Glen Creighton Subdivision

Address80 acres bounded by Colfax Ave. on the S., 20th Ave. on the N., Estes St. on the E., and Garrison St. on the W., Lakewood.
QuadFort Logan, 1980
SectionS34, T3S, R69W
Elevationc. 5550
SourceHistoric Preservation Inventory Record #5JF850, 1992, Colorado Historical Society.
Initialdate1998-11-20 00:00:00-07
Latestdate2012-12-03 00:00:00-07
HistoryIn 1862, the land was originally given to a widow, Miguela Torres, of a veteran of the Indian Wars as bounty. Purchased by Cyrus J. Creighton in 1920, the original plat of Glen Creighton Subdivision filed with Jefferson County on February 7, 1923. The initial construction of streets in Glen Creighton was accomplished in 1923 by Cyrus Creighton using a grader drawn by a four horse team. A total of 15 homes were built in the 1920s, with an additional 35 in the 1930s, 51 in the 1940s, 33 in the 1950s, 8 in the 1960s, and one each in the 1970s and 1980s. The houses are a blend of picturesque English Tudor cottages, Gothic elements, Colonial Revival, French Provincial and American bungalow. Designed by DeBoer, Denver Mayors Speer's and Stapleton's renowned landscape architect, it was Denver's and Lakewood's first landscaped subdivision. The subdivision's theme was "Glen Creighton is the park for quiet restful homes."