School District 35

Source"History of Jefferson County Mountain Schools" by Granzella; "Golden Globe" August 14, 1886 and July 2, 1887.
Initialdate1998-10-08 00:00:00-06
Latestdate1998-10-21 00:00:00-06
HistoryOrganized in 1886. The original schoolhouse was built in 1886, and the district's first teacher was Effie Smith. By the late 1920s the original schoolhouse was outgrown, and classes were moved to a unique frame sextagonal building just south of Highway 285 at Shaffers Crossing. At this point, the schoolhouse became known as Elk Creek School. A new brick school for the district was built in 1936 a short distance west of the sextagon. The school district survived to the countywide consolidation in 1950, but its schoolhouse burned to the ground in 1951. The fate of the original school building is unknown; the sextagon still exists as a stock barn. The district had a population of 15 students in 1887.