Pike National Forest – Jefferson County

AddressThe W. side borders Park Cty., the S. borders a small portion of El Paso Cty., the E. borders Douglas Cty., N. extends from Crossons, E.N.E. to Ferndale, Scrontia Springs to S. of Chatfield Lake
QuadGreen Mountain, 1954 (1984); Cheesman Lake, 1956 (1984); Platte Canyon, 1965 (1985)
SectionT7S, T8S, T9S, T10S; R70W, R71W, R72W
Elevationc. 6050-10421
SourcePike National Forest Map, Department of Agriculture, 1992.
Initialdate1992-04-02 00:00:00-07
Latestdate1996-03-20 00:00:00-07
HistoryIt was created in 1907 by combining the Pikes Peak Reserve, the Plum Creek and the South Platte Timberline Reserves (established 1892) for the United States Department of Agriculture. In this 1,105,704 acres of Pike National Forest (of which a third is in Jefferson county), many trails, camping, and picnic grounds are maintained by the Forest Service for use by the public. Elk, deer, mountain sheep, antelope and bear are found in Pike National Forest, one of 154 National Forests with ten of them in Colorado. Pike National Forest is named for Pike Peak, which was named for Zebulon Pike, the leader of a U.S. exploratory expedition in 1806 into what was then the southwest portion of the Louisiana Purchase of 1803.