson County Open Space funds, authorized by the Jefferson County Commissioners, in 1986. Tennis courts and horse shoe pits are built on the acquired land.
The Malachite Mine was primarily a copper mine on an 80-acre tract along Bear Creek. Its mill site occupied 10 acres on Bear Creek. The mine’s approximate production was $35,000. Its ore was described as massive and consisted of coarse masses of chalcopyrite, zinc blende and pyrrohite, and some nickel. It contained very little gold or silver. Dike runs generally in an east-west direction in a gravite schist formation. There are two tunnels 350 feet in length, a shaft 150 feet in depth and an open cut measuring 15 by 25 feet, 15 feet deep and shows a vein on the surface to be 4 feet wide.
The school was named after the nearby Mandalay rail station. Mandalay School, District 25, was established in 1928 with donated land, building materials, and labor from the local residents. It began as a one-room school for grades one through eight. Later the student enrollment supported a second teacher and a dividing partition was built in the center. It housed grades one through four at the time of its 1954 closure with the creation of Jefferson County School R-1 School District. The building had many other uses over the years and is currently leased to Heritage Christian School and American Reformed Church by the Mandalay Historical Society.
Mandalay Middle School opened in 1984 as Mandalay Junior High on a year round schedule with 1,200 students. It was reorganized into Mandalay Middle School, grades 7th and 8th, in 1990. Its current enrollment is 970 students. The School Names Committee, Lloyd Gorrell, Ruth Stockton, and Virginia Weigand, named Mandalay Junior High School in 1983. Since then, these area schools are called Middle Schools.
Mandalay Station was a structure with two intersecting walls and roof to provide weather protection for the customers of the Interurban Railroad. It was located 12.14 miles from the junction in Denver. Time Table Number 5, which is not dated, lists Mandalay. Consecutive time tables were not available, however, a time table dated January 1925 omits Mandalay but lists a Churches Road Crossing at 12.15 miles into the route on the other side of the track. Mandalay Station was dismantled when it was no longer in use. It was probably named for the Rudyard Kipling song, “On the Road to Mandalay.”
Manhart Ditch in Water District # 7, obtains its water out of north bank of Ralston Creek. Currently is part of Baker Metropolitan Water and Sanitation District. It was priority #1 out of Ralston Creek, dated August 3l, 1860. Claimants for adjudication in 1884 were William Light, Henry Brothers, A.S. Larey, Julian Scott, and R.S. Boyles. William Light was one of the first officers of Clear Creek Valley Grange, served on the District No. 2 Arvada School Board, and was Past Grand Officer of Arvada Oddfellows Lodge in 1903.
“The Manor House was built in 1914 for $100,000 for John C. Shaffer, a one-time owner of the Rocky Mountain News. Shaffer, an industrialist from Chicago, financed the Chicago Grand Opera in 1910 and was the first person to bring Hereford cattle to Colorado.” Prior to Johns-Manville Company buying the Ken- Caryl Ranch, the interior of the manor was painted silver. Johns-Manville stripped the silver paint off and restored the house to its original condition. The Manor House is a privately operated restaurant today.
This school was built in 1878 at a cost of $1,000. The structure had brick walls a foot thick and 12-foot high ceilings. It was also known as “Black School” because the land was donated by the Black family. The building, with its subsequent additions, was torn down to make way for a gas station.
This church and school purchased 10 acres, a house and barn in 1982, which was originally owned by Rodney Curtis, for whom Curtis Street in Denver was named. Curtis was one of the founders and former president of the Denver Tramway Company. He built the home for his daughter, Katherine C. McDearmon in 1910. Rev. Don Miller became pastor of the new church and director of the school in 1982.
The mine occupies 330 acres. Average content of a ton of ore consists of 1/5 ounce gold, 16 ounces of silver, 31% lead, 6 1/2 percent copper, 11% zinc, and 31% iron. Total development in 1916 included shafts of 50 feet; 2- 30 feet, and 450 feet crosscut.
Marge Roberts Park, originally named Holder Park, was purchased with Arvada’s share of Open Space funds, August 20, 1979, but was never maintained properly. Nearby King of Glory Lutheran and Arvada Mennonite Church had been trying to have the park site upgraded for sometime. A neighborhood group was organized in 1986 and decided to use a “Naturalistic Approach.” Through the efforts of Marge Roberts, a park for the young and elderly was finally completed, dedicated and named for Marge Roberts, June 8, 1990.
Graves Avenue was named for pioneer Oliver Graves, who secured 160 acres by military bounty in 1867. With the revision of Jefferson County street names in 1949, this thoroughfare became Marshall Street, named for John Marshall, Chief Justice of the United States from 1801-1835.
Built in 1928. Designated a county landmark 9/8/2003.
Opened in 1980 to serve the North Turkey Creek Area and subdivisions along Highway 73. Name from area location.
A lodge built in the 1920s by Dr. Wilbur Marsh, a dentist. From 1968 to 1986 it was the summer headquarters for the 75-member Colorado Philharmonic Orchestra. Named after builder.
Jefferson County District R-1, 1955. Named for pioneer family son Lou Martensen school board. Daughter-in-law Marina, County Superintendent of Schools in 1950 R-1 days. In the 1980’s the extended school housed “day care”.
The entrance to Martin Marietta is located at the southern end of State Highway 75. In 1955 the site was selected for the facility to build the Titan Intercontinental Ballistic Missiles (Titan I). Other projects produced at the Waterton facility include: Titan II – Manned space flights (Mercury and Gemini programs) Titan III – Transtage to move satellites to different orbits Dyna-Soar Project – winged reusable space vehicle Skylab – space station Viking – Mars lander Lunar Drill – to obtain samples from the moon Voyagers – to Jupiter/Saturn and beyond External Shuttle Tank Design – built in Michoud, Louisiana M.M.U. – manned maneuvering unit – allows astronaut to fly outside shuttle
Mason Creek runs into Elk Creek. Name origin unknown.
In 1930 the Masons purchased the building at West 25th Avenue and Eaton Street and moved in March of 1931. As the Mason’s membership continued to grow, they purchased lots in 1948 along the north side of 25th from Eaton to Fenton Streets for $4,500 to construct a large temple, which was accomplished.
Massey is a creek bed that is mostly dry. It runs from Jefferson County into Arapahoe County and into the Platte River.
At the Interstate 70 entrance to the Rocky Mountains (Mt. Vernon Canyon), at Highway 26, Jefferson County Open space purchased 1,095 acres which includes the original 1860 plat of Mt. Vernon town. Trails are available for hikers, equestrians, and mountain bikes.
Maxwell Creek begins about one mile northeast of the top of Black Mountain and empties into Cub Creek about three-quarters of a mile east of Brook Forest. Name origin unknown.
Named from falls and creek of same name.
This one-story bungalow was built c. 1919 for Fred W. McCartney, an Edgewater real estate agent. Originally McCartney owned the entire block. George Olinger purchased lots 1-6 in 1919. Thomas and Mary Bates purchased the house on January 24, 1923.
Built c. 1917 for Fred W. McCartney, this one-story, side gabled, wood frame building faces east. There are ornamental front and side panels on the covered front porch, as well as railings and support columns.
This one-story, wood frame bungalow was built c. 1919. It was built for Fred W. McCartney, a Denver real estate agent with an office in Edgewater. On Jan. 28, 1925, Evert and May Baker purchased this house and the lot.
Built in 1902, this one-story bungalow with wood siding was a rental owned by Fred W. McCartney. There is a covered front porch with the main entry door in the center of the west wall. There are two small three-over-three pane glass windows on either side of the door.
McDearmon Home was built by Rodney Curtis, an enterprising businessman in Denver, who was the first and long-time president of the Denver Tramway Co. It is for him that Curtis Street in Denver is named. Curtis built this large home for his daughter, Katherine C. McDearmon in 1910. The home was located near the Leyden Tramway tracks at Ralston Station. Captain and Mrs. Mark Rhoads purchased this home (1937-1963) and named it Strolling Acres. The grounds changed considerably in 1982 when it was purchased for a church and school. The house, except for repainting outside, has been kept relatively the same.
Built ca. 1873. Vinton Amos, a blacksmith in Morrison, lived here ca. 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Peinze ran a grocery store and market and a real estate office here since 1923. It is now a restaurant.
McIlvoy House was named for Dennis D. McIlvoy, who built the house in 1897. The house was deeded to the City of Arvada in 1919 by Mrs. Clemancy McIlvoy, including a codicil stating that the house shall be known as “McIlvoy House,” and that no alcoholic beverages be sold on the premises. Through the years the City rented the dwelling to various civic organizations; Park or Legion House, Arvada Library, Mental Health Office and Urban Renewal Authority.
McIlvoy Park was named for Dennis D. McIlvoy who built the house in 1897. The house was known as the Park or Legion House, Mental Health Office,and Urban Renewal Authority. After her husband’s death, Mrs. Clemancy McIlvoy gave house to the City of Arvada in 1919, with a codicil stating: “The grounds be known as McIlvoy Park and that no alcoholic beverages be sold on the premises.” This was Arvada’s first public park in 1935. Tennis courts were built on the property by funds raised by the Town Board and School District No. 2. After the American Legion vacated the building, arrangements were made for an Arvada Library to be located in the City owned building 1950-1966. The three acres of land at the park site were leased to North Jeffco for 99 years in 1958. In the early 1990s plans were underway for outstanding playground facilities and a pavilion to be built as a memorial for Dick Connor, an admired sports writer for THE DENVER POST.
A private cemetery with two known burials, the first in 1868, the second in 1880. Bentley states, “Since this is the homestead land of the son, Daniel W. McIntyre, quite likely this is the grave of his wife and child.” The grave is marked only by an almost imperceptible mound and circle of stones.
McIntyre Gulch is named for the early Lakewood settler from Pennsylvania, William W. McIntyre, who obtained his 160 acres north of West Sixth Avenue along present day Wadsworth Boulevard through a military patent issued to Pero Quinto Pereider, a Mexican War veteran. It flows eastward and joins Lakewood Gulch west of Wadsworth Boulevard.
McKay Ditch flows from Coal Creek to Walnut Creek east of Highway #93.
Isiah Green began building on this 144-acre ranch these structures in 1887. 1977 survey listed two one-story houses with lofts and one dairy barn with a loft.
Claimant in 1884 was F.J. McQuiston who owned a farm “11 miles west of Denver on Ralston Creek.” He was granted Ralston Creek priority #7, dating from 6/25/1863.
Francis James McQuiston from Erie, Pennsylvania, was on his way to Mankato, Minnesota, when he heard of the gold discovery in Colorado. With five others, he was one of the fifty-niners who changed course to seek his fortune. He returned to Mankato several times before he applied for a Homestead in 1864, in an area which became known as Ralston Crossing. Here he built a cabin and received his patent from the United States Government in 1870. He was in the right place at the right time for the development of a bustling village. This was the safest crossing for stage lines and travelers over Ralston Creek to the gold fields. A stage stop, blacksmith shop, supply store with post office, and Ralston Crossing School were built on Frank McQuiston’s property. The McQuiston house at 6550 Indiana Street, built in the late 1880s, is all that remains of the early settlement. The house has been remodeled and has had several owners and renters, but is known as a well-kept house then and now. It was a two-story, frame house with fish scale decoration on the upper story, and gingerbread ornamentation around the front porch. A large screened-in porch has been added to the south, a second story has been added to the addition on the north and all of the windows are modern, large and with metal frames. When the stage stop was razed in the 1970s, newspapers from Mankato, Minnesota were found, being used as insulation and dated 1856 and 1861. This innovative man built a ditch with J.S. Kinnear and W. B. Alford in 1864, which is known as the Church Ditch. McQuiston was a postmaster, 1868-1870, and County Commissioner, 1887-1891.